1. godreborn

    OP godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,320
    Country:
    United States
    for some reason, whenever I search in windows 10, the search results are shown in the wrong language. I'm trying to get them to display in English. windows 10 is in English, everything is in English but search results.
     
  2. D34DL1N3R

    D34DL1N3R Nephilim
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,324
    Country:
    United States
    C'mon. I Googled windows 10 search wrong language and got plenty of results on how to fix it.
     
  3. godreborn

    OP godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,320
    Country:
    United States
    none of them work
     
  4. D34DL1N3R

    D34DL1N3R Nephilim
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,324
    Country:
    United States
    Which ones exactly did you try? That would certainly help people from suggesting the same things you already tried.
     
  5. godreborn

    OP godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,320
    Country:
    United States
    I tried changing the language and region to english. some of the options mentioned on those sites talk about advanced tools, but I have no option like that. this is what it shows: upload_2019-10-30_10-1-41.png

    however, when I search: upload_2019-10-30_10-2-22.png
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Dimensional

    Dimensional GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    807
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tried turning your computer off and on again? What about checking to see if you have additional languages installed onto your computer? Go into settings instead of control panel, select "Time and Language", which should be in the middle of all the setting options, click Language on the left bar, and see if you have additional languages installed. If so, just remove them, then reboot the PC. Usually you have to reboot the PC when changing language settings for them to take effect.
     
  7. godreborn

    OP godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,320
    Country:
    United States
    I just realized that only control panel is in chinese. if I search for it, I get that window above. inside, control panel is in english.
     
  8. D34DL1N3R

    D34DL1N3R Nephilim
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,324
    Country:
    United States
  9. godreborn

    OP godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,320
    Country:
    United States
    yes, the problem is with searching for uac. I tried rebuilding the search database, but that didn't work. if I search for say control panel, it's in english.
     
  10. D34DL1N3R

    D34DL1N3R Nephilim
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,324
    Country:
    United States
    Are you using some custom version of Win10 made by a 3rd party? Or a 100% official and full version? IF it comes down to it, reinstall Windows. It really doesn't take as long as people usually complain about it taking. It's a hassle, yes. But it's really not that terrible of a process - especially if you download all of your favorite apps to a different drive/folder prior to the reinstall. Edit: Did you try a system file check or a repair install?
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2019
  11. godreborn

    OP godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,320
    Country:
    United States
    thanks. I'm going to try reinstalling windows.
     
  12. Originality

    Originality Chibi-neko
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,701
    Country:
    Might also be worth checking if the Chinese language pack (under optional features) is installed. If it is, uninstall it.

    But since you’re reinstalling anyway, that’ll probably fix it.
     
  13. Zalex

    Zalex Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Spain
    If not too late,
    Create a new user profile and check.

    Redmi Note 7 Pro | Tapatalk
     
  14. crayonfeaturedking

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Which browser did you open Google on? Google Chrome or Firefox?Try uninstalling it and reinstalling it again on your computer,then open Google.......
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Settings), (Language, Anyone