Delete a downloaded update

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Pocketomosta, Jan 25, 2014.

  1. Pocketomosta
    OP

    Pocketomosta Newbie

    Newcomer
    3
    0
    Dec 6, 2013
    France
    Hello everyone. :)

    I have a 3DS XL with the firmware 4.4 and emunanded on 7.1, and i use Gateway.
    The problem is : when I turn on the 3DS XL, it often asks me to update the official nand based on 4.4 to the latest version (actually it's 7.1). I don't why it was download (perhaps, I didn't turn off the wi-fi connection before I switch on the console, or otherwise I turned on the wi-fi connection when I used a game).

    - Do you know why it was downloaded ?

    - Is there any solution to delete this official firmware downloaded ?
    Because whenever it asks me to do that, I have to push the B button, and I don't want to accidentally update the official nand to 7.1 (for example if I push the A button).

    - Do you know if the team Gateway will add a function to inhibit the downloading of the latest official firmware, and in the best case block the accident updating of official nand ?

    Thank you for your answers! ^_^
     
  2. YoshiInAVoid

    YoshiInAVoid GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Banned
    560
    337
    Jan 10, 2011
    Yes. Format system memory option in settings. This will delete the update downloaded.
     
  3. Abcdfv

    Abcdfv What comes around goes around.

    Member
    1,458
    592
    Dec 24, 2013
    United States
    I think that blocking the update auto-download isn't something Gateway is interested in doing just because of how borderline impossible it is. Besides that, you've already bought their card, what do they care if you accidently update and cant use it.
     
    Ammako likes this.
  4. tyons

    tyons GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    642
    97
    Jul 11, 2012
    Italy
    from their site:

    stop saying bullshit.
     
  5. Lunai

    Lunai Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    99
    12
    Dec 14, 2013
    United States

    They already said for the release of 2.0b2 that they failed to complete that feature, and that feature bricked their test unit many times.
     
    Yessy and Arras like this.
  6. kalimero

    kalimero Uncle Rupee

    Member
    211
    63
    Jun 28, 2006
    Gambia, The
    This isn't happening. There are several messages you have to accept before the update process begins. Pressing A on the message you get will not start it immediately.

    Three Solutions:

    1. Restore your NAND Backup (hardware mod required)
    http://gbatemp.net/threads/nand-flash-dump-3ds-xl.350668/

    2. Format your System (data loss)

    3. You can get rid of that message when you download a new update in standby mode and cut the internet connection on your router (don't try the 3DS wifi switch) before it finishes downloading. If you really want this to work you have to be sure (or pray) you don't have 7.1.0-15 downloaded already. And because the last two Updates are so small you have not much time to do this. I would set up a hot spot connection where I can see when the download begins to cut it as fast as possible (after 0,5-1MB). Maybe you can somehow cap your internet speed to gain more time.

    http://gbatemp.net/threads/remove-ready-to-start-system-update-at-the-boot.352948/#post-4742254
    http://gbatemp.net/threads/delete-already-downloaded-3ds-system-update.359062/#post-4856771

    To avoid this in the future, don't turn your wifi on and delete the wifi settings (both in FW 4.4).
     
    KineticSonata likes this.
  7. tyons

    tyons GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    642
    97
    Jul 11, 2012
    Italy
    that doesn't mean they aren't trying to make it.
     
  8. Abcdfv

    Abcdfv What comes around goes around.

    Member
    1,458
    592
    Dec 24, 2013
    United States
    They're talking about people accidently exiting EmuNAND when trying to upgrade EmuNAND versions and upgrading SysNAND instead. SysNAND still auto-downloads and pesters you to update.

    To stop SysNAND from checking for auto-updates would require editing of the firmware, which it seems only Smea can do because of the RSA locks on everything. And if you did the hardware mod to do NAND backups you can't even edit your backup to delete an already downloaded update, because it breaks the RSA on the NAND image
     
  9. tyons

    tyons GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    642
    97
    Jul 11, 2012
    Italy
    I didn't care about the details, I posted that because you said "what do they care if you accidently update and cant use it". they do care.