Hacking DSBrick and 3DS

Foxi4

Endless Trash
OP
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
30,854
Trophies
3
Location
Gaming Grotto
XP
29,944
Country
Poland
This is something that's been bugging me for the last... 15 seconds, actually, it just struck me. :P

The 3DS clearly accesses DS-Mode via at least partial emulation (screen stretching and so on and so forth), I'm incredibly interested in... what would happen if you run either of the DS Brickers on the 3DS. Theoretically "nothing" should really occour as it's completely different hardware, moreover, I'm guessing that the DS part of the firmware is on a read-only partition anyways. On the otherhand, it could cripple DS capabilities altogether...

...so who's brave enough for some taihen/r0mloader fun? :P
 

Ace

GBATemp's Patrick Bateman
Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
1,034
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
Manhattan
Website
goo.gl
XP
538
Country
Well, finding out if it's read or write with the brickers won't tell us more than the fact that you could potentially Flashme your 3DS/DSi (which is already pointless on the DS and even more on those iterations)

Interesting thought, though :lol:
 

frogboy

lacking both style and grace
Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2011
Messages
2,434
Trophies
1
Age
28
XP
1,736
Country
United States
If I KNEW this would help in our efforts to hack the 3DS, I'd try it. However, since I don't know what would happen and I don't want to brick my new 3DS, I'm gonna have to sit this one out. ;)
 

Foxi4

Endless Trash
OP
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
30,854
Trophies
3
Location
Gaming Grotto
XP
29,944
Country
Poland
I don't remember reading any reports concerning the Brickers and DSi's so I can't tell whether anything would happen, however the way I see it, if the partition can be written over by 0's (except the read-only part at the beginning which could only be written over when the pins at the back were connected) then *surely* it can be written over with just about anything else. This opens a window of opportunity at running unsigned code, albeit in DS-Mode, however seeing that it's partially emulated unlike on the DSi (which simply lowered the clock speed to "become a DS"), you "somewhat have" access to the 3DS hardware.
 

rondoh70

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2011
Messages
334
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
new york
XP
287
Country
United States
along the same lines my dsi has gotten viruses from the internet if its possible find the virus again and use it on the 3ds.
 

ichichfly

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2009
Messages
619
Trophies
1
XP
1,076
Country
Gambia, The
if you use the old dsbricker on a DSi or 3DS the only thing that could happen is that some settings get lost. Because some settings are still stored in the NVram.

http://www.dsibrew.org/wiki/Nvram

settings can be reseted if they don't cause a crush on bootup.

ADD: I don't think that it is possible to crush the 3DS with wrong settings.
 
  • Like
Reactions: zoogie

Foxi4

Endless Trash
OP
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
30,854
Trophies
3
Location
Gaming Grotto
XP
29,944
Country
Poland
if you use the old dsbricker on a DSi or 3DS the only thing that could happen is that some settings get lost. Because some settings are still stored in the NVram.

http://www.dsibrew.org/wiki/Nvram

The 3DS "partially emulates" the DSi though, it's not actually a DS/DSi hardware-wise, this is why the same operation may have a completely different effect on it.
 

ichichfly

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2009
Messages
619
Trophies
1
XP
1,076
Country
Gambia, The
if you use the old dsbricker on a DSi or 3DS the only thing that could happen is that some settings get lost. Because some settings are still stored in the NVram.

http://www.dsibrew.org/wiki/Nvram

The 3DS "partially emulates" the DSi though, it's not actually a DS/DSi hardware-wise, this is why the same operation may have a completely different effect on it.

But the NVram is also present in the 3DS so why should they emulate it ?
 

Foxi4

Endless Trash
OP
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
30,854
Trophies
3
Location
Gaming Grotto
XP
29,944
Country
Poland
if you use the old dsbricker on a DSi or 3DS the only thing that could happen is that some settings get lost. Because some settings are still stored in the NVram.

http://www.dsibrew.org/wiki/Nvram

The 3DS "partially emulates" the DSi though, it's not actually a DS/DSi hardware-wise, this is why the same operation may have a completely different effect on it.

But the NVram is also present in the 3DS so why should they emulate it ?
This is for them to know and for us to find out. :creep:

It's called "Research". :creep:
 

ichichfly

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2009
Messages
619
Trophies
1
XP
1,076
Country
Gambia, The
if you use the old dsbricker on a DSi or 3DS the only thing that could happen is that some settings get lost. Because some settings are still stored in the NVram.

http://www.dsibrew.org/wiki/Nvram

The 3DS "partially emulates" the DSi though, it's not actually a DS/DSi hardware-wise, this is why the same operation may have a completely different effect on it.

But the NVram is also present in the 3DS so why should they emulate it ?
This is for them to know and for us to find out. :creep:

It's called "Research". :creep:

OK Can someone please send me a copy of the dsbricker I can't find any.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye: they could put minigames in it that you play using the pictures you take