Do you need a disk in the drive to play backups?

Discussion in 'PS3 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Devante, Jun 18, 2011.

  1. Devante
    OP

    Member Devante Crescent fresh at best.

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,212
    Country:
    United States
    I have a PS3 without a disc drive.

    Just wanted to know if I can hack it and play backups off of the internal HDD without the drive installed.
     
  2. Lord-x

    Newcomer Lord-x Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    AƱasco
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Most games don't need a disc to work, but some do.
     
  3. Devante
    OP

    Member Devante Crescent fresh at best.

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,212
    Country:
    United States
    Oh shoot. :< Well thanks for the answer.
     
  4. tbgtbg

    Member tbgtbg Shaking the ring ropes up in the sky

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,951
    Country:
    United States
    Your PS3 doesn't have a disc drive at all, or it has one that's broken and won't read discs? I'm not 100% sure, but I believe that if you don't have the drive at all, you're SOL and even discless games won't work.

    Also, some games not only don't work discless, but a few will even corrupt your HDD if you try to run them discless. One of the Assassin's Creed games is the primary example.
     
  5. Devante
    OP

    Member Devante Crescent fresh at best.

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,212
    Country:
    United States
    No drive at all, but it turns on and goes to XMB menu.

    Ummm and thanks for the corruption tip. That's good to know! ha
     
  6. dilav

    Member dilav GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,225
    Country:
    United States
    I believe if you update the PS3 software with a disc drive error of any kind it will give a error and you will be in a reboot/update loop.

    Not sure how this will affect installing cfw, or getting backup managers to run.
     
  7. Nicole Luyben

    Newcomer Nicole Luyben Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    United States
    Why not take a try to tell us the result, i am curious about it as well ....
     
  8. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,402
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Wait, What?
    I never heard of any games corrupting the internal or external HDD if it was launched without a disc in the drive.
    If it's the case, it's really bad. People should always keep one in the drive then, but that defeat the purpose of the path redirection to launch them discless.

    edit:
    I searched on other websites, it seems it's only Assassin's Creed Brotherhood.
    The solution is to use a PSN-like PKG to play from internal without a disc in the drive.
    I don't know why some games are corrupting the HDD [​IMG]
     

Share This Page