Culdcept DS [open translation]

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by theli, Mar 30, 2009.

Mar 30, 2009

Culdcept DS [open translation] by theli at 1:34 PM (123,730 Views / 1 Likes) 467 replies

  1. theli
    OP

    Member theli GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Game name
    Culdcept DS or ??????DS

    [​IMG]
    Game info
     
    Margen67 likes this.


  2. Sasha77

    Newcomer Sasha77 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    France
    I am considering asking for help in this forum.

    http://www.culdceptsaga.com/forum

    But as it seems to be an official site, i wonder if it is a good idea, as the DS translation project is not official.
    I'd rather avoid troubles.
     
  3. UScr00ge

    Newcomer UScr00ge Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    United States
    Wow. Been following the other thread for months, and I'm glad to see you guys have come this far.
     
  4. nIxx

    Member nIxx GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,459
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    Really nice thank you [​IMG]
     
  5. theli
    OP

    Member theli GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    Ukraine
    you can also try here
    http://culdcept.proboards.com/
     
  6. Sasha77

    Newcomer Sasha77 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    France
    I asked some help for menu translation on these forums.
     
  7. UScr00ge

    Newcomer UScr00ge Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    United States
    Finally got around to sit down with the game and try this patch for an hour or so. First of all, it's fantastic even at this early stage. It makes the game far more playable to have the card descriptions right there. Had a couple of questions.

    1) Is there a way that this patch would have broken Holy Word 1 and Holy Word 6? I was on the 3rd single player map and I couldn't force the computer to have a diceroll of 1 or 6 with those spells. Might have been something weird about that particular map having additional rules or something.

    2) The upgrading land menu is kinda broken. The last choice should be "exit" or "go back" after "exchange creature" but it's missing. So if you go to upgrade a land and decide not to you're stuck.

    Awesome work guys.
     
  8. theli
    OP

    Member theli GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    Ukraine
    I want ti remind translators once more:
    Do not make long translations - they must FIT into both their maximum length and ingame UI
    Do not leave such things as "????????? (No Battle Room)" - such strings DO NOT FIT into their maximum length, UI. They will be cut and may produce glitches (or may not [​IMG] )
    Translators leave a lot of too-long strings ... do not get me wrong - i'm very glad people started helping... it's just that i just can't check every single string so it won't break something
    For example - last night someone slightly broke Land command menu by removing line break after "Level Up Land"

    Also, i saw someone started translating cards' descriptions... but leaving both translation and original text for whatever reason...
    Do not do this - it is safe to replace original text since you can see it by hovering over(or clicking) card's number anyway


    UScr00ge, i fixed Land command menus. you can try latest patch
     
  9. freed_y

    Newcomer freed_y Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    Indonesia
    sorry, dumb question...
    how to patch using xdelta and what program need to patch the file to ROM ?
     
  10. theli
    OP

    Member theli GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    Ukraine
    Ok, i've fixed saving of cards to rom so all cards should work as expected.
    I also regenerated patch with those fixes.
    Please, report all weirdness in cards' behaviour.

    freed_y, i updated first post with info regarding xdelta
     
  11. theli
    OP

    Member theli GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    Ukraine
    i have added page for Story Script translation

    Story Script: Story_Script
     
  12. Swifty69

    Member Swifty69 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    England (unfortunatly)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This looks a bit like Yu-Gi-Oh...

    How is the translating coming along ?
     
  13. UScr00ge

    Newcomer UScr00ge Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    United States
    Land management seems to allow exiting the menu now [​IMG]
     
  14. theli
    OP

    Member theli GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    Ukraine
    answer is in the first post
     
  15. Googer

    Newcomer Googer Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Amazing work theli; I haven't tried the current patch yet but it's probably already enough to make it at least mostly playable for those that are already familiar with the Culdcept games. [​IMG] I don't know a word of Japanese but I have played quite a bit of Culdcept Saga on my 360, so it's possible that I may be able to help out here and there if I refresh my memory with CS on some of what needs translating first. [​IMG]
     
  16. UScr00ge

    Newcomer UScr00ge Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    United States
    I'm locking up at the 3rd story mission. It's the first branching path you come to. I picked the right path, pick my deck, and the game locks up there. I can upload my save if you want to reproduce it.
     
  17. theli
    OP

    Member theli GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    Country:
    Ukraine
    hehe. i stuck there too [​IMG]
    anyway, should be fixed now
     
  18. Maxkhoon

    Newcomer Maxkhoon Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    Country:
    Malaysia
    I REALLY REALLY looking forward into this..
    thanks guys and good luck in your translation.
     
  19. amishsexy

    Newcomer amishsexy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    I need some people to add to my friend list so I can translate certain dialogues in Wi-Fi. My code is 0989-7762-5962
     
  20. multiboy2k

    multiboy2k Newbie

    I love this project.

    I think you guys are doing a GREAT job! You got a lot of work done and your not making such a big deal about either.
    Bringing back the real spirit of translating games again. It was a community effort where nobody was trying to be the leader or the hero everybody did it
    for the love of the game! Having all the cards translated like this so soon is a monumental effort.

    Keep up the good work and thank you for the steady stream of updates and communication.
     

Share This Page