Double Resolution with 3D?

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by Presto99, Apr 4, 2011.

Apr 4, 2011

Double Resolution with 3D? by Presto99 at 6:07 AM (2,092 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. Presto99
    OP

    Member Presto99 You slammin, bro?

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    910
    Location:
    Skyworld
    Country:
    United States
    I've heard that the top screen of the 3DS gets its resolution doubled when in 3D mode, and that makes sense, seeing as it is displaying two screens at once on the top, three total. Although when playing in 3D mode I don't notice any less jaggies or an increase in resolution, but the screen just gets 3D. That makes sense, right? But what if a game developer could make a game, when 3D mode is on, wouldn't make it 3D, but would make it look nicer and just increase the number of pixels you were seeing? I hope this makes sense, and I don't really have any idea if this is possible, but I just thought it would be cool.
     
  2. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    You can't make pixels.

    The resolution is set at 800×240 pixels for the top screen (400x240 per eye) and 320×240 pixels for the bottom screen.
    The DS/DSi games can be displayed at 256x192 (native) or scaled up to 320x240 (1.25x).



    If you mean 'make a game run 800x240' then I suppose it would be possible... but Nintendo probably wouldn't let a non-3D game be developed for their 3D console.
     
  3. DryYoshi

    Member DryYoshi Love child of Dry Bones and Yoshi

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    654
    Location:
    Yoshi's Island
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Actually, Nintendo said that developers don't need to use 3D.
    Cubic Ninja doesn't use it, it has too much motion-control.
     
  4. Presto99
    OP

    Member Presto99 You slammin, bro?

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    910
    Location:
    Skyworld
    Country:
    United States
    That's what I mean. And in Iwata Asks they did say that they would let devs choose how much (if at all?) 3D was in their game, like Nintendo didn't force everyone to make their DS games touch-supported.
     
  5. geruetzel

    Newcomer geruetzel Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Austria
    on their website they say, that games for the 3DS are not necessarily in 3D
     
  6. TehSkull

    Member TehSkull Living the life

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,700
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Country:
    United States
    Isn't any game you play (while the 3D switch is off) in 800x240? That was my understanding...

    Then when the 3D switch is turned on, every other vertical column of pixels is pointed at each eye. Right?
     
  7. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    No, the two vertical rectangles that make up a pixel are merged into one square pixel in 2d mode. In 3d mode, each vertical rectangle would be sent one to each eye and merged into one pixel in your brain.

    It might be possible to use 800X240 res in 2d mode but it would look odd because the vertical resolution would stay the same at 240. The aliasing (jaggies) would be inconsistent depending on the angle of a given polygon edge.
     
  8. pachura

    Member pachura GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    566
    Country:
    Back then Amigas had "High Res" mode - 640x256 on a 4:3 screen. It looked OK.
     
  9. TheNikkoMan

    Newcomer TheNikkoMan Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Oslo
    Country:
    Norway
    I actually think that 3D DOES look more jagged/pixels more noticeable. Nothin big tho.
     
  10. spinal_cord

    Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The way I understand it, 3D = 2x 400x240 screens, 2D = 1x 800x240 screen.

    It should be possible to get double the horizontal resolution in 2D mode. It wouldn't look in any way odd, as the image would be designed to use 800x240, rather then 400x240, so it should be better quality than a 3D version of the same scene.
     
  11. altorn

    Member altorn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    No. The 3d mode will cause more aliasing, therefore you cannot create more detail than it already can display. Its a hardware limitation.

    Its like your understanding with quad core cpus that when they say 2.2GHz Quad core, you do 2.2x4=8.8...
    No. Its just 400pixels wide. You know when you activate 3d, the screen flickers a bit, thats when the pixels "divide". They only say 800pixels because of people having 2 eyes. If you can merge your eyes then sure you get 800pixels on 1 eye. Lol
     
  12. pachura

    Member pachura GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    566
    Country:
    You don't know what you're talking about.

    3DS' screen has 800x240 pixels. The pixels are rectangular, height = 2 x width. Theoretically it could be possible to use this double horizontal resolution in 2D mode... if hardware allows it. I guess currently it is easier for developers just to display identical image in even and odd columns when 3D is off.
     
  13. DiscostewSM

    Member DiscostewSM GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,799
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Country:
    United States
    When using 3D mode, 2 things happen. First, the parallax barrier is activated. Second, the use of a 2nd camera is activated for an additional render, and that render is mapped over the 2nd group of columns that alternate with the 1st. If developers have access to both the parallax barrier and 2nd camera independently, then I can see them possibly having an 800x240 2D screen to work with. From that, you have the 2nd camera laid with the same exact position and orientation as the 1st, but with a slight adjustment to the yaw axis, as far as 3D 'graphics' are concerned.
     
  14. spinal_cord

    Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Never have I read a more useful passage of text. [​IMG]
     
  15. altorn

    Member altorn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada

    yeah i guess i have it the other way around.
    but you said it yourself, 2xwidth. so technically, it's 400pixels but each pixel is twice as wide as its height. like 400 rectangular "bulbs".
     
  16. Nintendude92

    Member Nintendude92 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    507
    Country:
    United States
    Not true, Cubic Ninja has no 3D at all. It opt'd out of it because the gyroscope makes it difficult to maintain the effect. 3D is not a requirement in software
     

Share This Page