Connection Problems

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Wabsta, Aug 12, 2008.

Aug 12, 2008

Connection Problems by Wabsta at 12:32 PM (1,104 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. Wabsta
    OP

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hello,
    I'm first going to explain, how my internet is set-up in my house.
    No, I'm going to use my superawesome photoshop skilzz for it.

    [​IMG]
    Okay, the orange livebox should speak for itself.
    Dell computer under the livebox too.
    Left of the blue stripes is downstairs, in the livingroom, right, is upstairs, in my room.
    There, everything should speak for itself too. (No, my computer is not THAT old, but I couldn't find a proper image for it:P).

    So, now you see what I want.
    That's internet to all the computers/laptop/PocketPC.
    The only problem is, that the second router (the one in my room), doesn't "give" internet.
    When I use the cable from the livebox, directly to my laptop or my computer, I have internet.
    But when I plug it in the router, and connect 2 other cables to the laptop and the computer, it doesn't give me internet.
    I can even use my laptop's wireless skillzzzz to connect it to the router, but still, no internet.
    I tried making connections manually in the controlpanel, and it IS connected, as a LAN, but just not to the internet.
    So, could anyone help me getting internet?
     
  2. Frederica Bernkastel

    Member Frederica Bernkastel WebPerf and PWA advocate; @antoligy on Twitter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,145
    Location:
    Hinamizawa
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did the orange box and the router come with a CD for installation? if so use it.

    I have a friend with an orange livebox, doesn't that make wireless all by itself?
     
  3. Wabsta
    OP

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It did came with a CD, but I kinda lost it...
    And, it gives wireless all by itself, if you pay 5€ extra each month (or 2,50 or something...)

    I'm going to to a firmware update to the router, so the settings will be reset-ted. (got this router from a friend).
     
  4. Strider

    Member Strider Next to the mainstream

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    901
    Country:
    As I understand it, you only don't get a internet connection if you're connected to the WLAN AP/Router. This seems simple enough, the device doesn't know what it should do. Configure it to use your orange box as a gateway and you should get internet access. Better yet, you might be able to configure it to act as a switch with WLAN AP, and not as a router (you don't really need routing there).
     
  5. Wabsta
    OP

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    And it doesn't stop with giving me those dots.
    What now?
     
  6. Strider

    Member Strider Next to the mainstream

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    901
    Country:
    You got it backwards.

    Your WLAN Router does not contact your ISP. NO pppoe here! Direct IP, propably DHCP, as you yourself are the 'isp' (your orange box propably hands out DHCP?). No user/password.

    Try that.
     
  7. Wabsta
    OP

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    That was the thing I tried before.
    Test results:
    Code:
    Starting test.
    Contacting remote server.
    Server response OK.
    Test succesful. Internet acces is now available.
    But still, I can't connect to the internet...
    EDIT:
    Oh, when I go to the connections in my control panel, it says, that I'm connected to the internet.
    It looks like this:
    Internet-gateway
    [ icon ] Internet-connection
    Connected
    Internet-connection
     
  8. Strider

    Member Strider Next to the mainstream

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    901
    Country:
    Router test successful, client also says ok but still doesn't work?
     
  9. Wabsta
    OP

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    idd.
    I just don't get it...
    And now I have to go to work, so I can't try stuff anymore today, damnit... stupid internet.
     
  10. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    Let me see if I have this straight. You have a computer and a modem downstairs, upstairs you have a router and other devices.

    How is the upstairs router connected to the modem downstairs is it wired directly to the router? Not familiar with European modems, but does the Orange Livebox come with WiFi?

    If it's wired directly between the modem and the router make sure to check to see if there are any conflicting IP addresses. For example, if the modem is using the 192.168.1.1 IP then the router must be something different like 192.168.1.2.

    If you're trying to connect the modem to the router wirelessly, the router needs to be configured to be a wireless client bridge.
     
  11. Wabsta
    OP

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thanks! That has to be it!
    I'm to tired to try it now though...
    And, now it has no wireless, and yes, it's connected to the livebox directly...
     

Share This Page