Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CodyMitchel2

    CodyMitchel2 Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    United States
    So, the whole thing is NDS-bootstrap, outside of flash cards?

    I mentioned earlier that DSOnei doesn't work with the N3DS models since it almost got stuck in the DS/3DS cartridge slot.
     
    Last edited by CodyMitchel2, Aug 21, 2017
  2. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14,241
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, SD ROMs are loaded by nds-bootstrap, which patches them on-the-fly to read from SD card instead of Slot-1.
     
  3. CodyMitchel2

    CodyMitchel2 Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    United States
    Right, they're loaded via SD card but I could only get NSMB to work.

    I really don't like using my DSi XL because the screen is too big and looks ugly for DS games.
     
    Last edited by CodyMitchel2, Aug 21, 2017
  4. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14,241
    Country:
    United States
    What else couldn't you get working, besides AC:WW?
     
  5. CodyMitchel2

    CodyMitchel2 Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    United States
    Not sure but I think a few like Advance Wars: Dual Strike. All 30 DS ROMs I had have been uploaded to the Wii U VC, eventhough the Wii U is completely different than the 3DS/N3DS and running off of software emulation. I'd say about 90% of my ROMs were incompatible.
     
    Last edited by CodyMitchel2, Aug 21, 2017
  6. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14,241
    Country:
    United States
    That should work on the latest unofficial bootstrap.
    If you want, you can update unofficial bootstrap in the TWLoader settings screen, then set it to use unofficial bootstrap.
     
  7. CodyMitchel2

    CodyMitchel2 Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    United States
    Here are all of the ROMs I had:

    Super Mario 64 DS
    New Super Mario Bros.
    Mario Luigi: Partners In Time
    Mario Kart DS
    Mario Party DS
    Mario Hoops: 3-on-3
    Mario Vs. Donkey Kong 2: March of The Minis
    DK: King of Swing
    Wario: Master of Disguise
    Yoshi's Island DS
    Yoshi Touch & Go
    The Legend of Zelda: Phantom Hourglass
    The Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks
    Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Blue Rescue Team
    Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of Sky
    Pokemon Ranger
    Pokemon Ranger: Shadows of Alma
    Pokemon Ranger: Guardian Signs
    Kirby: Canvas Curse
    Kirby: Squeak Squad
    Kirby: Mass Attack
    Metroid Prime: Hunters
    Star Fox Command
    Animal Crossing: Wild World
    Brian Age: Train Your Brain in Minutes A Day
    Big Brain Academy
    Picross 3D
    Advance Wars: Dual Strike
    Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon
    Style Savvy
     
  8. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14,241
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, these should work.

    Super Mario 64 DS
    New Super Mario Bros.
    Mario Luigi: Partners In Time
    Mario Kart DS
    Mario Party DS (on unofficial bootstrap)
    Yoshi's Island DS (idk)
    Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Blue Rescue Team
    Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of Sky
    Kirby: Squeak Squad
    Metroid Prime: Hunters (Korean version only, afaik)
    Brian Age: Train Your Brain in Minutes A Day (idk)
    Advance Wars: Dual Strike (on unofficial bootstrap)
    Fire Emblem: Shadow Dragon (on unofficial bootstrap)
     
  9. CodyMitchel2

    CodyMitchel2 Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    United States
    Funny how the Wii U can emulate DS games better than the 3DS (not counting cartridges)
     
  10. teelo

    teelo GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    100
    Country:
    New Zealand
    The Wii U is newer than the 3DS and this isn't an emulator.
     
  11. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14,241
    Country:
    United States
    On 3DS, again it's not emulation.
    There actually was a DS emulator for 3DS, and it's a port of DeSmuME.
    It's very laggy and slow, and was dropped in favor of native ROM loading (nds-bootstrap).
    With nds-bootstrap, ROMs are run the same as on cartridges, with the only exception being the loading times.
     
    Last edited by Robz8, Aug 21, 2017
    lordkaos likes this.
  12. Giodude

    Giodude GBAtemp's official rock
    Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    5,092
    Country:
    United States
    Well the Wii u does emulate the DS.
    The 3ds doesn't emulate them though... Of course emulation is better than the original, it always is.
     
    FateForWindows and Billy Acuña like this.
  13. AshleyCummings

    AshleyCummings Gamer Girl
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    530
    Country:
    United States
    Ok I use a R4i SDHC 3DS for some reason I can't get the roms to load nor does the DS flash art o.O and rom directory is SD my R4 roms I have to be on SD and the micro card in the cart??? This thing seems more complicated then I assumed
     
  14. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14,241
    Country:
    United States
    Is game location set to Flashcard?
     
  15. AshleyCummings

    AshleyCummings Gamer Girl
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    530
    Country:
    United States

    I have no clue on where to direct this thing my micro so is in a r4 cart x.x and this site needs a auto shrink crop thing -_- annoying it can't shrink my ipads picture AUTO alike other sites do ..

    I also checked to make sure it's on the right card and it is ..
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by AshleyCummings, Aug 21, 2017
  16. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14,241
    Country:
    United States
    In the ROM select menu, press START, then press A on "Game selection".
    The instructions should tell you how to run ROMs from your flashcard (click "Show").
     
    Last edited by Robz8, Aug 21, 2017
  17. AshleyCummings

    AshleyCummings Gamer Girl
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    530
    Country:
    United States
    I did then I saw no games I clicked add games it went to a white screen o.O led is so pretty though o.o

    Got no idea why it white screened froze but I rebooted and it added everything fine THANK U

    This is what I've been looking for For as long as I've had this DS cart
     
    Last edited by AshleyCummings, Aug 21, 2017
    Robz8 likes this.
  18. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14,241
    Country:
    United States
    Last edited by Robz8, Aug 21, 2017
  19. the_muteKi

    the_muteKi Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    United States
    Sometimes I try to add a game to the launcher but the program hangs at the "Now caching banner data" line. Is this the result of a bad dump?
     
  20. Robz8

    OP Robz8 Coolest of TWL
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14,241
    Country:
    United States
    No. It depends on the flashcard.
     
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [Discontinued], TWLoader,

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.