1. Minox

    OP Minox Thanks for the fish
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    6,740
    Country:
    Japan
    CycloDS Evolution/iEvolution Firmware v2.2
    Update
    [​IMG]
    Team Cyclops has just released new firmwares for both their old CycloDS Evolution and their new CycloDS iEvolution flashcarts. This update aims at fixing µSD stability issues for the new iEvolution and also game compatibility issues for a number of games which can be seen in the changelog below.[/p]
     
  2. Mbmax

    Mbmax Homebrew addicted
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,274
    Country:
    Very good !

    Thanks for the heads up. [​IMG]
     
  3. altorn

    altorn GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    973
    Country:
    Canada
    so this fixes the "NO EXP" problems with Pokemon Black (E) dont it?
     
  4. RupeeClock

    RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,411
    Country:
    Is that so?
    ...Better give it a try then, just in case.
     
  5. spectral

    spectral Newbie

    Nope
     
  6. RupeeClock

    RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,411
    Country:
    After installing this update, now commercial roms just won't boot.
    This thing is a real pain, you know that? A hassle to set up, a flimsy build, games freezing in DSi or DS Lite mode, and not being able to boot games.
    I had the same problem when I first installed the firmware, then it went away and I don't know why...
     
  7. Qtis

    Qtis Grey Knight Inquisitor
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,818
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I don't have that problem, all games (inc. the ones that used to freeze on v2.1) work. Try reupdating?


    -Qtis

    EDIT: Gariscus posted just what I was about to add to this post...
     
  8. Gariscus

    Gariscus Former Team Cyclops Mod
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    The first game you launch after a firmware update takes longer than usual(it can take up to 30 seconds). Perhaps if you wait a bit longer the game or games will launch. [​IMG]
    By the way this update is meant to fix the "games freezing in DS lite mode problem"(I don't know about DSi mode, but as it's in beta it's not surpising that there are problems).
     
  9. RupeeClock

    RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,411
    Country:
    It was actually more like 90 seconds, that's pretty bad.
    They really aught to give a warning that a first boot after firmware updates can take so long.

    Anyway, it does look like the freezing problem has been resolved, that's good news.

    Oh by the way, there's already an AP-fix for EU Black/White.
     
  10. Qtis

    Qtis Grey Knight Inquisitor
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,818
    Country:
    Antarctica
    -Qtis

    ps. Isn't the AP fix only for the no-EXP?
     
  11. RupeeClock

    RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,411
    Country:
    I shouldn't have to check a third party, that information should be present on this news post, the readme file, or on the official website.
    It wasn't.
     
  12. GH0ST

    GH0ST Your Hero is a Ghost
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    924
    Country:
    France
    RupeeClock I think it is related to the microSD, fragmentation perhaps or somehow corruption in the fat table...I've got this one time with an older firmware update but right now from a clean card my iEvolution updates straight in few seconds and I see no waiting time after that.

    All freezes are gone on games I reported before also.
     
  13. impizkit

    impizkit Lazy Lurker
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    943
    Country:
    This is exactly what the issue is. I believe the size and speed of the MicroSD can play a part as well. I run a Sandisk Mobile Ultra Class 6 8GB card and the update is relatively fast and the first game loads quick as well. Maybe a few seconds longer than normal, but nothing to worry or complain about. I think GHOST has the more likely reason, but I can see where you can be concerned. This has been the case for as long as I can remember and I have been an active CycloDS user and forum member since early in the CycloDS lifecycle.
     
  14. Rayder

    Rayder Mostly lurking lately....
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,609
    Country:
    United States
    You know, I've seen the slightly longer load time on first boot of a game upon updating the firmware, but for me it's only like a couple seconds longer. The longest I've ever had to wait was maybe as high as 10 seconds, as opposed to the normal 1 to 3 seconds.

    My SD is a Sandisk 16GB Class 2 (although by my tests, it rates at Class 4) and I have it nearly full too......only about 2GB free space left.

    Are you sure you guys aren't exaggerating the time it took to boot? 90 seconds is way too long to wait. I could write a couple of gigs of data to the card in all that time.
     
  15. RupeeClock

    RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,411
    Country:
    I'm really not exaggerating, it felt longer than a whole minute for the "silent" firmware update to take place.
    I'm not using a high-grade microSD, it's only a spare 4gb Class 4 Kingston, formatted with Panasonic SD formatter.
     
  16. RoMee

    RoMee ??
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,316
    Country:
    United States
    The first game I launch on the iEVO took 2-3 minutes to load, but after that it was fast
    I was using 8gb class 6 card, game was castlevania POR
     
  17. GH0ST

    GH0ST Your Hero is a Ghost
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    924
    Country:
    France
    I used a 4Go card . I've just tested it again with an empty 2Go card and it goes even quicker. It goes faster if the game save is already there too.

    The last time I had a long launch time the card structure was wrong or even messed after using the evil beta3 panasonic formater ( Testdisk reported something about wrong cylinders... as far as I remember I had to low format the card with a compliant device.)

    Speed could be related perhaps to free empty space too. First sectors are faster even on a microSD card... obviously something related to fat32 structure.

    edit
    : http://wiki.laptop.org/go/How_to_Damage_a_..._Storage_Device

     
  18. Gariscus

    Gariscus Former Team Cyclops Mod
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Country:
    The most it's ever taken for me is 10 seconds. This was with a save file created however and not with a problematic game like POR.
     
  19. miketh2005

    miketh2005 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    437
    Country:
    United States
    There wasn't even a freezing problem [​IMG] You were just too impatient to wait xD
     
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - iEvolution, Evolution, Firmware