DSTT LOADING freezing PROBLEMS

Discussion in 'DSTT' started by DSTTSTINKYCARD, Jan 13, 2008.

Jan 13, 2008
  1. DSTTSTINKYCARD
    OP

    Member DSTTSTINKYCARD GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    178
    Country:
    Germany
    [​IMG] hi
    i got 5 of the dstt's and when i put the roms and latest firmware on the micro sd card (version 1.07) [​IMG]
    is creates the sav file then just freezes on the loading [​IMG]
    the only way i can get it going again is to format the sd card and put the roms on again [​IMG]
    this happens all the time when i put another game on after it works ok [​IMG]
    the only way i can get it to work better is to use 2gb card and only put 20 roms on [​IMG]
    i usualy fill the card with roms and leave 30 to 40 mb free space for saves(512kb each) [​IMG]
    i tryed kingstone integeral and peek micro sd's [​IMG]

    any one having the same problems [​IMG]
    is there a firmware update going to fix this? [​IMG]
     


  2. hankchill

    Member hankchill I Pwn n00bs.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,344
    Location:
    Outer Space
    Country:
    Canada
    Wow, what an annoying post [​IMG]

    First of all, the name you registered with, you're stuck with [​IMG]
    Make sure your cards are formatted properly [​IMG]
    Try them in other devices to make sure they work [​IMG]
    Is it with all 5 TTDS? [​IMG]
    If so, your cards may be bad, because I had 6 TTDS's and they worked great [​IMG]
    Or you have bad luck [​IMG]

    See how annoying this is? [​IMG]
     
  3. DSTTSTINKYCARD
    OP

    Member DSTTSTINKYCARD GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    178
    Country:
    Germany
    all 5 are the same
    i did have 10 but took some back
    the kingston micros are from a good computer shop
    also tryed 3 diferent types micro sd's
    some times the odd micro sd would work ok first off
    then if you put some different games on it would just cause it all to start freezing
    there are lots of posts with the same problem
    google (dstt games wont load)
    they blame it on the sd card fragmentation
    there is even a youtube clip showing a crappy so called fix

    the dstt makers need to get a fix out soon or they will be going out of buisness [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  4. MadBob

    Member MadBob Nostalgia ain't what it used to be!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,530
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It might be something you are doing on your PC when loading them that is causing this. Have you tried safely removing the USB reader instead of simply pulling the card out?
     
  5. test84

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    umm, you are suspicious.

    your post, 5 cards all faulty, your nickname, flaming, not searching for answer and just blamin' ..., hope I'm wrong.
     
  6. helpme

    Member helpme GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    uk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    that sure is some bad luck
    buying 10 DSTT & everyone not working the odds must be astronomical
    more likely its human error & your doing something wrong.........
     
  7. DSTTSTINKYCARD
    OP

    Member DSTTSTINKYCARD GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    178
    Country:
    Germany
    i chose the name as im pissed off with these things
    its not just me theres loads of posts about this freezing on loading [​IMG]

    also ive used r4's with the same computer and no problems
    and m3 simplys

    why dont they get effected with defragmentation?

    surly some of you are having the same problems [​IMG]

    here is the problem im having 43 seconds into the youtube clip
    http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=VUfFyr9Q0QA
     
  8. martin88

    Member martin88 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    990
    Country:
    Canada
    Wouldn't watching that youtube video solve your problem? Since it is titled "How to Fix the TTDS\DSTT from the Game not Loading" after all.
     
  9. pinobot

    Newcomer pinobot Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Netherlands
  10. rcm1

    Newcomer rcm1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Malaysia
    i only encounter the freezing problem once

    a simple reset solved the problem.
     
  11. andw

    Newcomer andw Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Australia
    I have 2 NDSTTs ordered at the same time and have the same problem, but so far only on one of them.
    I have now watched the Youtube video, and that is actually what I have been doing to fix the one I have that does this.
    I don't think it is file fragmentation, as you would be able to copy all the files off, reformat and copy back on.
    This does not work, you actually have to recopy the files from original source (as also shown in YouTube video).
    I think it is more likely data corruption than fragmentation myself.
    I have both Sandisk and Kingston 1G cards, and they both do it on one of them.
    However, I have noticed that if the kids just load a game and play it for hours on end it seems fine, it is more likely to happen when opening a game, powering off, opening another game etc.
    Also I noticed that the date on one of the TTMENU files changes (the .SYS file from memory) - not sure if that is normal, only noticed yesterday and haven't looked at the other to check.
    (p.s. the one that hasn't played up yet usually gets used by a kid that just plays one game for hours, so that could be why it hasn't failed)

    Anyway, would be interesting for those who haven't seen a problem to (back up the files first) start a game, shut down, power up, start a game multiple times and see if it also does that lock up on loading thing.
     
  12. ndsdave

    Newcomer ndsdave Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    Australia
    I had a freeze when trying to launch a game on 2 x DSTT's. I put the os' on at the same time, with no games. Then added the games later. A FAT format, re install the os, and re install the games fixed it.

    Perhaps data corruption is the cause. I'm not going to loose sleep over it. The fix was damn simple!
     
  13. DjoeN

    Member DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,928
    Location:
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Country:
    Belgium
    My TTDS (NeoFlash Version) and DSTT (DealExtreme) Both work Flawless

    I've written miltiple times and rebooted alot, i've been using it since NeoFlash sendend me the sample

    I swap my TF (FAT32 Formatted) between the Neoflash TTDS and DealExtreme DSTT, no problem whatsoever.


    I noted and posted about a problem where you get an error, if the USRCHEAT.DAT is missing or you use by accident an Encrypted usrcheat.dat you can get 2 white screens or an error txt (dunno just what it is saying anymore)
     
  14. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    andw, I haven't seen this problem. I've started up games, shut down, and started up different games multiple times. One thing that will likely cause data corruption is if you shut down or remove the cart while the game is trying to save, so make sure the kids aren't doing that!

    -Bri
     
  15. andw

    Newcomer andw Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks Bri,
    I was wondering if that could be a factor.
     
  16. GodMedia

    Newcomer GodMedia Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
  17. DSTTSTINKYCARD
    OP

    Member DSTTSTINKYCARD GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    178
    Country:
    Germany
    the ones i kept taking the games and the firmware on and off a few times [​IMG]
    seem to have kept working now
    but why doesnt the r4 or m3 simply suffer with this ?
    they are too much headache for me [​IMG]
     
  18. heliuscc

    Newcomer heliuscc Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have to say I'm very happy with them, much less hassle than the M3DSReal which does seem to corrupt memory cards etc quite easily
     
  19. cory1492

    Member cory1492 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,489
    Location:
    Home, WhereElse?
    Country:
    Canada
    DSTTSTINKYCARD:
    Did you try creating the sav files yourself instead of just leaving some free space and letting the OS do it? Even with R4 I always did that, as writing *new* files hasn't exactly ever been 100% reliable in any of the cards I have tried, while writing data inside of an existing files boundaries always seems to work just fine.

    I for one would hate to stuff a bunch of files on a card without saves, only to find out after some hours playing on xx game that when I go to try a different one my card gets corrupted. And yeah, I have had that happen - even once on an R4.
     
  20. ianmh

    Newcomer ianmh Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm having the exact same problem with my DSTT. Very annoying. Once it happens, all games won't load, they just freeze on the load screen. I have to copy all of my files to the computer, format and copy back, then they work again. Save files don't seem to be corrupted though.
     

Share This Page