DSiLinux

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by hacker07, Apr 27, 2009.

Apr 27, 2009

DSiLinux by hacker07 at 12:50 PM (3,133 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. hacker07
    OP

    Banned hacker07 Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    1tb harddrive
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I was wondering if someone reworks the code for dslinux to access the ram in the dsi..Do you think that someone could make a GUI?
     
  2. NakedFaerie

    Member NakedFaerie GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    In the shadows behind you
    Country:
    Australia
    I very highly doubt it as it still has to be ran in DS mode which doesnt have access to the DSi's extra ram.

    AFTER the DSi has been hacked and the DSi mode is available to homebrew then come back and ask.
     
  3. hacker07
    OP

    Banned hacker07 Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    1tb harddrive
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Well that is what I was talking about maybe someone could hack libnds in devkitarm.
     
  4. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon
    Easier said then done, i advise is to just wait.
     
  5. hacker07
    OP

    Banned hacker07 Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    1tb harddrive
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Yeah maybe a team of genius hackers could do it pretty fast with the right debugging equitment.
     
  6. omatic

    Member omatic GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    408
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Unless you're willing to pay a professional-level commission for the job (pm me if you are, by the way), calm down and be patient.
     
  7. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    What the fuck are you even talking about? Hack libnds? That's the dumbest shit I've ever heard.
     
  8. NakedFaerie

    Member NakedFaerie GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    In the shadows behind you
    Country:
    Australia
    HAHAHAHAHA EXACTLY!

    I stick to me first comment. WAIT!

    They have to hack the DSi mode BEFORE any other hacking can be done.

    Thats like saying why isnt there a GBA emulator for DSi yet? Because the DSi mode isnt hacked yet.
    Why cant my PS3 play a ISO of a game I got? Same answer. It hasnt been hacked yet.

    Unless your going to STFU and do it yourself I suggest you WAIT!
     
  9. The Teej

    Former Staff The Teej Also known as The Tjalian

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,210
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Moved to DS - Homebrew

    Also, could the last two posters calm down please, thanks.
     
  10. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Meh. The guy plainly doesn't know anything about hacking, but is trying to sound like he does by throwing around words like "libnds" and "devkitarm". I have no problem with people lacking knowledge, but if they're going to run around pretending to know what they're talking about and spreading misinformation, it's probably worth cutting them down to size, for the benefit of the community.
     
  11. Remos

    Newcomer Remos Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Australia
  12. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Surely Linux isn't possible with 16MB RAM...and 256MB internal storage...But I know nothing about it.
     
  13. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    It's possible on the current DS, which has 4 MB of RAM and uses about 50 MB of storage space. It's also got a lot of useful applications on it, which make it worth looking into. For instance, the ability to browse the web and chat on IRC at the same time. Linux was also possible on the GBA - look into both GBA UNIX and GBA Linux. Couldn't really do anything with either of them, but they booted up and you could do basic commands like "ls" and such. Heck, there's even a Linux toaster.

    Point is, the DSi has more than enough resources to run it. However, we first need to get DSi mode cracked, and then there needs to be people dedicated to actually working on the project. All the ones who worked on DSLinux have lost interest, which is somewhat of a major setback.
     
  14. mechvent

    Newcomer mechvent Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    From my quick perusing of the subject I thought that DSlinux was possible on the DS because of/ and only with a RAM module attached to the GBA port, which the DSi does not have. I assume that this is used as swap. That being said, once the DSi is hacked the SD card will be available for the same purpose, again just an assumption from someone who knows very little about it.

    My main question is - What about Android?? I assume that since it is able to run on a mobile phone that it could then run on the DSi?

    All just speculation until the real work is done, though, so patiently I wait for the ones who know...... (thank you for your work BTW! Running linux on my DSi would be an awsome thing indeed! [​IMG] )
     
  15. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    I suspect Android of being pretty unlikely. Even the lowest of the low end phones built for Android far outstrip the DSi in the processing power; the first Android phone, the HTC Dream, has an ARM11 at 528MHz and 192MB of RAM. That said, I have no idea how scalable Android is supposed to be.
     
  16. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Well no, the slot-2 RAM is used as RAM, not swap. The DS cannot do swap because it doesn't have an MMU, so we can't use an SD card in place of RAM. DSLinux as it is will run without any additional RAM but will be severely limited for memory, crashing if you attempt to launch larger programs. It's still enough for text editing and more than likely SSH connections however.

    Also I apologize if I made it sound like I've developed for DSLinux myself. I haven't done anything for it, heh, I just use the program.
     

Share This Page