Disc still asking for update?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Kayelle, Jan 20, 2009.

Jan 20, 2009
  1. Kayelle
    OP

    Newcomer Kayelle Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi guys,

    Need some help please!!

    I have a Wii (PAL) chipped with a Wiikeyv2. I have a backup of Animal Crossing I am trying to play and it asked for a system update. I was on 3.3E, but after researching decided to update to 3.4E (I'm not running any Homebrew). I did the update via the System settings, not through the game disc.

    However, when I put the game disc back in, it still asks for the system update. Does anyone know why this would be happening?? Shouldn't it recognise that the system firmware is up to date? What can I do about this so I can play the game?
     
  2. nutella

    Member nutella Low Glycemic Index

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,097
    Location:
    Your nearest supermarket
    Country:
    Australia
    You can update using the disc. Correct me if I'm wrong, you should only worry about that if you are running homebrew.
     
  3. Kayelle
    OP

    Newcomer Kayelle Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks for your reply [​IMG]

    So even though I've already updated the Wii to the latest firmware via the system menu, I should press update on the Disc Menu as well when prompted? Won't that just re download the same firmware?
     
  4. goodboy735

    Member goodboy735 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Northwest Somewhere, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Nope, it pulls the update from the disc [​IMG]
     
  5. Kayelle
    OP

    Newcomer Kayelle Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Australia
    Lol I know I'm being a bit paranoid, but I won't brick my Wii if I update off the disc will I?

    As far as I know, game is same region.
     
  6. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Yes, just update, paranoid. lol [​IMG]
     
  7. Ericthegreat

    Member Ericthegreat Not New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,768
    Location:
    Vana'diel
    Country:
    United States
    Don't take my word for this but as far as i know it just updates your wii with the wiispeak drivers but confirm this since idks
     
  8. Kayelle
    OP

    Newcomer Kayelle Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Australia
    Well just thought I should come and add that I did the update off the disc and it all works fine [​IMG]

    Thanks everyone for your advice, much appreciated!
     

Share This Page