Devolution error

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by wiiztec, Feb 26, 2013.

Feb 26, 2013

Devolution error by wiiztec at 3:46 PM (4,636 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. wiiztec
    OP

    Member wiiztec GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    United States
    It says verbatim

    This app requires AHBPROT access!
    Please run it from HBC using the correct meta.xml file.
    Press START to exit

    I don't get why I wouldn't have the correct meta.xml file, I just downloaded devolution and I didn't make any changes
     


  2. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,406
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Then maybe you don't have the correct homebrew channel.
    you need:

    - Homebrew channel 1.0.7 or newer, using IOS58 (is it's not using IOS58 then you won't have USB2.0 access)
    - The meta.xml with the hardware access tag.

    in the /apps/gc_devo/ folder, you need:
    boot.dol
    icon.png
    meta.xml <--- the meta xml is a text file, and it needs the <ahb_access/> tag inside.
     
  3. wiiztec
    OP

    Member wiiztec GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    United States
    I have 1.0.8 and the meta.xml I have has the ahb access tag
     
  4. stfour

    Member stfour GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,592
    Country:
    Italy
    maybe you have not istalled ios58. What is your system menu version ?
     
  5. wiiztec
    OP

    Member wiiztec GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    United States
    4.2 & I just installed the latest IOS58 with no patches using multimod manager, still doesn't work
     
  6. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,406
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    press the home button when you are in the Homebrew channel to check which IOS it's currently using.
    If it's not using IOS58, reinstall the homebrew channel using Hackmii installer from the HBC, it will detect your new IOS58 and use it.


    If it's using IOS58 + correct meta.xml, then I don't know why it's telling you that you don't have AHBPROT patched.
    Try another version of Devolution (if you have), or try launching Devolution from another loader (Wiiflow, USBGX, etc.)
     
  7. wiiztec
    OP

    Member wiiztec GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    United States
    MY HBC is using IOS58 v24.32, I don't know what you mean by launching devolution from another loader, this is my first attempt at using devolution
     
  8. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,406
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    there are two methods to launch Devolution:

    1. From the official loader (the one you downloaded).
    You launch it and it displays the games on your SD/USB.
    It's a standalone version of Devolution.

    2. From Another USB loader (Wiiflow, Config loader, USB Loader GX, etc.)
    You install a file from Devolution in a specific folder used by the loaders, and these loaders will launch GameCube games instead of Devolution.
    The advantage is that you have a better graphical interface, that you use only one loader for everything, and that all these loaders share the same places for the ISO (which are different than the place used by the official version of Devolution's loader)


    The two methods works the same way, and they both require the <ahb_access/> (or the <no_ios_reload/>) tag in the meta.xml of the loader you are launching.
     
  9. wiiztec
    OP

    Member wiiztec GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    United States
    What file from devolution? and what folder in the case of configurable USB Loader? also does devolution rip GC discs? and will loading devolution from configurable USB Loader allow it to rip GC discs?
     
  10. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,406
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
  11. wiiztec
    OP

    Member wiiztec GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    United States
    I also need to add the <ahb_access/> tag into the meta.xml for configurable USB Loader right? should I just put it at the end?
     
  12. wiiztec
    OP

    Member wiiztec GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    United States
    It works from configurable, but how do I enable the memory card emulation?
     
  13. wiiztec
    OP

    Member wiiztec GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    United States
    It seems windwaker doesn't work, I ripped it and left the disc in to be verified but when I tried to load the disc drive seemed to start up for a couple seconds and then just nothing, no slot light either
     
  14. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,174
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Never used Devolution, but I'm pretty sure it asks for verification on game launch, not on game rip.
    (Game ripping is a CFG Loader feature, not a Devolution feature)
     
  15. wiiztec
    OP

    Member wiiztec GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    United States
    I tried running the game with the disc in for verification and it just black screens, anyways I checked my harddrive and the .dvv file is there so I guess it was verified, still doesn't work though

    So so far I've ripped super mario sunshine which works although I seemed to need to verify it twice, windwaker which doesn't work, and true crim streets of LA which works but seems to need to be reverified every time
     
  16. blaisedinsd

    Member blaisedinsd GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    946
    Country:
    United States
    I have heard devolution is picky about the .iso and the recommended method is to use cleanrip. I have heard people saying ripping through USB loader doesn't always work.

    However I ripped Windwaker with USB Loader GX and it works perfectly after verification.

    In USB Loader GX you just go to the loader options and set DEVO Memcard Emulation to ON. I think other loaders you have to set this on a game by game basis but I haven't tried.

    I think you have to be formatted to FAT32 as well.
     
  17. tbgtbg

    Member tbgtbg Shaking the ring ropes up in the sky

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,951
    Country:
    United States
    Wind Walker works just fine for me. Ripped it and play it with CFG v70modr51. After ripping I just launched it right away to get verification out of the way.

    Fat 32 drive w/64k sectors (works fine for Devo, but won't run DIOS MIOS)

    With CFG there is indeed an option in each game's setting to use NMM or not.
     
  18. wiiztec
    OP

    Member wiiztec GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    United States
    I set the option on but it didn't work for sunshine which it should
     
  19. wiiztec
    OP

    Member wiiztec GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    332
    Country:
    United States
    I reripped windwaker with cleanrip and renamed it and placed it where ripping it with configurable would have had it and when I tried to load it with devolution it sent me back to the hombrew channel. cleanrip didn't create the sys folder and it's contents like ripping with configurable did so Is that the issue? how do I create those files without ripping with configurable?
     
  20. kp_centi

    Member kp_centi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    United States
    Those extra folders like sys won't matter. Devolution(and DIOS MIOS also) works with just a game.ISO in the folder
     

Share This Page