1. Mthb54

    OP Mthb54 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey guys
    If the Homebrews ever come to 3DS do you think the system could handle a gamecube emulator?
    Mthb54
     
  2. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think so.
     
  3. Mthb54

    OP Mthb54 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    Canada
    why?
     
  4. ilman

    ilman Gbatemp's Official Noise Eraser
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,128
    Country:
    No, it probably won't handle N64, let alone the Gamecube. Heck, my 5-year-old laptop can't handle Gamecube games, so no emulation past Gen 5.
    Also, added you back for Kid Icarus.

    Because the Gamecube uses PowerPC architecture. The 3DS uses ARM. Converting processor instructions from one architecture to another is a demanding process. That's why.
     
  5. Mthb54

    OP Mthb54 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    Canada
    Great
     
  6. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    'Cause I don't think it's powerful enough. My Core 2 Duo machine struggled with Super Mario Sunshine. :P
     
  7. Mthb54

    OP Mthb54 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    Canada
    I tought 3DS power was the equivalent of the Wii
     
    BortzANATOR likes this.
  8. Fyrus

    Fyrus Artilleur Carmin
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    868
    Country:
    France
    But the Wii doesn't emulate Gamecube games, it has the hardware to run them, that's different.
     
    kehkou and Mthb54 like this.
  9. nukeboy95

    nukeboy95 Old skool member
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,275
    Country:
    United States
    my i5 2.4ghz laptop can barley run gamecube game (but yet it can run wii games fine)
    what you think a 3ds at 800mhz can run a gamecube
     
  10. the_randomizer

    the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    30,458
    Country:
    United States
    Emulation never works that way. Just because a CPU is on par with another console doesn't mean it has the power to emulate said console. Translating PPC IBM CPU architecture into ARM CPU architecture would be a tremendous undertaking.
     
  11. ilman

    ilman Gbatemp's Official Noise Eraser
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,128
    Country:
    The Wii can run Gamecube games, because the Wii is just a faster Gamecube in terms of processor. That's not emulation.
     
  12. TackyPie

    TackyPie GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    United States
    No it might be strong enough to emulate the N64 though.
     
  13. Mthb54

    OP Mthb54 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    Canada
    Do you think they could port the game on 3ds?
     
  14. Mthb54

    OP Mthb54 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    Canada
    that would be nice :)
     
  15. heartgold

    heartgold GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4,378
    Country:
    I have yet to see a duo core Arm11 emulate N64 at playable speed, let alone gamecube. Lol
     
  16. Rydian

    Rydian Resident Furvert™
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,880
    Country:
    United States
    Even disregarding the comparison, the Wii doesn't emulate the Gamecube.

    The Wii IS an upgraded Gamecube.

    EDIT: Haha, I was slow.
     
  17. Gabelvampir

    Gabelvampir Free Mars!
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Country:
    Germany
    Emulation? Don't think so, especially homebrew.
    But I think GC games could be ported, if anybody wanted to do so. At the moment I don't think anybody is interested in that commercially for whatever reason (i.e. GC was not popular with 3rd parties and Nintendo doesn't give a shit).
     
    Rydian likes this.
  18. SickPuppy

    SickPuppy New Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,830
    Country:
    United States
    kehkou and heartgold like this.
  19. alirezay

    alirezay GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    224
    Country:
    United States
    If u mean run a game cube game maybe
    But emulating a game cube game never!(maybe future but veeeeeeeery lagy)
     
  20. Chary

    Chary Never sleeps
    Chief Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    10,824
    Country:
    United States
    Emulation? No. Porting? Maybe.
    I mean, we got Super Mario 64 on the DS, why not a Mario Sunshine for 3DS. I doubt it can happen, but I bet that porting the game would be possible.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - emulator, gamecube, handle