1. jamezfat

    OP jamezfat GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2016
    Messages:
    223
    Country:
    United States
    A while back I posted a thread about a dsi in which the soft resetting function stopped working, I still don't know why this happened, but shortly before the problem games were inconsistently crashing.
    Soon after the power problem, the device would fail to turn on...

    Turns out the battery pcb had a blown capacitor (originally it would prevent damage if say the battery were placed in backwards)
    Not having a direct replacement I bridged the connection with a bit of spare wire and the system functions absolutely fine.
    Except it still won't soft reset
    (Tapping the power button usually just takes you back to the home menu)
    I can still turn on and off the system, but it bugs me, if anyone could enlighten me on what could be wrong...

    I'm about to purchase a new battery pcb all together with a functioning capacitor and all.

    My biggest question is:
    Is the resetting flaw a physical defect, or a software glitch?

    What caused my list of problems in the first place?

    Why did this have to happen so close to rocket launcher...


    Any support is greatly appreciated!
     
  2. migles

    migles All my gbatemp friends are now mods, except for me
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    8,034
    Country:
    China
    what exactly means it won't soft reset?

    there is some homebrew that lets you test the buttons, i would launch it and test the buttons togheter (L+R+start+select)
    to see if they all register at the same time
     
    Last edited by migles, Jul 30, 2017
  3. jamezfat

    OP jamezfat GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2016
    Messages:
    223
    Country:
    United States
    No, I am referring to the power button, on the dsi tapping the power button while the system is on, takes you to the home menu. Whereas holding it just shuts down the system, I can shut it down, but not reset to the home menu...
     
  4. migles

    migles All my gbatemp friends are now mods, except for me
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    8,034
    Country:
    China
    then i do believe it's a software related issue...
     
  5. jamezfat

    OP jamezfat GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2016
    Messages:
    223
    Country:
    United States
    Well crap, how would I manage to fix that?
     
  6. jerbear64

    jerbear64 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    United States
    That wouldn't be a software issue, they tried repairing their power board since it blew a fuse.
     
  7. jamezfat

    OP jamezfat GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2016
    Messages:
    223
    Country:
    United States
    This same thing was happening right before it blew,
    First it was randomly crashing,
    Then the reset wouldn't work (just like now)
    And then a bunch of weird power issues:
    1 flickering battery/WiFi lights
    2 white screens
    3 flashing charge light/no power on


    And I've since replaced the capacitor with a straight bridge,
    (For all I can tell this capacitor acts as a safe state for if the battery is placed in backwards)

    Now it powers on just fine, it plays games and apps no problem, but tapping the power button does NOT take it to the home menu as it should,
    The only way to leave a game or app is to:
    1 Hit an in game exit option

    2 hold the power button for 5 sec to shut down, and then turn it back on.

    Is it possible that the capacitor also has something to do with the soft reset, meaning that it won't work when it's malfunctioning/not there?
     
  8. jamezfat

    OP jamezfat GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2016
    Messages:
    223
    Country:
    United States
    uhhh, it works fine now. i didn't do anything, i just turned it on, and it resets fine now...








    BUT WHY THO
     
  9. Oleboy555

    Oleboy555 Wie dit leest is een zemmel
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    Messages:
    887
    Country:
    Netherlands
    thats ninty for ya
     
  10. jamezfat

    OP jamezfat GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2016
    Messages:
    223
    Country:
    United States
    uhh yea.
    same thing happened with my original wii, it died, and then one day just worked again...
     
  11. CynicalPotatoe

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    I know this topic hasn’t been used in awhile, but could I ask what you did to bridge the connection to get it to work despite the blown cap? I’m having the same issue with a DSi XL I just bought and would like to find a temporary work around till my replacement board arrives
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - issues, button, power