Did the SCDSTWO Break My Memory Card?

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by portezbie, Jun 12, 2010.

Jun 12, 2010
  1. portezbie
    OP

    Member portezbie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    This is very strange I turned on my DS and when I go to start fish tycoon all i get is one black screen and one white screen. I took the flashcart out and removed the memory and connected it to my computer but it won't mount now. This is a brand new kingston card that I bought with the supercard. Did they sell me a bum card or did the flash cart break it somehow or is it something else? Thanks.

    I've tried different memory card readers and tried a different flashcart and a different memory card in the scdstwo. Everything else works fine, it is def something wrong with the memory card.
     


  2. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,308
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can you provide a photo of the microSD?
    You will probably have to enable macro mode on the camera, it's the little flower icon, a tulip I think.
     
  3. creativ

    Member creativ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    Germany
    don't know, but my kingston card break after a while too

    And after this, i bought from other manufacturer a card
     
  4. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmm ... I haven't had trouble with my Kingston, but did get a few 'corrupt files' on my old Sandisk MSD when using on the DSTwo.

    A format with the Panasonic formatter usually cleared the problem... but back to Kingston MSD, I believe that there are quite a few clone copies of these that are prone to failures...
    It's possible you may have one
     
  5. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    I think you got a dodgy µSD, so I'd ask for a refund if possible.
     
  6. portezbie
    OP

    Member portezbie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    I got the microsd card from shoptemp, I really figured that because they were affiliated with gbatemp they would be reliable....I guess not.

    I don't know how to take a picture of something so small or why I would need to, are you trying to see if I have a fake? The card does not appear damaged in any way.

    It says micro sd hc on the fron and a 4 in a circle(speed class?) beneath that it says 4gb and c04g Japan
    Below that it sys kingston sdc4/ 4gb 51 FCC
    on the other side it says M1SD4096MB ABA10102m1t

    However, the consensus is that this is probably something with the memory and the flashcart didn't damage it or anything right? I'd hate to put another memory card in there to have it busted again.
     
  7. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    Shoptemp is very much reliable. It says in your report that your Kingston is from Japan, which tells us it's not a fake/clone. Obviously, from what happens when you put your card in the computer, it's corrupted. I'm not sure what may have caused the corruption, but you can fix it with this tool:

    http://hddguru.com/content/en/software/200...vel-Format-Tool
     
  8. portezbie
    OP

    Member portezbie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    Just tried the tool you suggested, but it doesn't even recognize the memory as being connected to my pc. Thanks for the suggestion though.
     
  9. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    You could attempt putting it in a cell phone via adapter and formatting it through that.
     
  10. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    If a computer won't recognise it, a mobile phone will most likely not recognize it either. The issue here is NOT caused by card corruption, there's something different going on but I can't quite give it a name.
     
  11. portezbie
    OP

    Member portezbie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    so this is super bizarre. I had left the sd card in its adapter plugged into my computer while i was researching this and about 30 minutes later it all of a sudden pops open the window. Strange. So I unplug it and pop it back into my ds and still the same thing white and black screen. Pop it back out and back into my computer and nothing again. I figure I'll try leaving it plugged in for a while and sure enough after a while it starts working again. I figure it is some kind of bizarre corruption that makes it just register really slowly so I back up as much of it as I can(the _dstwo folder was corrupt) and then I format the card. I then replace the dstwo folder and all the other files. Plug it back into the ds and nothing again. Plug it back in to my computer and nothing again.

    WTF?

    I only did a quick format through windows, maybe I needed to do a full format or use that tool above mentioned? I dunno, this seems bizarre to me.
     
  12. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    Hmm... put your card back in again and format with the SD Formatter, then post results.
     
  13. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    Try using a different reader maybe? I know you said you already tried different ones, but you never know.
     
  14. portezbie
    OP

    Member portezbie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    I formatted it with the aforementioned SD Formatter. Full Format. Problem persists. I guess I am lucky that I was still able to get the data off of it and that the problem seems to be the memory and not the more expensive card. I just hope the flashcart isnt the culprit and that I dont get a new one and this happens again.
     
  15. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned Overlord Nadrian Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Location:
    Riviera
    Country:
    Belgium
    I'm not retarded, you know... I used to format with a digital camera before I heard of the SD Formatter, too. And the computer simply does not recognise it in this case, you think the computer is looking through all possibilities but it isn't, that's why it isn't recognising it.
     
  16. portezbie
    OP

    Member portezbie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    well it recognizes it eventually which is the strange part it just takes like 15 minutes to do it. Formatting didn't help and it is totally useless since it wont work in the flash cart. I just contacted shoptemp to see what they say.
     
  17. DeltaBurnt

    Member DeltaBurnt I'm bored

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3,353
    Location:
    Where intellect matters
    Country:
    United States
    Well then why did you say it's not a corruption problem if we hadn't gone through all the steps to insure it isn't a corruption problem. The computer doesn't recognize it because it can't pull the data from the SD card that verifies it as a sd card. When something goes in a computer's USB port the computer doesn't have a huge list of things it needs to recognize (well it has a default list but not in depth), that's why you have to install drivers when you get some sort of new accessory for your computer.

    At this point it's probably that the microsd card was damaged hardware wise, or it's the reader.

    @OP: How long have you had/used this microsd card? Do you have any others your can try on your DSTwo?
     
  18. exangel

    Member exangel executioner angel

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,574
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Country:
    United States
    I happen to have four readers, and I've used six, two of the six are completely broken after very little use. Of the four readers I still have, only two of them work *reliably* (probably 90% of the time) and the one I usually use is actually a msd>sd adapter that I use with an internal SD reader in my laptop. Several times I thought my 512 was permanently damaged because of the less-reliable or broken readers failing mid-write. It never actually was, but my newer 4gb msdhc was partially corrupted once and it was fixed by a full format (quick format had not fixed it) using SD Assoc. Formatter 3.0.
    And always use Safely Remove if removing the msd from the reader device in Windows, my boyfriend ignored doing that the first week he had his R4, and it led to problems that he hasn't had since I told him to always Safely Remove. You can get away with not using it once in a while, but if there is no R/W LED indicator on your reader to tell you for sure it's definitely not being written that second, it's dangerous.
     
  19. portezbie
    OP

    Member portezbie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United States
    I've tried the sd formatter with a full format and I've tried 3 different readers, 1 internal and two external. I've tried it with and without an microsd to sd adaptor. Really, nothing seems to work. I just tried another microsd card in my scds2 and it seems to work fine.
     
  20. nl255

    Member nl255 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,998
    Country:
    Try getting a Mepis or Knoppix live CD/DVD and formatting it from there using dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sdX (where X is the letter of the SD card, typically sdb or sdc depending on the number of hard drives you have) and then using fdisk to make a new partition (Windows does not support partitioning on removable storage like a SD card). I have found that Linux is much better than Windows at recognizing USB devices and unlike Windows does not have to install a seperate driver for each USB port (i.e. plug a memory stick in the top port in Windows and it has to go through the driver install, then plug it in the bottom port and it has to install the driver all over again). WARNING: do not use the wrong device (i.e. sda instead of sdb) or you will be wiping your main hard drive!
     

Share This Page