D-link DI524 Hardware: ver B4 ?

Discussion in 'NDS - Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection' started by OSW, Jun 26, 2007.

Jun 26, 2007

D-link DI524 Hardware: ver B4 ? by OSW at 11:26 AM (1,366 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. OSW
    OP

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    My friend is offering his D-link DI524 for sale to me at a fairly cheap price.

    If i buy it it will be primarily used for connecting my DS.

    now herin lies the problem. On nintendos compatability list it states that the Hardware version A doesn't work, wheras the revision version C1 has a good rating.


    Annoyingly it doesn't rate the HW revision B4!!! [​IMG]

    I've had problems googling up the info, so i turned here. Might anyone know whether B4 will work or if they have one and know for sure?


    If anyone can help i will be especially grateful! :'(
     
  2. shaunj66

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a DI524 rev B4 and it works just fine with the DS and Wii no problem.

    The only complaint I have is that the range of the signal isn't brilliant. It's still a nice little device though.
     
  3. OSW
    OP

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    sweet shaun

    you helped me good, one of many times [​IMG]

    soon i will be able to join in with gbatemp wifi nights [​IMG]
     
  4. H8TR

    Member H8TR GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    796
    Location:
    t-Dot
    Country:
    Canada
    I also have a DI-524 but not Revision B4, I have Rev. C
     
  5. OSW
    OP

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    I see. Ok i bought it. [​IMG]

    It worked awesome..... for all official game wifi.

    for homebrew, i've tested; ircDS, DSliveweather, DSamp and DSOrganise and ONLY DSOrganise's irc function works beautifully.

    however i did also run the Wifi lib Test from my DS and i believe i remember it connecting the first 1 or 2 times i used it (unless my mind is playing tricks on me). but now, i can't make any connection.

    Might anyone be able to suggest a solution or especially if shaunj66 or H8TR or someone else with the same router could give any general tips on how their setup is configured.

    It would be greatly appreciated :'(

    EDIT: working fine now, see other topic of mine if interested.
     
  6. lanleague

    Member lanleague GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    United States
    I have Rev A and it works fine, given you're using WEP security. (Not really security at all if you ask me)
     
  7. Lazycus

    Member Lazycus Rotten

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Messages:
    871
    Country:
    United States
    I have an A2 and it works perfect for DS and Wii. I hope you didn't pay too much to your 'friend', over $10 would be a rip-off (IMHO).
     
  8. OSW
    OP

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    well, i got it for $20 (Australian) so i think it was an ok deal.

    i can second that the range is dodgy [​IMG]
     

Share This Page