Current Best Card for DSlite

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by mrmilkman, Aug 21, 2009.

Aug 21, 2009

Current Best Card for DSlite by mrmilkman at 2:58 AM (2,662 Views / 0 Likes) 35 replies

  1. mrmilkman
    OP

    Newcomer mrmilkman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Hi all! Firstly I'm completely new with all this, so please excuse my noobnes...I've been reading through many of the reviews... so many choices! many of the cards seem pretty great, but I just don't know what one to choose!
    I want to be able to run homebrew, GBA roms, NEO-GEO and other emus (SNES NES SEGA etc) and play media files...
    So I'm wondering which card to get, the best card at the best value.

    Thanks all!
     


  2. benjaminlibl

    Member benjaminlibl Funky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    789
    Location:
    Singapore
    Country:
    Singapore
    Actually, if that's all you wanna do, DSTT is enough for you.
     
  3. KingdomBlade

    Member KingdomBlade Blade v3+ (I R SHMEXY)

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,941
    Location:
    In Vulpes' Fur
    Country:
    Philippines
    DSTT is the most basic, yes. But not the best.

    Cyclo DS- For extra features
    M3 Real- For Media
    Acekard 2.1- For Gaming and homebrew.
     
  4. dreamcast

    Newcomer dreamcast Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    only thing wrong with the dstt is that half the online store sell fakes, other than that, there great cards for like 5 bucks, i personally have 2 dstt's 3 r4s and one acekard i, and really, the dstt isnt that bad.
     
  5. Teelow

    Member Teelow GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    United States
    a supercard >,>
     
  6. KingdomBlade

    Member KingdomBlade Blade v3+ (I R SHMEXY)

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,941
    Location:
    In Vulpes' Fur
    Country:
    Philippines
    Yes, but he was reffering to the best with the best value. SO, if you really wan't it cheap, TTDS, but it would be a LOT better to scrape up 5 more bucks to buy an Acekard. Trust me, it's completely worth it.

    EDIT: The Supercard specializes in special features but it has an outdated GUI and is slow.
     
  7. benjaminlibl

    Member benjaminlibl Funky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    789
    Location:
    Singapore
    Country:
    Singapore
    I made no indication that I thought it was the best. He didn't mention real time save, real time cheats or anything of the kind, so I assumed he's not looking for those fancy features. He can use Moonshell 2 as the default firmware for media.

    Unfortunately, a lot of homebrew doesn't work on DSTT.
     
  8. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,076
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you want to play GBA ROMs then it will have to be a slot-2 card so that rules out any Cyclos, Acekards and DSTTs.
     
  9. KingdomBlade

    Member KingdomBlade Blade v3+ (I R SHMEXY)

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,941
    Location:
    In Vulpes' Fur
    Country:
    Philippines
    That sound sarcastic. I forgot to mention buy a slot 2 card (EZ Flash 3 in 1 is the best and most popular.)
     
  10. benjaminlibl

    Member benjaminlibl Funky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    789
    Location:
    Singapore
    Country:
    Singapore
    No, you can use the GBA ExpLoader with DSTT. I'm not sure if you're being sarcastic or whatever.
     
  11. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,076
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Didn't mean to sound sarcastic. I was just a little puzzled why no one had pointed out the GBA/slot-2 thing.
     
  12. KingdomBlade

    Member KingdomBlade Blade v3+ (I R SHMEXY)

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,941
    Location:
    In Vulpes' Fur
    Country:
    Philippines
    He was talking about the fact no one had suggested a slot-2 card.
     
  13. mercluke

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    with the compatibilty of ds roms being almost 100% on most cards, the "best" card is now a matter of prefernce

    m3's official firmware is kinda sluggish but sakura is quite stylish
    scds1 has a sluggish gui too ( not as slow as it once was)
    acekard 2's official menu is pretty meh although akaio is a great alternative with extremely good support
    ttds is pretty much dead
    stay away from anything with r4 in the name
    DS-X is dead (except in p1ngpong's heart)
    cyclo is great although there's no dsi variant
    ezv is kinda meh..
     
  14. mrmilkman
    OP

    Newcomer mrmilkman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Antarctica
    LOL awesome responses, I go away after posting for a quickie [​IMG] and I come back with 13 informative replies, thanks guys!

    So real time saves aren't standard on many cards?

    And you HAVE to have a slot-2 card for GBA ROMS? I thought there'd be some kind of emulator software by now so that slot-1 would be fine?

    So I'm going to have to buy 2 cards? From your responses I'm looking at the ES Flash 3 in 1 for GBA gaming and I'm thinking Acekard 2.1 for gaming and homebrew.... i can still play music files through homebrew right?
    Oh and something I just thought of, is there much support for movie file playback?

    Thanks all!
     
  15. KingdomBlade

    Member KingdomBlade Blade v3+ (I R SHMEXY)

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,941
    Location:
    In Vulpes' Fur
    Country:
    Philippines
    Acekard supports music from the firmware. What it can't support is Movies. GO for moonshell if you wan't that.
     
  16. benjaminlibl

    Member benjaminlibl Funky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    789
    Location:
    Singapore
    Country:
    Singapore
    No, RTS isn't standard. AK2i does not have RTS either. So I'm not sure whether you wanna get it or not.

    You will HAVE to have 2 carts, no matter what. One for slot-1, and expansion for slot-2.

    It seems the music plugin will be removed in the next AKAIO release. So..
     
  17. KingdomBlade

    Member KingdomBlade Blade v3+ (I R SHMEXY)

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,941
    Location:
    In Vulpes' Fur
    Country:
    Philippines
    So... leave Moonshell or LMP-NG on your card. Does it mattter?
     
  18. mercluke

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    moonshell handles music anyway so don't worry about akaio not supporting it...

    supercard, ezvi and m3 all have pretty buggy in game features (cheat, RTS, guide) but cyclo's rts is quite good (never let me down when i had it)
    akaio has great compatibility although it doesn't and won't ever support RTS and in game guides, this is not much of a problem as you vcan just use standard saving anyway...
     
  19. KingdomBlade

    Member KingdomBlade Blade v3+ (I R SHMEXY)

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,941
    Location:
    In Vulpes' Fur
    Country:
    Philippines
    Or for the guides, you can just soft-reset and open the text.
     
  20. mrmilkman
    OP

    Newcomer mrmilkman Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Antarctica
    so basically they are all kinda..."meh.."?
     

Share This Page