1. bajibbles

    OP bajibbles Ragnafreak
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    789
    Country:
    Hi guys I had a huge look around this forum but couldn't find anything that totally matched my situation.
    Randomly, the last time I posted on this account was in 2005... GBAtemp hasn't changed much!!

    So my cousin was trying to play smash bros over local and inadvertedly updated my switch to the newest version, meaning I can't run anything.

    I followed the instructions here to update my version of hekate / atmosphere hoping the switch was in a compatible version.

    I can now boot into Hekate but when I try to boot into reinx (black screen) or fusee-primary (atmosphere for 1 second, followed by black screen) I get nothing so assuming I need to downgrade.

    Tried following the instructions here but as I can't open Atmosphere I can't open ChoiDujourNX.

    Just confirming I need to try a manual downgrade, which looks kind of scary...
    https://switch.homebrew.guide/usingcfw/manualchoiupgrade

    If there are any other options please let me know.
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2019
  2. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    11,918
    Country:
    United States
    If you updated to 9.1.0, then all you need to do is use the latest version of Atmosphere and fusee-primary. The update might have removed exFAT compatibility, which means your SD card needs to be FAT32 for any CFW to boot properly.

    There is no reason to downgrade.
     
    bajibbles likes this.
  3. bajibbles

    OP bajibbles Ragnafreak
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    789
    Country:
    Mate you have made my day.
    So I just need to reformat the SD card?
    It is currently in exFAT, so I will try reformatting it into FAT32.
     
  4. bajibbles

    OP bajibbles Ragnafreak
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    789
    Country:
    Hi guys,
    I reformatted into FAT32 and reinstalled a package from sdsetup.com (should be the latest atmosphere/fusee?), but I still can't load any firmware. I try to open fusee-primary but it just blacks out.
    If anyone has advice let me know.
    I am going to do a full format (i did a quick format) into FAT32 and see if that solves it.
    Thanks again Lacius for your help.
     
  5. Gcentrex

    Gcentrex GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    United States
    sdsetup doesn't provide the latest versions of Atmosphère and hekate, sdsetup won't update until Kosmos is updated and that might take a while.
     
  6. bajibbles

    OP bajibbles Ragnafreak
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    789
    Country:
    I honestly was in shock and disbelief when my switch finally rebooted itself. You guys are absolutely amazing. THANK YOU BOTH

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I honestly was in shock and disbelief when my switch loaded. You guys are HEROES
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Downgrading, switch,