DSI - Bricked by Flash Card?

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by philphil, Jan 26, 2012.

Jan 26, 2012

DSI - Bricked by Flash Card? by philphil at 10:47 PM (1,630 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. philphil
    OP

    Newcomer philphil Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Ireland
    Was using R4 Upgrade flash card in my daughters Dsi. It wasnt wifi enabled.

    Got message' An error has occured. Press and hold POWER button to turn system off, Refer to manual etc'

    Have tried taking battery out and putting in different game cards.

    Keep getting same message when try to run a game or open the flash card.

    Can get to dsi menu and see camera, but as soon as i choose a game or even settings get saem message.

    Please help!! Must be a fix out there !!!

    Am prepared to try anything at this satge, its just outside its warranty....
     
  2. Majorami

    Banned Majorami Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    This isn't helping, but, bricked means you can't do anything. That your machine is rendered function-less, as useful as a brick.

    If you can even turn the system on, its not bricked.
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. jimmyemunoz

    Member jimmyemunoz GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,958
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    Are you getting an error has occured message? Does your card have a v1.4 or v1.41 or v1.42 on the front sticker? What firmware is your DSi on? You're going to need to get your hands on another DS that the card works on to run an update from the www.r4i-sdhc.com website. To link you to the file I need to know what version of the card you have.
     
  4. TeddyPain

    Member TeddyPain GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Waving to black people in the hood in my car.
    Country:
    United States
    Here's a option that will save you 50 bucks. Trade in your dsi for a 3ds, 50 bucks off. It happened to me, but they didn't care that it wasn't able to play games, it seems that it's pretty easy for them to fix it, or if they just use it for spare parts. Not sure if this applies to everywhere. You can always buy a used dsi though. Seems to my knowledge you can't fix it ,and you have to replace it.
     
  5. philphil
    OP

    Newcomer philphil Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Ireland
    thanks teddy for reply...yes thats something i didnt think of the trade in....

    like i've said i cant even access settings with no card inserted.....technically not bricked but f$%ked might be a better word!!

    was hoping some smart people out there might have found a fix for this...cant afford to buy another one at the moment
     
  6. dilav

    Member dilav GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,225
    Country:
    United States
    A relative of mine had the same error message on their DSi, it was NOT able to load any application/game, and they do not use flash carts. I couldn't find much information online at the time, there was no known software reset. However someone mentioned turning WiFi off, which I could not do.

    But it did turned out to be a faulty WiFi card, make sure it is seated propertly. If you have another DSi try swaping the WiFi card over to see if it is faulty.
    The card is rectangular, socketed, and has a antenna wire attached. It should be fairly easy, and you should see it right when you take off the bottom casing iirc.
     
    1 person likes this.
  7. philphil
    OP

    Newcomer philphil Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Ireland
    Thanks i'll try that later on
     
  8. nigelwhittaker

    Newcomer nigelwhittaker Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    i've got the same error on my daughters pink dsi, what do they check if i trade it in?
     

Share This Page