1. Raikkonen94

    OP Raikkonen94 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I discovered that I still had some eShop funds left so I decided to use it to buy Stardew Valley (I was very surprised to see that I wasn't banned yet). I had downloaded the NSP through Tinfoil (ReiNX 1.7, firmware 6.0.0) a couple of weeks before but I deleted that file from my Switch and purchased the legit game from the eShop. However, upon booting the game I get the following error "Could not start the software. Please try again from the HOME Menu".

    I tried deleting it and downloading it again, installed it on my NAND and removed my sd card and checked for corrupt data but no luck. My other legit bought games that I never downloaded through Tinfoil start just fine, so I'm wondering what's going wrong here?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    15,529
    Country:
    United States
    Delete the fake ticket that was installed when you used Tinfoil to install it using Ticket Management then reinstall the game from the eShop so you can download a real ticket to use with the game instead.
     
  3. Raikkonen94

    OP Raikkonen94 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thanks for your fast reply! That makes a lot of sense, I should have thought of that. I suppose I have to follow this guide to make it happen? https://gbatemp.net/threads/how-to-...crypto-equivalent-ban-risk-mitigation.518312/

    Kinda ironic that if you want to support the developer after playing their game, you have to jump through all of these hoops.
     
  4. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    15,529
    Country:
    United States
    Er, not really. That tutorial details a lot more than just removing fake tickets. Just go to Ticket Management in Tinfoil and delete any tickets related to Stardew Valley.
     
  5. Raikkonen94

    OP Raikkonen94 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Oh thanks, that's a lot easier. Thanks again for your help and fast response. This also reminds me that I still have to answer your banning hub topic. Will do that very soon!
     
    Draxzelex likes this.
  6. isoboy

    isoboy GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    1,090
    Country:
    United States
    nevermind
     
    Last edited by isoboy, Oct 20, 2018
  7. icegold

    icegold Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    anyone else having this or found a fix?
    I get it when using Sonic Mania & Minecraft XCI's... "could not start the software. please try again from the home menu"
    all other games work fine as did these two yesterday. Today I reformatted sd from exfat to fat32. Had to split some files (which still work now) these two should have been least likely to be affected as both well under 4gb..?

    strange
     
  8. jakkal

    jakkal GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    2,292
    Country:
    United States
    I bet it was a trash reply
     
  9. Wolfy

    Wolfy Person That Never Was
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    883
    Country:
    United States
    Same problem, right after I formatted from exFAT to FAT32. Guessing something got screwed up along the way? Anyone know the fix?
     
  10. icegold

    icegold Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    I'd guess file corruption. Started from scratch on re-formatted sd with new emunand and it resolved the issue. Another user said he 'cleaned' his SD on a windows pc and it repaired corruption without having to remove files and start again so maybe try to see if you can figure out how to do that
     
  11. rodario

    rodario Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Germany
    Have a similar problem with Diablo 3 tested it with an xci with SX OS and updated my switch to 6.2 and bought the game on eshop. But when I try to launch it i get the same error. Installed it again, deleted everything that has to do with the game but no luck. Any ideas? Would be realy happy if i get it to work.
     
  12. Wolfy

    Wolfy Person That Never Was
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    883
    Country:
    United States
    Haaaa nah fixed it, literally just updated using Kosmos' files and they worked again :rofl2:
     
  13. GhostyJoker

    GhostyJoker Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2019
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    Worked for you? Updating kosmos? Via so or wifi?
     
  14. MUDD_BR

    MUDD_BR GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    666
    Country:
    Brazil
  15. switchfan123

    switchfan123 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    HAHAHAHHHAA!
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - software, Please, start