Dios Mios Lite Troubles

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by MasonMan1118, Apr 24, 2014.

  1. MasonMan1118
    OP

    MasonMan1118 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Apr 24, 2014
    Ok so I have recently softmodded my wii...
    So im kind of a noob...
    But anyway if anyone could help me with a problem i have with dios mios lite

    First, i formatted my sd card to FAT32 at 64 Kilobyte cluster size

    And i had a backup of paper mario the thousand year door

    So i used DMToolbox to convert it or whatever

    And then put in the "games" folder on the root of my sd card

    Then when i open dios mios, the game doesnt show up...

    Someone plz help
    Thank You!:nayps3:
     
  2. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    17,680
    8,291
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    You can't open dios mios, it's not a program but a system file.
    you need to install dios mios lite in your console (it will replace the gamecube module to read backups from SD instead of discs).
    Then, you need to launch a game launcher, to select the game and put the console in gamecube mode.

    The gamecube mode will read from SD instead of disc.

    Compatible launchers:
    DIOS MIOS Booter
    CFG Loader
    Wiiflow
    USBLoaderGX
     
  3. MasonMan1118
    OP

    MasonMan1118 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Apr 24, 2014
    I have dios mios booter installed on my wii (Sorry if i wasn't clear enough)
    But when i boot it at the homebrew channel..
    The only thing that shows up in the games list is boot from disc drive..
    I have tried formatting the sd card to 32 kilobytes and then nothing even loads on the homebrew channel
    Also at any cluster size no gamecube games load in the usb loader
    What am i doing wrong?
     
  4. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    17,680
    8,291
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    verify your game path.
    It MUST be:

    /games/Whatever your want here/game.iso
    only the red part need to be edited for each games.

    and "game.iso" is not the game's title, but the 4 letters g+a+m+e

    example:

    /games/GZLP01/game.iso
    or
    /games/Zelda/game.iso
    or
    /games/Zelda [GZLP01]/game.iso
    (choose the one you prefer)

    /games/Mario/game.iso
    /games/Tales of Symphonia/game.iso
    /games/Tales of Symphonia/disc2.iso

    You DON'T need DMToolbox at all.
    just put your original iso on SD. don't convert/fix/compress/whatever
     
  5. MasonMan1118
    OP

    MasonMan1118 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Apr 24, 2014
    The games still arent showing up...

    Is it because i have an sdhc card other than an sd card?

    Im sorry to trouble you with all this questions but i really dont know what i did wrong....
     
  6. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    17,680
    8,291
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    SDHC are working.
    If you correctly named the files and folders, it should display in the loader.
    If it's not in the loader, there's an issue with filenames, or the settings (selected USB instead of SD, etc.)

    I don't know what else it can be.
    Maybe it's checking if you correctly installed DIOS MIOS Lite v2.10 and BC v6, try to reinstall both.
     
  7. MasonMan1118
    OP

    MasonMan1118 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Apr 24, 2014
    I got it to work....

    But is there a way to use a virtual memory card for lack of a better term...

    I don't have a memory card on me at the moment so can i just save without a memcard?

    Is there any way i could do that?

    Thanks!
     
  8. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    17,680
    8,291
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    Glad you got it to work. What was the problem?

    yes, it's the NMM setting (No More Memory). It will save the files directly to SD or USB, instead of using a real memory card or a memory card image.
    Though, it doesn't work with all games. you'll have to test, or check a compatibility list.
     
    Antonio Ricardo likes this.
  9. MasonMan1118
    OP

    MasonMan1118 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    0
    Apr 24, 2014
    Oh ok thanks...

    The problem was fixed after i renamed the iso to game