"database format error"

Discussion in 'EZ-Flash' started by DSGamer64, Jun 23, 2009.

Jun 23, 2009

"database format error" by DSGamer64 at 3:13 AM (1,997 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. DSGamer64
    OP

    Member DSGamer64 Canadian, Eh?

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,931
    Location:
    A cold cold place
    Country:
    Canada
    You don't use R4CCE with the EZARCODE file, the USRCHEAT.DAT file is the one that works with it. EZ Flash provides a cheat editor on their site for their own cheat file, if you are using the EZ Flash Vi you should be using the USRCHEAT.DAT file anyway, the other cards will work fine with the EZARCODE file though.
     
  2. GuyInDogSuit

    Member GuyInDogSuit I ain't your pa.

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062
    Location:
    Antelope, CA
    Country:
    United States
    I'm trying to manually add codes to the EZARCODE.DAT file, but R4CCE won't open it. I keep getting a message that says "database format error." Can someone help me?
     
  3. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    are you using EZV?
    is you are... you can use usrcheat.dat

    if you insist/need to use EZAR
    is pretty simple

    read the cheat section of http://ezflash.cn/faq.htm
    download the EZ5 code editor from software section

    download the XML from cheats.gbatemp.net or convert yout editted cheats from r4cce to .xml
    import XML via EZ5 code editor add your own codes (if required)
    and save

    bare in mind most of the black sigil codes from gbatemp.net
    doesn't work on ezv
     
  4. GuyInDogSuit

    Member GuyInDogSuit I ain't your pa.

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062
    Location:
    Antelope, CA
    Country:
    United States
    I downloaded the new cheat database, and the code window still won't come up. WTF?
     
  5. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    which game is that?
     
  6. GuyInDogSuit

    Member GuyInDogSuit I ain't your pa.

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062
    Location:
    Antelope, CA
    Country:
    United States
    For Black Sigil. Like I mentioned before, they worked with every other game, both the USRCHEAT and the EZARCODE dats. But I can't even SEE the codes for Black Sigil because it won't pop up.
     
  7. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    i just downloaded the latest 2.0 RC1
    placed the firmware into my microsd card

    download a fresh copy of usrcheat.dat from cheats.gbatemp.net
    replace the old cheat file in EZ5Shell
    switch on my DS
    choose black sigil
    then tap the yellow icon with 2 arrows
    i saw cheat is OFF then i switch it ON
    press Y
    the menu appears [​IMG]

    conclusion: nothing wrong with the usrcheat.dat from cheats.gbatemp.net
    can you use r4cce the ... function
    check the game ID
    is it the same as the one we have in database
     
  8. GuyInDogSuit

    Member GuyInDogSuit I ain't your pa.

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062
    Location:
    Antelope, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, it's the same one. Still doesn't work, though. Odd.
     
  9. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    which firmware are you using?

    a quick question do you have both usrcheat and ezarcheat in the EZ5shell folder?
     
  10. GuyInDogSuit

    Member GuyInDogSuit I ain't your pa.

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062
    Location:
    Antelope, CA
    Country:
    United States
    I'm using the 2.0 version released 6/11/2009. And I only have usrcheat in the CHT folder.... wait a second... are you saying it's supposed to be in a different folder now?

    What a pain this has been... I don't really need the cheats now, since I managed to finally make it out of Apogea Tower and go get some healing items....

    EDIT: /facepalm/ Yep, I moved the usrcheat file to the EZ5shell folder, and sure enough, there was one there, which I replaced, and tried the codes again, and now they're there.
     
  11. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    no problem
    glad your problem solved
     

Share This Page