Damn you vista

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by xcalibur, Jul 22, 2008.

Jul 22, 2008

Damn you vista by xcalibur at 9:47 PM (1,553 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. xcalibur
    OP

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So I got one issue which I can't seem to get around. I can't install the drivers or software for my graphics card. Each time I try, all it tells me is "Error! Can't initialize plug-ins directory. Please try again later."
    Anyone know anything about this?
     
  2. jumpman17

    Former Staff jumpman17 He's a semi-aquatic egg laying mammal of action!

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,972
    Country:
    United States
    Are the drivers Vista compatable?
     
  3. xcalibur
    OP

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The problem doesn't come from the drivers. They're not vista compatible to I went to the main site and downloaded the vista ones. I can't install it for some reason. Each time I attempt to, it gives me the above error.

    EDIT: The graphics card is an x1650 Pro
     
  4. martin88

    Member martin88 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    990
    Country:
    Canada
    Clean up your temp folder and try again.
     
  5. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
    I feel for you, man. Vista is like that pretty girl you've always wanted. Shes nice looking, sounds good and everybody loves her. But, in the end, she is nothing but a mean, pompous girl that doesn't care about you at all. See, sometimes you need to have the ugly nice girl.
     
  6. xcalibur
    OP

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did that and it didn't work.

    EDIT: I manually moved the tempfolder to somewhere else by changing it in the enviroment variables tab. That seems to have fixed my issue.
     
  7. cosmo2389

    Member cosmo2389 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    421
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    I agree with your points! Whereas XP was the nice girl that could handle nearly any situation, Vista is the hot girl that thinks she's above everyone else and wants to report all your doings to Microsoft (luckily that part was phased out before being officially released).
     
  8. Salamantis

    Member Salamantis GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,945
    Country:
    Canada
    Disregard...
     
  9. tomqman

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    kool il try them later im having the same problem
     
  10. xcalibur
    OP

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I didn't. I finally installed it and it tells me that my driver is incompatible.
    I'm going to try out omega now.
    EDIT: There are no ATI omega drivers for vista :/
     
  11. tomqman

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yer [​IMG] looks like me and you are in the same boat.
    i search for days trying to get vista to work with my x1650 and just gave up and went back to xp
    let me know if you find anything
     
  12. xcalibur
    OP

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You never managed to get it to work [​IMG] ?
    Damn, I'm already downloading XP.
     
  13. Salamantis

    Member Salamantis GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,945
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, why did you even bother with Vista lol
     
  14. tomqman

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the most i found out was that it could be a problem with my motherboard
     
  15. xcalibur
    OP

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Back to XP it is then...
     
  16. tomqman

    Member tomqman This Is Everyone's Fault But Mine.

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Isle Of Wight
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well we could try the omega xp drivers on vista(im not a home so i cant at the mo)
     

Share This Page