Difference between usb ports?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by nico445, Dec 22, 2009.

Dec 22, 2009

Difference between usb ports? by nico445 at 1:45 PM (1,488 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. nico445
    OP

    Member nico445 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    my house.
    Country:
    Netherlands
    So, i have a 500 Gb external harddrive with one nfts partition and a wbfs one. It works fine with usb loader gx in the left usb port.
    But now i also have a 4 GB usb stick for triiforce. I first did the 4gb one in my right usb port and triiforce mrc couldn't load it. I then plugged it in to the left port.
    and that worked but now i used the 500 gb one in the right and that wouldn't load too.
    what is the problem with those ports?...
     
  2. beegee7730

    Banned beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,693
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Most USB loaders are configured to only use port0 so that USB instruments etc. can be used in port1.
     
  3. naglaro00

    Member naglaro00 Mildly disturbed

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Pulse
    Country:
    Philippines
    The inner port doesn't work for homebrew i think

    ^that
     
  4. nico445
    OP

    Member nico445 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    my house.
    Country:
    Netherlands
    ok thanx for the answer [​IMG], If i put a usb hub in that one would that work?
     
  5. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is there a way to change the config so that the HDD can be used in either port?
     
  6. middeloni

    Newcomer middeloni Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I believe you can use both ports with cIOS 13 and lower, but you'll break USB support for other things.
     
  7. Vattu

    Member Vattu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    I'm quite sure they haven't implemented usb hubs yet.
     
  8. WiiShizzza

    Member WiiShizzza Graphics juggler

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Country:
    Germany
    there's an alternative version of hermes cios that'll allow you the other port. But I'm not sure if then both ports work with usb storage devices.

    What you can do is use hubs on port0 (the left port when in vertical stand) to use more then one usb devices.
     
  9. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Tried that with GX and Wiiflow but it doesn't pick up the HDD if its connected to a hub
     
  10. smf

    Member smf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    836
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hubs aren't supported, because it's hard.
    I'm not sure why it can't be told at runtime which port to use, but thats where we are.
     

Share This Page