DSTwo suddenly stopped working.

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by thaddius, Mar 23, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Mar 23, 2011
  1. thaddius
    OP

    Member thaddius Charmander is not pleased.

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,328
    Country:
    Canada
    I imagine that there really isn't anything I can do about this, but here's my story:

    Bought a DSTwo some time ago and I've never had a problem with it. Today it was working fine in the morning, but when I got home and pulled my DSi XL out of my bag and fired it up to play some Illust Logic I got the "An error has occurred" message that the DSi would give you for an old DS flashcard.

    After that I tried it out in my DSi, DS Lite and DS and I got the same message.

    I took the 32GB micro SDHC and tried it on my Acekard 2i and it worked so that tells me the card isn't the problem. I then formatted it and tried it again in the DSTwo and it didn't work.

    Then I tried an 8GB SDHC card in the DSTwo and that didn't work either.

    As a last ditch effort I opened the thing up and cleaned the contacts and nothing changed.

    Does anyone have any ideas on what I could do to fix this? (apart from buying a new one I suppose)
     


  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
  3. thaddius
    OP

    Member thaddius Charmander is not pleased.

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,328
    Country:
    Canada
    Doesn't work. When I run the program on my DS Lite using a Cyclo DS and then insert the DSTwo (without the micro SD card in it) it resets, which is what the tut says will happen if you insert the DSTwo when a micro SD card is inserted.
     
  4. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't really sound like this is your problem but you might not be properly inserting the microsd card, try tilting the card towards the middle of the flashcart, that should make it go straight in and connect properly
     
  5. Sheimi

    Member Sheimi A cute Vixen!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,865
    Location:
    Tachikawa
    Country:
    Japan
    Kinda sounds like I had a similar problem like that awhile back. Sometimes it could be the Micro SD Card giving you trouble. Try downloading the latest firmware and only copy system3.dat over. Should take care of the problem
     
  6. thaddius
    OP

    Member thaddius Charmander is not pleased.

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,328
    Country:
    Canada
    That didn't work either. :/
     
  7. thaddius
    OP

    Member thaddius Charmander is not pleased.

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,328
    Country:
    Canada
    The minimal success that I got from Terminator02's solution tells me that the card was falling apart and finally got to a point where it stopped working.

    I'm going to assume that I'm boned and should either buy another DSTwo or sell all my Earthly possessions and join a cult.
     
  8. Game Dragon

    Member Game Dragon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    Australia
    Vef
    Before you do that one question, have you tried a genuine game in your unit, if it works the DSTWO has a fault, if it is faulty take it apart and take some close up photos of it and give me a look I might be able to spot the problem, it sounds like a bad solder joint
     
  9. Jugarina

    Member Jugarina GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    353
    Location:
    NY
    Country:
    United States
    As long as It isn't the CPU that burned out you should be able to repair It yourself.
     
  10. thaddius
    OP

    Member thaddius Charmander is not pleased.

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,328
    Country:
    Canada
    I tried the DSTwo in all 4 of my DS' and had the same result. Each DS plays legitimate games (and other flash carts) just fine.

    Here are some pics:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  11. Game Dragon

    Member Game Dragon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    Australia
    I have had a close look at this side please show me the other side, I can't see anything wrong on this side
     
  12. thaddius
    OP

    Member thaddius Charmander is not pleased.

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,328
    Country:
    Canada
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  13. Schizoanalysis

    Member Schizoanalysis From somewhere inside the rabbit hole...

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,782
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    Australia
    I think he meant the other side of the PCB... ie. flipped over.
     
  14. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    i think he meant the side under the sticker, but very nice, high quality pics

    Edit: ninja'd [​IMG]
     
  15. thaddius
    OP

    Member thaddius Charmander is not pleased.

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,328
    Country:
    Canada
    I just realized what he meant and snapped a photo... don't know what I was thinking... [​IMG]
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    I can't see anything wrong with it myself.
    They had better be. That was an expensive camera! [​IMG]
     
  16. Game Dragon

    Member Game Dragon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    Australia
    Sorry to tell you this but it all looks good so I would have to say it has suffered a component failure so you are up for a new DSTWO
     
  17. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    if it's anything it's probably under the metal enclosure , im guessing it's something with the contacts
     
  18. thaddius
    OP

    Member thaddius Charmander is not pleased.

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,328
    Country:
    Canada
    It's alright. I have an AceKard2i and an iPlayer for now. I don't really need SNES that badly.

    Thanks for your help, everyone.
     
  19. Game Dragon

    Member Game Dragon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    Australia
    If it doesn't show the Fish tycoon icon it is the DSTWO itself or the plug-in main contacts, if it does show the Fish tycoon icon then it is in the contacts for the memory chip or the memory chip so in this case it is in the DSTWO itself not the contacts
    Bummer
    [​IMG]
     
  20. ChaosX1022

    Newcomer ChaosX1022 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    Snowwood
    Country:
    United States
    Same thing happened to me sir shit sucks. I have a DSiXL LE and a DS2LE and the only way i can get my DS2 to work is to use the paper trick. I hope the 3DS will be able to read my crap card.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page