Cursed be thy DM + Usbloader GX with GCN backups

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by mkm, Nov 21, 2013.

  1. mkm
    OP

    mkm Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Nov 21, 2013
    Hi guys,

    I've already spent 6hours+ and several guides trying to get my gamecube backups working and I cannot get past a black screen of death :wacko:

    Basically:

    cios installed with d2x v8 final on slots 249/250/251

    usbloader gx forwarder channel installed with 3.0 latest website revision (this version sucks for gc)

    usbloader gx 3 (r1180) installed on homebrew channel which allows some DM settings and gamecube backups from HDD (partition fat32 32k )

    Funnily enough when I install DMLite and run usbloader gx either rev I get incorrect cfg version bla bla and hangs with a dios mios boot screen

    Now when I go into dios mios booter and try loading the file which was copied onto SD it actually passes the boot screen and manages to boot the game.

    Which is great if I wanna play off of a SD card, however i'd really love to be playing off a HDD via DM 2.10 + usb loader gx rev 1180 (which allows me to set DM video mode, and few other settings which i've played with and always return the same result…. that is a black screen which doesn't even show a DM boot flash screen)

    My head kills and i'm outta ideas, DM wads were installed with WAD manager 1.7, switching through older and newer versions including DM/DML but I just cannot load from HDD

    I've forced video mode in USBLGX to auto/disc/pal nothing works on any game (okay i didn't test all 60 gamecube backups but you get my drift, it was tested with zelda wind waker and super smash bros)


    So to recap, I'm trying to play gamecube backups via DM 2.10 + Usb loader gx R1180 (tried cfg loader too but same problem) I only ever get as far as a BLACK screen of death :unsure:

    Help please, i'm really out of ideas
     


  2. xitalisk

    xitalisk Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    56
    5
    Nov 16, 2013
    you have to force the appropriate screen type such as force ntfs i have/had same problem i use cfg loader 70.65 i think the latest dm mod anyway hope this helps 99% of mine were force ntfs not sure if its a disc thing or not newer revisions handle this automatically so i was a bit concerned wen a couple of my wii games didnt boot (i have a few imports) hope this helps allso i dont think all games support EMM

    only just wbfs to fat and load GC today but all works fine

    i want to have my mii channel show up in my games flow in cfg but cant find any answers with my searches only coming up with loader channels gahh so yeah sometimes its impossible to find your own solution

    ALLSO dios mios light only boots from SD you need dios mios if you want to boot from HDD



    http://uploaded.net/file/8yasogxj

    this is the guide i used i was using latest rev of cfg usb loader then downgraded tocfg 70 r65 the one in this tut, the forwarder mentioned in this guide as forw didnt work i used this one USBLoaderCFG - UCXF - IOS58 v6
     
  3. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,042
    8,561
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    That's because revision 1180 works only with DML (SD card) up to version 2.1
    If you install DML 2.2 or newer, or DM (USB version), you need to update USBLoaderGX to a beta version to support the new "Config version". (it's called beta, but it's stable, it's only because it's not released officially yet).

    Not possible with rev1180. like stated above, you need to use a beta version and update it manually (replace the boot.dol on your SD card).

    You can find latest version of USBLoaderGX here :
    https://www.mediafire.com/folder/t2x95zd9rz3rc/USBLoaderGX
    Go into USBGX 3.0+
    Download the latest revision (at the bottom of the page)
    open the archive with 7zip (or anything else), go into /IOS249/ folder and you will find a file named "boot.dol"
    Copy this boot.dol (and only this file, you don't need anything else from that package) into your SD:/apps/usbloader_gx/ folder and replace the existing one.

    This version will work with DM/DML 2.10
     
  4. duffmmann

    duffmmann GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,632
    1,477
    Mar 11, 2009
    United States
    If you have everything properly set up, then the issue may be your HDD. My original HDD was a Seagate GoFlex USB 3.0 (but backwards compatible with USB 2.0), the HDD worked fine for all other homebrew and Wii backup loading, but GC through Dios Mios always gave a black screen and no splash screen. I looked into it and found a different cable I could buy for the HDD that would make it stricty compatible with USB 2.0 and not connect to USB 3.0 devices. On a whim I bought it (for $20 or so), to my surprise, this made all the difference and it worked brilliantly. I later upgraded to an HDD with more storage, and this one was similar to the original cable being compatible with 3.0 and 2.0, yet this HDD worked fine from the start. You wont hear many people talking about it, but there are HDD (or at least HDD cables) that are not compatible with Dios Mios. If you can test on another HDD/cable.
     
  5. xitalisk

    xitalisk Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    56
    5
    Nov 16, 2013
    i have a segate 500GB backup plus with a usb3/usb2 cable and no issues doesnt seem like a legit issue id say your old cable was just damaged
     
  6. duffmmann

    duffmmann GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,632
    1,477
    Mar 11, 2009
    United States

    Sorry, you're wrong.

    Not all seagates have this issue. The GoFlex 1TB model from I believe 2010 had this issue. I've actually helped 3 others with the same exact model and they had the same problem online, when they got the new cable, sure enough it worked. It wasn't an issue with the hdd or cable being damaged, as it worked fine for everything else. This is just an unfortunate issue that only affects very specific models of HDDs, you were fortunate to have a model that didn't have this issue. In fact my friend had a different Seagate with a similar cable as the 3.0 one that I had. Tried that cable in my HDD and the issue still persisted. For whatever reason, that model of Seagate HDD mixed with a usb 3.0/2.0 cable just yields no working results.
     
  7. xitalisk

    xitalisk Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    56
    5
    Nov 16, 2013
    because the cables were all damaged its called a coincidence

    USB 3.0 cables facilitate the faster transfer rates of 4.8Gbps as well as the additional power transfer of 900 mA by doubling the amount of wires within the cable from 4 in the 2.0 cables to 8 in the 3.0 cables. USB 2.0 cables transfer data at 480 Mbps and provide power up to 500 mA.
    USB 3.0 cables also have different connectors (typically blue on the inside) alongside the 2.0 counterpart connectors. This means that any device that uses the different connectors cannot use the 2.0 equivalent cables. In addition while the 2.0 B connectors physically fit into the 3.0 B ports the different wiring configuration does not allow proper data transfer. The A connectors still work properly so any 2.0 device with a 2.0 cable can be used with 3.0 ports or hubs.
     
  8. mkm
    OP

    mkm Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Nov 21, 2013

    Okay I went ahead and replaced R1180 with R1218 [249], loaded home-brew channel and while selecting USBLGX it still actually says 1180 but when you launch USBLGX I have different options in the settings so it must be the newer R1218 (also in the credits page it actually now shows I have DM 2.10 installed, it never used to show that before)

    Still having the same issue though, black screen, no DM flash screen either.

    Not sure where to go from here :(
     
  9. xitalisk

    xitalisk Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    56
    5
    Nov 16, 2013

    try a different loader i got put off usb loader gx wen i first modded my wii the only thing i thank it for is the fact that it is the reason i solved my covers not showing issue well more patched it the reason i got put off is it just stopped working after i tried wiiflow you see covers that i downloaded through the loader gx wouldn't show usb loader gx would give me an error saying the file wasn't divisible by 4 so i tried wiiflow and they just showed up black i later realized this was a image resolution size issue so i have to manually re size all my covers to
    full 960x680
    disc 160x180
    3d 180x260
    2d 180x260
    otherwise they wont display.

    after i tried usb loader gx wiiflow and cfg usb loader i stayed with cfg it just runs allot cleaner no need to refresh cache better options better compatibility its just all round the best of the 3 its a shame tho because the other 2 also look quite nice

    so
    u see ur so called fix would actually cause further hdd degradation :teach:
     
  10. mkm
    OP

    mkm Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Nov 21, 2013

    Yeah I tried CFG loader too but exact same problem as USBLGX, black screen and not even a flash screen, believe the CFG is R70

    I don't think the cabling is an issue, it's a 2.5" sata II drive which is inside an astone usb3.0/2.0 enclosure, it's a brand new enclosure so I don't think the cable is the issue. The drive is actually from my MBP 2009 which i upgraded to an SSD in my laptop and then used the 320gb drive for the wiihdd.

    I have not tried wiiflow at all, but I can't boot gamecube from USBLGX or CFG or DM BOOTER

    I've tried force NTSC480 and NTSC and same problem with black screen.

    The only thing I haven't tried that I can think of is having a gamecube disc inside the WII but with DM 2.2+ I didn't think you had to?

    The only way i've managed to load gamecube backup is from DMLITE 2.10 + DM BOOTER via SD CARD.

    DM should allow both SD and USB but actually only DML lets me boot via SD in DM BOOTER, strangely enough not even USBLGX lets me do it (something about incorrect cfg version)


    But that isn't what I want to do anyway, I want to run straight off a HDD not SD each time.

    I'm still using d2x v8 final, b56, I have not tried d2x 10 but i dunno what else to try.
     
  11. mkm
    OP

    mkm Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Nov 21, 2013
    Oh and just a side note, I read in a few threads about some slot 236 when installing mios. I never actually got that option, for example load up WAD manager 1.7 and you choose 249 as cios (no 236 available option) so i'm assuming that the WAD manager injects into slot 236 the mios using cios249 as the base but doesn't actually let you pick the installation slot.

    If i'm way off on the above just let me know because that might be what i'm doing wrong?
     
  12. xitalisk

    xitalisk Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    56
    5
    Nov 16, 2013
    what cluster size did you select wen formatting hard drive i assume its fat32 if so that might be the case is you need to reformat and choose 64k or 32k

    i installed

    ios236,

    d2xcsiov3.1
    56-249,
    57-250,

    hermes v4 to ios236

    ios222 - ios38 / 37,
    ios223 - ios38,
    i0s202 - ios38 / 60,

    zelda wad fix

    IOS245[37]-v7.wad
    IOS246[38]-v7.wad
    IOS247[53]-v7.wad
    IOS248[55]-v7.wad
    IOS249[56]-v7.wad
    IOS250[57]-v7.wad
    IOS251[58]-v7.wad

    and then dios mios and it works fine for me[​IMG]

    i wish i could be more help i only started using dios mios today try looking at your log files might find a clue in there


    as for installing dios mios follow the video and download the official release http://uploaded.net/file/8yasogxj that is what i did and have had no issues
     
  13. mkm
    OP

    mkm Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Nov 21, 2013
    Actually I made a pretty stupid mistake but it still didn't fix anything.

    IOS236 Installer v6 now installed

    IOS222/223 installed

    Still same black screen of death.

    Checking video now to see if I can try anything else
     
  14. mkm
    OP

    mkm Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Nov 21, 2013
    DIOSMIOS_v2.10.wad and RVL-BC-v6.wad installed, (never had that BC v6 wad installed)

    But hey, guess what :rofl2: it game me …….

    …...


    …..


    A black screen of death :yay: I'm actually so frustrated it's becoming funny.
     
  15. GBA rocks

    GBA rocks GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    360
    95
    Jan 4, 2013

    Doesn't matter if it's "new". Maybe the cable is too long, or you're using an extension, or the drive is too slow.
    Try other cables, enclosures, hard disks. That's the first thing to try.

    Here are my findings on the subject.
     
  16. xitalisk

    xitalisk Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    56
    5
    Nov 16, 2013
    yeah im bangen my head against a wall trying to boot metroid other m at the monment
     
  17. xitalisk

    xitalisk Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    56
    5
    Nov 16, 2013
    yeah id suggest trying to find your answer on a different site this site helped me with my covers http://www.tortuga-cove.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=3120 ive noticed there are allot of people here but most are clueless i mean the only person that had a real stab at helping you was me and i had only been using dios mios for about i dont know 3 hours before i started chiming in on this thread
     
  18. xitalisk

    xitalisk Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    56
    5
    Nov 16, 2013
    all the mod did was list revisions and duffman chose your thread to prove he is a moron lol that is gbatemp allot of people no smarts
     
  19. xitalisk

    xitalisk Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    56
    5
    Nov 16, 2013
    n
    ot to mention 80% of tuts and info on this site are WRONG id double check every tut u follow from here utube is your friend for this kind of thing
     
  20. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    18,042
    8,561
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    Can you please stop posting multiple times in all the threads you go? I'm always merging yours posts (with usually a single sentence each) to a single post.
    There's a EDIT button, please use it if nobody posted after you.
    Thanks.