Dualshock 3

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by HAPPYFACES, Jul 15, 2012.

Jul 15, 2012

Dualshock 3 by HAPPYFACES at 8:45 PM (754 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. HAPPYFACES
    OP

    Newcomer HAPPYFACES Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I've seen many hardware hacks and mods related to enabling a DualShock controller's compatibility with the PSP, but for me that's a bit too high risk. I'm more into soft modding, where the chance of damaging your system's hardware is slim to none.

    So I was wondering, with a little bit of software teaks and some magical coding, and a magically appearing Mini-B to Mini-B (5 pin) USB cord, would you be able to successfully connect a DS3 controller to your PSP?
     
  2. MadHouse38

    Member MadHouse38 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Gaming room.
    Country:
    Yugoslavia
    Im not sure,there is possibility but it is too much risk.
     
  3. Palom

    Member Palom Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Country:
    United States
    You can connect a DS3 to a PSP Go. You just need a PS3 to do it, that's all.
     
  4. HAPPYFACES
    OP

    Newcomer HAPPYFACES Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I saw that. But I'm talking original, Fat or Slim PSP here.
    It would be difficult, I understand, but just to soothe my curiosity, does anyone think it would be possible?
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The Go has bluetooth, the other models do not.

    The hacks you've seen are hardware hacks because they add bluetooth to the PSP. Software can't do that, which is why you're not finding any softmods for it.
     
  6. HAPPYFACES
    OP

    Newcomer HAPPYFACES Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    The hardmods I've seen were done with Dualshock 2, actually.
    Okay, so the main reason I ask this is because of a tool I've recently been using to help give more of a Playstation feel when playing ePSXe. The DS3 Utility tool, which allows Windows to recognize a DS3 controller (Whether by USB or BT).
    So I guess the real question here is (Not if you can connect it by BT) But is the DS3's USB port related to the BT at all?

    Sorry if I make no sense... I pretty much only come here early in the morning.
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know, all the times I've seen the USB used for controlling was to a computer with no bluetooth, the cable did the work.
     
  8. HAPPYFACES
    OP

    Newcomer HAPPYFACES Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States

    So, if you had a USB cable with two Mini-B 5pin ends (Which are the USB connections Sony uses for both the DS3 and PSP) would you be able to connect them without the need for BlueTooth? o3o
     
  9. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    You can connect a DS3 to the PC with no bluetooth, I don't know about the PSP.
     
  10. HAPPYFACES
    OP

    Newcomer HAPPYFACES Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Then this will be a perfect time to learn how to write Homebrew apps and such.
     
  11. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Do note that the PS3 controller doesn't present itself as a standard gamepad, even on the PC you need third-party software to make it work.

    http://www.motioninjoy.com/
     
  12. HAPPYFACES
    OP

    Newcomer HAPPYFACES Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    That happens to be the tool I use when also running ePSXe. o3o (Very good by the way, if anyone reading this doesn't know about it.)
     

Share This Page