1. Lia

    OP Lia C Dev and Guide Writer
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    2,020
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Q: Can I install homebrew on my DSi?
    A: Yes! Follow dsi.cfw.guide to install HiyaCFW on any region or firmware version.

    Q: Can I use homebrew without Flipnote Studio?
    A: Unless you have a previously installed DSiWare exploit, you'll need to hardmod your DSi and install homebrew that way, however that requires soldering skills and a stable hand.

    Q: So can I run ROMs on my DSi?
    A: Yep, just install TWiLight Menu++. The guide above should allow you to install it to your Home Menu. TWiLight Menu++ allows you to run commercial DS roms, homebrew, and has various emulators preinstalled.

    Q: Unlaunch freezes at MISMATCH IN FAT COPIES. What do I do?
    A:This error is caused by twlnf. It has a critical bug that doesn’t properly update the entire NAND after modifying it. This causes certain homebrew (like the Unlaunch installer) to throw an error. Fortunately, this is fixable. Unfortunately, the method to fix it isn’t set in stone, and largely varies from system to system. Generally, deleting any DSiWare installed via twlnf in the past does the job, but make sure you have another homebrew entrypoint available if you delete an entrypoint. It has also been reported that moving all DSiWare to the SD card and back to the system can help in some cases.

    Q: Can I install HiyaCFW without Flipnote Studio?
    A: No, you will need a hardmod to install HiyaCFW. Follow Gadorach’s hardmodding guide to hardmod your DSi. Previous soldering experience is required.

    Q: Can I use an SD card higher than 2GB with HiyaCFW yet?
    A: Yes, using TWiLight Menu++. See the Replacing System Menu with TWiLight Menu++ page for more information. Low-level “full” formatting your SD card with a tool like GUIFormat can help as well, but this will not get you around the DSi Menu’s block limit, whereas TWiLight Menu++ does.

    Q: Why don’t I see TWiLight Menu++?
    A: You’re in SysNAND instead of the SDNAND. The HiyaCFW Helper isn’t applying the CFW’s patches properly, so please wait for a fix in the helper.

    Q: Is there a safe way to remove Unlaunch?
    A: Yes, Unlaunch v1.5 and higher’s installer can uninstall Unlaunch. Keep in mind that this may result in an irrecoverable brick if you have installed any arbitrary DSiWare to your system NAND, or have otherwise messed with system files.

    Q: fuse-3ds fails to launch, or to mount my NAND backup!
    A: This can happen for several reasons, but the most common is that your PC is missing Windows Updates that are required for the program to run.

    If fuse-3ds shows nothing but a black command prompt screen, just wait a while longer- the program can be slow to start.

    If fuse-3ds shows the following error at startup:

    The procedure entry point ucrtbase.terminate could not be located in the dynamic link library api-ms-win-crt-runtime-l1-1-0.dll.

    You are missing the following Windows Update: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/2999226/update-for-universal-c-runtime-in-windows

    If fuse-3ds fails to mount with the error message:

    Cannot create WinFsp-FUSE file system: unspecified error.

    You are missing the following Windows Update: https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/security/3033929.aspx

    Both of these updates are several years old. If you’re missing them, it is highly recommended that you enable Windows Update on your machine in order to keep your system updated and secure, and to avoid issues like this in the future.
     
    Last edited by Lia, Oct 26, 2018
    JSMastah, Scootsauce, Lyrin and 2 others like this.
  2. slaphappygamer

    slaphappygamer GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3,131
    Country:
    United States
    How would you do that?
     
  3. Lia

    OP Lia C Dev and Guide Writer
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    2,020
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    added
     
  4. tito83

    tito83 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Cote d'Ivoire
  5. Lia

    OP Lia C Dev and Guide Writer
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    2,020
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    forgot to remove that
    srloader now runs dsiware
     
  6. Zyvyn

    Zyvyn GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1,982
    Country:
    United States
    One thing that isnt noted is that flip note studio is required which AFAIK you cannot get it anymore unless you previously had it
     
  7. Lia

    OP Lia C Dev and Guide Writer
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    2,020
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    correct
     
  8. Zyvyn

    Zyvyn GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1,982
    Country:
    United States
    kinda sad that I have a DSI running 1.2U cant do anything with it
     
  9. Lia

    OP Lia C Dev and Guide Writer
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    2,020
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you can hardmod it
     
  10. Zyvyn

    Zyvyn GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1,982
    Country:
    United States
    no reason too I have a modded 3ds I was just interested in modding it because I enjoy modding consoles
     
    Lia likes this.
  11. Scootsauce

    Scootsauce Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    so my mount failure doesn't give a reason, it just fails. It says the crypt was completed but it just says error: mount failed... I don't know what to do
     
  12. banjo2

    banjo2 gamer
    Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    1,786
    Country:
    United States
    This refers to both DSiMenu++ and SRLoader. Would you mind updating both of those to TWiLight Menu++?
     
  13. Lia

    OP Lia C Dev and Guide Writer
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    2,020
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks, fully updated the faq
     
    banjo2 likes this.
  14. Wolfgange

    Wolfgange GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    229
    Country:
    United States
    Whoa, I haven't been on gbatemp in a while. Super awesome it's now possible to get homebrew working with only flipnote studio installed (I'm understanding this correctly, right?). Thanks for the FAQ.
     
  15. banjo2

    banjo2 gamer
    Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    1,786
    Country:
    United States
    You may soon be able to with System Settings, thanks to a recently found exploit.
     
    Tarmfot likes this.
  16. Lia

    OP Lia C Dev and Guide Writer
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    2,020
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    source?
     
  17. banjo2

    banjo2 gamer
    Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    1,786
    Country:
    United States
    This is from the NDSiBrew Scene Discord server.
    [​IMG]
     
    Tarmfot likes this.
  18. retrofan_k

    retrofan_k GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,048
    Country:
    Belarus
    Snip..Ignore
     
    Last edited by retrofan_k, Nov 2, 2018
  19. Hakiyomi

    Hakiyomi Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    Vietnam
    My dsi is DSI LL 1.4.5 J, and i don't know how to set up Hiya CFW. Can you help me?
     
  20. retrofan_k

    retrofan_k GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2,048
    Country:
    Belarus
    https://dsi.cfw.guide
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Homebrew, Hacking,