downgrade 4.2 to 3.2

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by muffin, Nov 14, 2009.

Nov 14, 2009

downgrade 4.2 to 3.2 by muffin at 11:19 AM (4,409 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. muffin
    OP

    Member muffin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi can anyone please advice on how to downgrade from 4.2e to 3.2e, i have got no nand backup and made the mistake of updrade from Nintendo [​IMG]

    thankyou [​IMG]
     


  2. ConJ

    Member ConJ The Toker

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    918
    Location:
    Glastonbury
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why do you want/need to downgrade?

    Why not just stay at 4.2?
     
  3. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I agree, there is nothing good about 3.2 and 4.2 still offers everything and more.

    Just get your 4.2 sorted imho
     
  4. bjorno

    Member bjorno GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    428
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Dont be so rude by saying [imho]..
    He just wants help.
    Anyway.. just stay at 4.2, downgrading to 3.2 could BRICK your wii, and 3.2 is outdated.
     
  5. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    eh ??

    imho means .. in my humble opinion, this means that I am only offering my opinion and it is a humble one meaning I don't know "for a fact" I said this because some argue that other sys menu versions are better than 4.2 and I wont get drawn into an arguement over it.

    So bjorno STFU ... meaning shut the fuck up
    Now that's rude [​IMG]
     
  6. muffin
    OP

    Member muffin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thankyou for your reply sorry it has caused some sort of argument the reason why i want to downgrade is because the wii was 3.2 i upgraded to 4.2 useing offical update and now nothing is working right i just wanted to know if it is possible to take the wii back to 3.2 without a nand backup then i will put 4.1 or 4.2 back on but not the offical way

    thankyou [​IMG]
     
  7. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You don't need to say sorry for someone else [​IMG]

    You can use parts of this guide here:
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=171901

    If you get stuck on anything just post in this less cluttered thread and I'm sure someone will help you out.


    You want to do a few things

    Rule # 1 - Try to get bootmii installed as boot2 if possible using the hackmii installer http://bootmii.org/download/ then backup your NAND and put it somewhere safe.

    Before you do that you will need to get bannerbomb V2 (for 4.2) http://bannerbomb.qoid.us/
    In short you want to.. bannerbomb>hackmii installer>TBR>cIOS ? > some extras....
     
  8. Jdbye

    Suspended Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,071
    Location:
    Norway
    Country:
    Norway
    Downgrading to 3.2 can be done easily and safely (as safe as it gets) with AnyRegion Changer [​IMG]
     
  9. norain

    Newcomer norain Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    Yes it's really not all that difficult to downgrade. AnyRegion Changer will do that for you. 4.2 basically messes up IOS30 and 249. Once you get those back working (which is, I guess, what anyRegion Changer does) then installing 3.2 is a piece of cake.

    People talk about the "advantages" of 4.2... and sure, if you're already on 4.2 you might as well stay there.

    But it's much more of a hassle to deal with for not much more gain. You get SDHC support and... hell... I don't even know what else.

    In exchange for IOS202, 222, 249 being changed into stubs and all sorts of other anti-piracy nonsense whereas 3.2 is plug and play
     
  10. muffin
    OP

    Member muffin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thankyou for your reply wow what a lot of info but sorry to say i would not know where to start

    many thanks
     
  11. muffin
    OP

    Member muffin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thankyou for your replys can anyone please advise where i am suppose to put anyregion channer on a sd card i have put it on but it does not show up on the sd card

    thankyou
     
  12. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    To launch with bannerbomb --> place the .dol on the root of the SD card and call it boot.dol

    To launch with HBC --> SD:apps/boot.dol
     
  13. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    don't forget that it must be in any folder
     
  14. muffin
    OP

    Member muffin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thankyou for your reply i have managed to put anyregion changer on sd card but come up with this error


    identifying as su...es_identify ret=- 4352; es not initialized initializing filesystem driver ok error es_getnumtickets ret=- 4352 [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    thankyou
     
  15. dai-a

    Member dai-a GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Springville Utah
    Country:
    United States
    Anyregionchanger will not work on 4.2

    You're lucky you didn't brick.
     
  16. SectionX

    Member SectionX GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    355
    Country:
    wait a sec, I am running 3.2E and all my games work with wiikey and geckoOS or neogamma. If I upgrade to 4.2, will I lose that functionality?
     
  17. viper831

    Newcomer viper831 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Use anytitledeleter and delete your ios 249 and 250.

    If you plan on using hermes, also delete 222 and 223.

    After that reinstall cios38rev14.

    Then use dop-ios on ios53, 55, and 70. and patch all 3 of them
     
  18. muffin
    OP

    Member muffin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thankyou for all the replys if anyregion changer does not work on 4.2 then how do i downgrade without bricking the wii [​IMG]

    many thanks
     
  19. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why do you want to downgrade is the real question here
     
  20. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Official 4.2 can't be downgraded below 3.4 because of Boot2 v4. If you try to downgrade to 3.2, you'll brick your wii.
     

Share This Page