Hacking DSiShop bypass without firmware upgrade

islamy

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Egypt
Guys,

It's my first time post after long time reading... I had a little observation that I would like to share with you. Last week I bought 2 DSi for my daughters from the states and they had 1.2U, I wanted to use the complementary 1000 points and get some stuff for the girls. I had to update to 1.3U in order to have access to the DSiShop, and that's what I've done with the first DSi..

As for the second one, I started the upgrade process (as the first one), however, the rounter hanged and something went wrong with the connection. I had a connection time-out error on the DSi, I went back to setting and I found that it's still on 1.2U. So, after restarting the router, I went back to the DSiShop in order to re-apply the upgrade... Well, I was surperised that I was able to access the DSiShop and I was able to download 2 DSiWares..

What I've been thinking of is that; if cool DSiWares are released after 1.4 (ex. Flipnote Studio), would it be possible to start the upgrade and in the middle of the process - let's say; shut down the router. Would this enable us to access the Shop and download whatever we want while we still on 1.3 enjoying our flashcards?

Well, I can't confirm this 100%, however, thought to share my experience with you and if anyone can confirm this, please let us know..

Thanks

TheDestroyer

GBAtemp's Official Keyblade Master™
Trophies
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
Country
United States
I thought of this too when there was an update (1.4) that blocks flashcart..
I thought that by interrupting the update you could still use flashcarts and enjoy the new updates at the same time..
However, i never really tried it.. and probably won't considering the consequences and frankly, i don't think that it would work..

indask8

New Member Forever
Trophies
XP
Country
France
I'm pretty sure shutting down the router at startup/middle of the update is not dangerous...