Dreamcast Emulation

Discussion in 'Other Consoles & Oldies' started by Jamstruth, Mar 3, 2010.

Mar 3, 2010

Dreamcast Emulation by Jamstruth at 7:32 PM (1,322 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Jamstruth
    OP

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey, I'm trying to get Chankast or DEmul to work on my PC with varying degrees of success. I can get the BIOS up and running perfectly but I cannot get my Sonic Adventure 2.cdi to be recognised by Chankast (when mounted through DaemonTools) and with DEmul I managed to get it to boot the game but it gets stuck on the Sega screen.

    Any help for me to get Chankast to run?
     
  2. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There is a successful Dreamcast emulator? [​IMG]
     
  3. impur1ty

    Newcomer impur1ty Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'd recommend NullDC, once configured, is the most accurate DC emulator. However, I'd say it is still futile in comparison with the original hardware.
     
  4. Jamstruth
    OP

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Of course, but everything is. I don't have an original Dreamcast or the funds to go finding the games etc.

    Any extra plugins which improve NullDC in any way?

    Edit: Ok, I have NullDC working now, any way to have it recognise joypad input?
     
  5. Predator04

    Newcomer Predator04 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    United States
    the games you can just burn lol. no need to buy them
     
  6. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    You'll need a program like xpadder to get nulldc to work with a gamepad of sorts. You have to set keys to the buttons and analog sticks. Nulldc does not seem to support gamepads natively, yet anyways.
     
  7. mdlmemorybank

    Newcomer mdlmemorybank Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United States
  8. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    The only real issue with SA2 in the latest versions is that when you press the buttons you specified for forward and back (to move your character forwards or backwards), it will tilt the character a bit to the left. It's as if you had your analog stick held slightly offcenter. Pretty obnoxious too. You can fix it by using an older build, but that would mean less compatibility. It doesn't do this in all games either for some reason... You MIGHT be able to fix it somehow by messing with gamepad calibration or something.

    For those having issues with that game in nulldc, i'd recommend playing the Gamecube version in Dolphin. It's an identical game, with a few new bonuses such as pretty expansive multiplayer. At this point, Dolphin plays the game 99% flawlessly for me, much more so than nulldc. It doesn't require too beefy of a PC either, more than dreamcast, but if you have a decent dual core over 2.5ghz and a competent GPU, you'll probably be ok. I can play it fullspeed all the time on these specs-

    Athlon II x2 250 @3ghz
    2GB DDR2 ram
    Radeon 4350 (dxdiag says it has 1274MB video memory, not sure if that's accurate, but this is a weak gpu)
     

Share This Page