darkfoxtokoyami

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hey guys,

Basically I'm a college student and I use my Wii mostly for playing Smash Bros Brawl. The issue is that because the Wii is moving around constantly, it's difficult to keep track of the wiimotes and keep fresh batteries in them. Is there a way (preferably without modchips) that my Wii can boot directly into a (legit) game disc?

I've poked around the forums and cIOS looks promising, but I could use someone to just point me in the right direction.

Thanks,
Dark Fox

FenrirWolf

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
What you can do is downgrade your Wii to version 3.2 and install an application called Starfall that patches your system menu with various hacks. Among those hacks are a patch to enable a recovery menu when you boot up the Wii while holding the Y button on your GCN controller, and another hack offered by the same app is one that will autoboot whatever Wii game is in your console while in this recovery menu. It also has an update blocking feature so games won't try to make you upgrade back to 3.4.

Anyway, in the end all you have to do is start up your Wii and hold Y on the GCN controller in the player 1 slot and then Brawl will boot itself up shortly thereafter.

I'd imagine Preloader can offer the same functionality, but I've never messed with that and so someone else would have to give you the details.

MicShadow

Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
There is the starfall hacks/special hacks (On AnyRegion Changer Mod 5) that allow games to be loaded while holding Y on startup. Perhaps look into that?

And also, Id like to see an automatic solution as well. A preloader feature maybe?

Also preloader could be set to autoload a dol, that autoloads a disc if present

Just search preloader and starfall for more info

Tichinde925

Marth Ditto Money Match?
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
United States
You can boot both Wii and Gamecube games without using a Wiimote.