Dsi xl homebrew?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by bluebowser31, May 14, 2010.

May 14, 2010

Dsi xl homebrew? by bluebowser31 at 11:52 PM (5,180 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. bluebowser31
    OP

    Member bluebowser31 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Country:
    United States
    Well, i know that the XL has the same screen resolution, but would it be possible to make a homebrew game that, for example, can view a picture in large screen size, but higher resolution?

    because sense the XL's pixles hopefully arent HUGE (like the terible resolution) couldnt this be possible?

    edit: or would this require unlocking "Xl mode" (i doubt it)
     
  2. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    We have absolutely no idea. Nobody has hacked a DSi system to a usable state yet...
     
  3. bluebowser31
    OP

    Member bluebowser31 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Country:
    United States
    yes but wouldnt it be possible to just increase the qquality, without unlocking dsi mode? (considering its not using any dsi only parts?)
     
  4. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    The way I'm thinking of it, I think coders would have to know where on the screen everything is being placed in order to correctly do what you are hoping (and that would be a part of the DSi's system). It doesn't really matter much anyways, IIRC the difference isn't all that much (at least I haven't heard of anything having terribly bad visual quality with playing any homebrew on the DSiXL).
     
  5. bluebowser31
    OP

    Member bluebowser31 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Country:
    United States
    Thats true, but couldnt it be possible to just find 2 points on the screen, then based on that scale and place the image? (i know nothing about coding, it just seems that with 2 points you could find the scale and location)

    and maybe also have the user touch 2 parts of screen (like uper right and bottom left) to have same effect...

    (sense were on this subject, how do people make homebrew? is there a ds language that nintendo writes with, and people figured out?)
     
  6. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    DSi XL do NOT have increased resolution... it's still 256x192.
    Screen Size =/= Resolution.

    So to clarify... all the larger screen does is cause the individual pixels to be larger.
     
  7. bluebowser31
    OP

    Member bluebowser31 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Country:
    United States
    wait seriouslty!?!? the pixels are actualy larger!?!?

    i mean i knew nintendo was both cheap and lazy, but this is obsurd o.o

    i guess that makes sense tho, but waht i heard was it have same size pixles, it just wasnt programed to have higher quality /fail

    thanks for clearing that up
     
  8. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Think of it this way... It's like running a 13" monitor at 800x600... then moving up to a 21" monitor and keeping 800x600 resolution.
    Everything is bigger, but there's no increase in quality. If anything, you'll notice any blemishes that might have been too small to see before.
     
  9. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    Lol, DSPhat owns then xD (if only it had the different light settings instead of the toggle, it would have been perfect). I must remember this information for later =D.
     
  10. fearofshorts

    Member fearofshorts GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah, it's pretty funny that people equate larger screens with better picture-quality.
    It's why a video on a hi-resolution phone's display can look better than a video on a 60 inch hi-def television.

    Pixel-density, people! Pixel-density!
     
  11. bluebowser31
    OP

    Member bluebowser31 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Country:
    United States
    well duh, but generaly if ure guna have a larger screen, you can fit more pixels in it, giving some of them better quality (meaning nintendo said: no were not spening 5 bucks to add some pixels, no ones guna buy the XL anyways [​IMG])
     
  12. fearofshorts

    Member fearofshorts GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    479
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    But they couldn't add pixels. If they did then how would DS games be displayed?
    It has to run DS games with perfect compatibility so it needs to use the same number of pixels for DS games. This means that it would have to have some unused pixels around the edges. Like the black bars you see while watching a wide-screen film on a non-wide-screen tv, but all around it. And that would be butt-ugly.

    And then only the DSi-enhanced and DSi-Only games would use those extra pixels.
     
  13. bluebowser31
    OP

    Member bluebowser31 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Country:
    United States
    *and homebrew [​IMG] but yeah good point... still pretty stupid...
     
  14. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    BTW, your posts don't make sense.
    If the screens have the same screen resolution (as the older DSs), it's obvious that the pixels are bigger.
     
  15. bluebowser31
    OP

    Member bluebowser31 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Country:
    United States
    well i thought it was like on a computer, how a bigger computer, that is capable of running in 1200/800, is running in 600/800, and then another comp that can only run in 600/800, meaning the bigger screen has the pixels, it just the hardware wont alow it to use them...

    but now i know thats wrong [​IMG]
     
  16. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Bigger screen size doesn't have anything to do with higher resolution.
    800x600 on a 13" (10.4"x7.8") monitor is still the same resolution as 800x600 on a 21" (16.8"x12.6") monitor... the only difference is instead of stretching the 800 pixels across 10.4", you're stretching them across 16.8" (and 600px across 12.6" instead of the 7.8").
     

Share This Page