Hacking DSTT LOADING freezing PROBLEMS

DSTTSTINKYCARD

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2008
Messages
178
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
201
Country
Gambia, The
mad.gif
hi
i got 5 of the dstt's and when i put the roms and latest firmware on the micro sd card (version 1.07)
mad.gif

is creates the sav file then just freezes on the loading
mad.gif

the only way i can get it going again is to format the sd card and put the roms on again
mad.gif

this happens all the time when i put another game on after it works ok
mad.gif

the only way i can get it to work better is to use 2gb card and only put 20 roms on
mad.gif

i usualy fill the card with roms and leave 30 to 40 mb free space for saves(512kb each)
mad.gif

i tryed kingstone integeral and peek micro sd's
mad.gif


any one having the same problems
mad.gif

is there a firmware update going to fix this?
mad.gif
 

hankchill

I Pwn n00bs.
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
2,338
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Outer Space
Website
www.hankchill.com
XP
401
Country
Canada
Wow, what an annoying post
hrth.gif


First of all, the name you registered with, you're stuck with
hrth.gif

Make sure your cards are formatted properly
hrth.gif

Try them in other devices to make sure they work
hrth.gif

Is it with all 5 TTDS?
hrth.gif

If so, your cards may be bad, because I had 6 TTDS's and they worked great
hrth.gif

Or you have bad luck
hrth.gif


See how annoying this is?
hrth.gif
 
  • Like
Reactions: Diamond Gaming

DSTTSTINKYCARD

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2008
Messages
178
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
201
Country
Gambia, The
all 5 are the same
i did have 10 but took some back
the kingston micros are from a good computer shop
also tryed 3 diferent types micro sd's
some times the odd micro sd would work ok first off
then if you put some different games on it would just cause it all to start freezing
there are lots of posts with the same problem
google (dstt games wont load)
they blame it on the sd card fragmentation
there is even a youtube clip showing a crappy so called fix

the dstt makers need to get a fix out soon or they will be going out of buisness
lecture.gif
ph34r.gif
unsure.gif
mad.gif
rofl2.gif
 

MadBob

Nostalgia ain't what it used to be!
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2002
Messages
1,555
Trophies
2
Website
Visit site
XP
712
Country
It might be something you are doing on your PC when loading them that is causing this. Have you tried safely removing the USB reader instead of simply pulling the card out?
 

test84

GBAtemp's last ninja 2.
Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2006
Messages
3,698
Trophies
1
Website
gbatemp.net
XP
1,244
Country
Iran
umm, you are suspicious.

your post, 5 cards all faulty, your nickname, flaming, not searching for answer and just blamin' ..., hope I'm wrong.
 

helpme

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2005
Messages
478
Trophies
0
Location
uk
Website
Visit site
XP
136
Country
that sure is some bad luck
buying 10 DSTT & everyone not working the odds must be astronomical
more likely its human error & your doing something wrong.........
 

DSTTSTINKYCARD

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2008
Messages
178
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
201
Country
Gambia, The
i chose the name as im pissed off with these things
its not just me theres loads of posts about this freezing on loading
cry.gif


also ive used r4's with the same computer and no problems
and m3 simplys

why dont they get effected with defragmentation?

surly some of you are having the same problems
gbasp.gif


here is the problem im having 43 seconds into the youtube clip
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=VUfFyr9Q0QA
 

martin88

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
988
Trophies
0
XP
406
Country
Canada
i chose the name as im pissed off with these things
its not just me theres loads of posts about this freezing on loading
cry.gif


also ive used r4's with the same computer and no problems
and m3 simplys

why dont they get effected with defragmentation?

surly some of you are having the same problems
gbasp.gif


here is the problem im having 43 seconds into the youtube clip
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=VUfFyr9Q0QA
Wouldn't watching that youtube video solve your problem? Since it is titled "How to Fix the TTDS\DSTT from the Game not Loading" after all.
 

andw

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 18, 2006
Messages
5
Trophies
0
XP
30
Country
I have 2 NDSTTs ordered at the same time and have the same problem, but so far only on one of them.
I have now watched the Youtube video, and that is actually what I have been doing to fix the one I have that does this.
I don't think it is file fragmentation, as you would be able to copy all the files off, reformat and copy back on.
This does not work, you actually have to recopy the files from original source (as also shown in YouTube video).
I think it is more likely data corruption than fragmentation myself.
I have both Sandisk and Kingston 1G cards, and they both do it on one of them.
However, I have noticed that if the kids just load a game and play it for hours on end it seems fine, it is more likely to happen when opening a game, powering off, opening another game etc.
Also I noticed that the date on one of the TTMENU files changes (the .SYS file from memory) - not sure if that is normal, only noticed yesterday and haven't looked at the other to check.
(p.s. the one that hasn't played up yet usually gets used by a kid that just plays one game for hours, so that could be why it hasn't failed)

Anyway, would be interesting for those who haven't seen a problem to (back up the files first) start a game, shut down, power up, start a game multiple times and see if it also does that lock up on loading thing.
 

ndsdave

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
79
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
22
Country
I had a freeze when trying to launch a game on 2 x DSTT's. I put the os' on at the same time, with no games. Then added the games later. A FAT format, re install the os, and re install the games fixed it.

Perhaps data corruption is the cause. I'm not going to loose sleep over it. The fix was damn simple!
 

DjoeN

Captain Haddock!
Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
5,489
Trophies
0
Age
53
Location
Somewhere in this potatoland!
Website
djoen.dommel.be
XP
2,835
Country
Belgium
My TTDS (NeoFlash Version) and DSTT (DealExtreme) Both work Flawless

I've written miltiple times and rebooted alot, i've been using it since NeoFlash sendend me the sample

I swap my TF (FAT32 Formatted) between the Neoflash TTDS and DealExtreme DSTT, no problem whatsoever.


I noted and posted about a problem where you get an error, if the USRCHEAT.DAT is missing or you use by accident an Encrypted usrcheat.dat you can get 2 white screens or an error txt (dunno just what it is saying anymore)
 

Bri

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2007
Messages
3,413
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
116
Country
United States
andw, I haven't seen this problem. I've started up games, shut down, and started up different games multiple times. One thing that will likely cause data corruption is if you shut down or remove the cart while the game is trying to save, so make sure the kids aren't doing that!

-Bri
 

andw

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 18, 2006
Messages
5
Trophies
0
XP
30
Country
andw, I haven't seen this problem. I've started up games, shut down, and started up different games multiple times. One thing that will likely cause data corruption is if you shut down or remove the cart while the game is trying to save, so make sure the kids aren't doing that!

-Bri
Thanks Bri,
I was wondering if that could be a factor.
 

DSTTSTINKYCARD

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2008
Messages
178
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
201
Country
Gambia, The
the ones i kept taking the games and the firmware on and off a few times
hate2.gif

seem to have kept working now
but why doesnt the r4 or m3 simply suffer with this ?
they are too much headache for me
cry.gif
 

heliuscc

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Apr 16, 2007
Messages
84
Trophies
0
XP
113
Country
Have to say I'm very happy with them, much less hassle than the M3DSReal which does seem to corrupt memory cards etc quite easily
 

cory1492

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2005
Messages
1,497
Trophies
0
Location
Home, WhereElse?
XP
312
Country
Canada
DSTTSTINKYCARD:
Did you try creating the sav files yourself instead of just leaving some free space and letting the OS do it? Even with R4 I always did that, as writing *new* files hasn't exactly ever been 100% reliable in any of the cards I have tried, while writing data inside of an existing files boundaries always seems to work just fine.

I for one would hate to stuff a bunch of files on a card without saves, only to find out after some hours playing on xx game that when I go to try a different one my card gets corrupted. And yeah, I have had that happen - even once on an R4.
 

ianmh

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jan 25, 2008
Messages
2
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
Canada
I'm having the exact same problem with my DSTT. Very annoying. Once it happens, all games won't load, they just freeze on the load screen. I have to copy all of my files to the computer, format and copy back, then they work again. Save files don't seem to be corrupted though.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    K3N1 @ K3N1: Maybe one day I can be Bruce almighty