Converting Saves or something...

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by bashscrazy, Apr 7, 2011.

Apr 7, 2011
  1. bashscrazy
    OP

    Member bashscrazy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    So my touch screen on my DS is really messed up
    when I try calibrating the touch screen i go on for 5 minutes touching the dots - it never calibrates...

    In Bowsers Inside Story you need to eat the food in 1 minute which is IMPOSSIBLE with a messed up touch screen..

    So I'm wondering if theres a way to convert the 512 kb .sav file from my R4 into a file type that will work for DeSmuME (since no$gba never seems to work for me)

    I just need to finish that one part - save it then bring it back to my R4.. so ye!

    I know about Shunyweb Savegames Converter but the problem is the target format doesn't include no$gba or any other emulator for that matter...

    So is there a way to do it? kthnxbai!
    and thanks for reading and potentially helping!
     
  2. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    If you have the .sav of the same filename in the right directory, DeSmuME should automatically picks it up.
    If that fails, then there's always "Import backup memory"
     
  3. bashscrazy
    OP

    Member bashscrazy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    The .dsv file from the game was 9 kb so i deleted it and used my .sav file and changed it to .dsv and then it became 2 mb and the game wouldn't load - stopped at the beginning saying the game cant load error stuff...

    I tried the SAVE SLOTS and (original .ds1 was 1 mb used my 512 kb .sav again.. and i got error)

    so idk what to do...?
    maybe I'm doing the wrong thing? or it's not possible?
     
  4. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Go to your DeSmuMe folder, if you don't see .DSV files go to the DeSmuMe\battery folder.
    Delete the .DSV for the game you're playing if it's there.
    Copy your .SAV file (LEAVE IT AS .SAV!) to that folder.
    Load up DeSmuMe and it should attempt to load your save.

    If that doesn't work,
    Emulation -> Reset then quickly go File -> Import Backup Memory and find your .SAV file.
     
  5. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    If you are using firmware.bin and arm7.bin + arm9.bin, importing backup memory when on the DS menu should do the trick.
     
  6. bashscrazy
    OP

    Member bashscrazy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    hmmm... it didn't work for BOWSERS INSIDE STORY.. then I tried it on sousilver and it worked...
    just my luck the game I need it to work for doesn't work! anyways thanks for the help!

    (and I don't have the external ARM7 and ARM9 bios enabled.. don't know where to get them..)

    EDIT: actually a lot of the games get save error messages at the very beginning - the file is corrupt or w/e - soulsilver works however -
     
  7. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    I don't get the DS menu... I have the files and I'm 99% sure I have the option set but it doesn't load it.
     
  8. avenir

    Member avenir GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    375
    Country:
    United States
  9. craiga

    Newcomer craiga Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Changing the bottom touch screen is easy and cheap providing you are careful with the cable clip. Plenty of guides around to help.
     
  10. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    That has nothing to do with a firmware problem.
    If the touch screen is messed up, calibrating it using an external program shouldn't magically fix it.
     
  11. bashscrazy
    OP

    Member bashscrazy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    hmmm... I used no$gba2.6a
    after finally getting the rom working by getting BIOS
    I still couldn't beat it... it was all laggy and stuff...
    So then i got the no$zoomer - it made it really smooth and slowed down during the eating part - just my luck...

    I was able to finish it in 24 seconds as opposed to not finishing at all!!!
    all thanks to the slow downs I was able to find out which piece of food had the little explody thing!!!

    Anyways thanks for all the help and responses!
    a mod can close this now.. I guess
     
  12. Mbmax

    Member Mbmax Homebrew addicted

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,272
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Bah !

    I don't understand you avenir ... i thought you planned to enter the bounty.
    Now this ...
    /me is sad now. [​IMG]

    Why don't you both enter (re-enter for huiminghao) the bounty ?
     

Share This Page