DS linux

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by floobmonsrake, Jun 17, 2009.

Jun 17, 2009

DS linux by floobmonsrake at 9:53 PM (1,340 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. floobmonsrake
    OP

    Newcomer floobmonsrake Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    Tis it possible to use the opera web browser expansion pack for DS Linux, or must u use ez flash 3 in 1 or something of the sort?
     
  2. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    I don't understand what does DSlinux even do? But yeh you can use the Opera expansion pack it works.
     
  3. floobmonsrake
    OP

    Newcomer floobmonsrake Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    DS linux is a command line based homebrew for ds with multiple apps built in like a web browser
     
  4. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    Alright what things does it have. I know it has a web browser what else? And how do you access these features like what command.
     
  5. James_Wulfe

    Member James_Wulfe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Country:
    United States
    DSLinux is a port of uClinux a distro of the Linux operating system for the DS for more info please visit dslinux.org Warning this is not for noobs so give up if your not familiar with some linux terminal commands.
     
  6. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Nonsense. I started out with DSLinux only knowing that "ls" showed a file listing, and "cd" changed folders. The DSLinux wiki is more than enough to get started (might need to use archive.org to get to it though).

    And as for the original question, yes it should be able to use the Opera RAM pack.
     
  7. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Concur with Dan on the ease of use of DSLinux. I have very limited experience with Linux command lines, although I'm lucky in that my wife takes Unix classes; even so, I was able to figure out most functions by reading through the DSLinux wiki. Besides some more complicated stuff like shell scripts, I haven't needed any help beyond the wiki documentation.
     
  8. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah I tried that but I can't go on the Wiki it says Internal Server Error
     
  9. commdante

    Member commdante GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Same here [​IMG]
    http://dslinux.org/cgi-bin/moin.cgi/MainPage -> fails :/

    I don't know if dsLinux supports the Opera RAM, I do know it supports the M3 RAM of the M3-lite, cause I own it. I know they support some other sorts of "RAM"', but I guess you'll need to wait 'till server gets up again to know for sure if yours is able/added.
     
  10. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    And again, to the best of my knowledge the Opera RAM pack is supported. You won't be able to use graphical Links with it, since it only adds 8 MB of RAM, but it's enough to prevent most apps from crashing.
     

Share This Page