?
  1. Yes it did!

    60.0%
  2. Nope.

    40.0%
  3. 5 voter(s)
  1. Trylk248

    OP Trylk248 Honest helper and custom content creator.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    295
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey there guys! Today I'll be building with you a tutorial on how to record your audio on the 3DS.

    But before, we are going to make the setup pretty simple.


    So the way this guide will be splitted will be with different concepts. By concepts, I mean "Schemes".

     
  2. Majickhat55

    Majickhat55 The Red Woman
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,931
    Country:
    United States
    I think this is going to help a lot of people that want audio with their 3DS streaming but didn't know how before. Thanks!
     
  3. Trylk248

    OP Trylk248 Honest helper and custom content creator.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    295
    Country:
    Canada
    No problems.
     
  4. migles

    migles All my gbatemp friends are now mods, except for me
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    8,034
    Country:
    China
    Why 2 connections?
    Why not just a 3.5 jack connected from the 3ds to pc?
     
  5. Trylk248

    OP Trylk248 Honest helper and custom content creator.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    295
    Country:
    Canada
    @migles : Gotta agree. I tested the 2wire and it's louder.

    The best option for you guys is to buy a "Y" Audio Wire Jack and a good high quality audio wire 3.5mm
     
  6. Majickhat55

    Majickhat55 The Red Woman
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,931
    Country:
    United States
    Also if you're just doing recording without commentary you only need one M2M 3.5mm cable.
     
  7. Alex658

    Alex658 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,199
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Where do you connect it to? Microphone port or Headphone port?
    How do you make the PC recognize it? I couldn't make it work at all.
     
  8. Majickhat55

    Majickhat55 The Red Woman
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,931
    Country:
    United States
    If you're on a laptop use the mic jack, most have a 2-in-1 headphone/mic jack anyway. If you're on a desktop or have a "line-in" then connect it there. Then you need to point your listening device to the recording device so your computer listens to the console, and plays through your speakers/headphones.
     
  9. proflayton123

    proflayton123 Sakura思い
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6,032
    Country:
    Japan
    I can test this
     
  10. Alex658

    Alex658 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,199
    Country:
    Venezuela
    It's a laptop that seems to have two headphones jacks and one mic-in jack. To which one should i connect it/configure it?
     
  11. Trylk248

    OP Trylk248 Honest helper and custom content creator.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    295
    Country:
    Canada
    On the Microphone plug.
    _---> Wire 1 (microphone)
    Microphone > Audio Y Wire splitter |
    ¯---> Wire 2 (3DS)

    To be able to hear your 3DS, you must set the 3DS on "Listen to this device" to your headphones". :)
     
  12. migles

    migles All my gbatemp friends are now mods, except for me
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    8,034
    Country:
    China
    Hey op @Trylk248 I still don't understand why you need the y splitter?
    It's only purpose is to make the audio louder?
     
  13. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    Could not get it working. I plugged an AUX into my laptop's dual headphones/microphone port and into my New 3DS XL, then I toggled "Listen to this device" for Line 1. I also tried setting Line 1 as default recording device and disabling built-in microphone...
     
  14. Trylk248

    OP Trylk248 Honest helper and custom content creator.
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    295
    Country:
    Canada
    @migles : The Y wire is to take one microphone plug instead of two (that could cause noises) and is used to have your main microphone in there and your 3ds sound.
     
  15. MRJPGames

    MRJPGames Pretty great guy
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You could also connect the 3DS with an aux cable to the line-in on your computer, and select pass-through in the settings of you computer. Then you can use your PC speakers or connected headphones to listen to the audio while streaming. And you wouldn't need any splitter cables, which reduce the output as it has to be shared, which could decrease audio quality, and will decrease volume if nothing else.
     
  16. elBenyo

    elBenyo Wad of meat.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    478
    Country:
    United States
    Headphone jacks split voltage with splitters so this would actually murder your output gain, and the 3DS already has a ridiculously low output gain and distorts easily at any volume higher than 50% (when recorded). My advice, since I record with an O3DS with a Capture cards, is to use a gold plated 3.5mm aux cable from monoprice.com and volume at %50. They cost 2 bucks and I can record at 96khz at 192kbs with perfect clarity every time.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [Concept][Experimental], Recording, smartly