1. LadyMiir

    OP LadyMiir Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    I own a DS Lite and an R4 card (have had the R4 for over a year now and it was working perfectly prior)-- the R4 card is a "R4 Upgrade Revolution for DS" (the site provided on the R4 card is www.R4i-SDHC.com), and the microSD card is a Sandisk one. Recently, my R4 has been acting strangely. When I insert the card and then turn it on, I get past the loading screen, but when on the game selection screen, the screen freezes. I am not sure what is wrong. But the DS itself is functioning normally, as I can play other game cartridges on it.

    It was working fine around a month ago, then I stopped playing on the R4 because I got a couple new game cartridges, and stowed the R4 in my game case. I pulled it out yesterday to give it a try and it refused to work.

    I really don't know what could have caused it, because I take good care of my games (don't get them damp, don't knock them about etc)...

    This is my first R4 card and I'm really not sure what is wrong or how to fix it... can someone please help me? Thank you!
     
  2. EyeZ

    EyeZ GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,652
    Back up the contents of the microSD card and format the card with the Panasonic SDFormatter.
     
  3. LadyMiir

    OP LadyMiir Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Where would I go to download this? And I have no idea how to use said formatter... >_> I'm really new to the R4...
     
  4. Geostar

    Geostar Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    There is a bug in the firmware which makes it act up after a certain date. Update to the latest firmware.
     
  5. Potticus

    Potticus GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    532
    Country:
    United States
    I would get wood r4's newest firmware.
     
  6. Stropdasje

    Stropdasje GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Netherlands
    LOL Or set the time on the DS to an earlier date?

    Best is to go back in time, undo your card purchase and purchase a proper card with the money you saved.
     
  7. Geostar

    Geostar Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    Or not seeing as the team have fixed this bug in their latest update.... You need to realise that not all R4's are turds. Cards from r4i-sdhc.com are updated once sometimes even twice a month and the team have never showed signs of quitting. They have implemented features like Wi-Fi engine which even the acekard and the ez-flash don't have.
     
  8. exangel

    exangel executioner angel
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,576
    Country:
    United States
    huh?!

    I haven't had any issues with Wi-Fi on my Acekard. So please explain.
     
  9. injected11

    injected11 Crescent Fresh™
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,776
    Country:
    United States
    The newer versions of carts from www.r4i-sdhc.com have the "Games Engine" that allows you to update the firmware and download roms via wifi directly to the cart.
     
  10. hundshamer

    hundshamer GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Blacklisted Trader

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,810
    Country:
    United States
    Wi-Fi Engine is a search and download tool for roms. It also auto updates the firmware via Wi-Fi.
     
  11. exangel

    exangel executioner angel
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,576
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds cool.
     
  12. LadyMiir

    OP LadyMiir Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Okay... Could someone just explain to me what I have to do, in a noob-friendly way? My apologies for my retardedness in regards to the technical details... I'm a law student @[email protected]
     
  13. d3monsting

    d3monsting GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Country:
    United States
    Noob friendly method:
    STEP 1: Please visit this site: "http://panasonic.jp/support/global/cs/sd/download/index.html", scroll to the bottom, and select download.
    STEP 2: Open the file you have downloaded, and install the program.
    STEP 3: Open up your MICROSD card that contains the files necessary for your R4 to function, and COPY and PASTE ALL of it somewhere on your computer (ie. Desktop/r4backup)
    STEP 4: Open the PANASONIC FORMATTER, and select the drive of your card.
    STEP 5: Select 'Format' (or something like that)
    STEP 6: Wait until you receive the completion message
    STEP7A: To test, copy NEW FIRMWARE ('freshly' downloaded) onto your SD card
    STEP8: Test to see if the problem occurs
    If not, then you will need a fresh copy of everything.
    If the problem still occurs, either go to the ALTERNATE, or contact the R4-SDHC team.
    ************************************************************
    ALTERNATE:
    Get a new flashcart.
     
  14. oniryuk1

    oniryuk1 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    United States
    you just need to replace usrcheat.dat with a new one thats all
     
  15. Bluelaserman

    Bluelaserman I shoot BLUE LASERS MAN!!!!
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Country:
    Updating cheats equals fix? [​IMG]
     
  16. Momoro

    Momoro The Dark One
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    :blink: it doesn't make sense to my brain..
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - freezing, keeps,