Custom Game Icons Request?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Sora de Eclaune, Feb 24, 2011.

Feb 24, 2011
  1. Sora de Eclaune
    OP

    Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,785
    Location:
    123 Fake Street
    Country:
    United States
    Is it alright if I request a few custom game icons for some of my games? I only wish for a few.

    1. Plants vs Zombies - Either the background could be changed to grass on the official icon, or the icon could be a zombie head on a background of grass.
    2. Dragon's Lair - The background should be erased or replaced with something of your choosing and Dirk should be a bit less pixelated.

    Thank you in advance. I hope this is not too much of a request, and I hope this kind of topic is allowed and in the correct place.
     
  2. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    There's a PvZ Icon with the black background removed, I'll try to find it or I'll make one. And I'll see what I can do on the Dragon's Lair icon.
    PvZ icon topic is here: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=275387

    This should probably be asked in the Acekard forum, simply because Wood is closer to AceKard/AKAIO than it is the R4 stuff. You'd probably get a faster/better response there for things like this (issues with Wood should still be kept here).
     
  3. Sora de Eclaune
    OP

    Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,785
    Location:
    123 Fake Street
    Country:
    United States
    Then this next thing may be an issue with Wood.

    I have saved a few 32x32 BMPs for custom icons, but when I look at the icons on the DS, they are distorted and are shown as glitches. I have looked up how to fix this, but 16 color makes all the colors turn strange, so I will not save them as such. What should I do?
     
  4. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Start off with 16bit color.
    Changing from 32bit to 16 causes the palette to shrink giving you less colors which means some need to be changed.
     
  5. Sora de Eclaune
    OP

    Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,785
    Location:
    123 Fake Street
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, I did that and the BMPs are still shown as glitches. The BMPs that I downloaded from an acekard custom icon thread work just fine, though.

    Even though they are in 16 color, also, they still glitch up when I try to resave them as 16 color images in paint.

    Edit) They also end up being 1kb when the working BMPs are 3kb.
     
  6. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Paint as in what comes with Windows? Don't use that...
    Grab either Paint.net or The GIMP.


    Anyway... Here's the Dragon's Lair icon: http://www.mediafire.com/?bav6hyu9nszcjos
    Fixed his hat (now has the 'rim' along the bottom) and backpack (not just one blob) and cleaned up his arms, shoulders and sword. It's not perfect, but I think it's a bit better.
     
  7. Sora de Eclaune
    OP

    Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,785
    Location:
    123 Fake Street
    Country:
    United States
    A good friend of mine fixed the images in Photoshop, but they still did not work so I attempted to resave them in MS Paint to see if it would fix them.

    Edit) The icon you made works perfectly! Thank you!
     
  8. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Photoshop likes to save in 32bit BMPs (there's an option after you choose the filename for 8bit/16bit/32bit) and I don't think MS Paint can set the bit depth at all.
     
  9. Sausage Head

    Banned Sausage Head Lord Sausage LXIX

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    alanjohn check ur pm
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I found those bad icons annoying, but I never thought of replacing them.
    Smart idea, man.
     
  10. Sora de Eclaune
    OP

    Member Sora de Eclaune Baby squirrel, you's a sexy motherfucker.

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,785
    Location:
    123 Fake Street
    Country:
    United States
    I know about that, but my friend actually did save it with the right bits.. or so she claims.... I just don't understand why they still don't work...
     

Share This Page