[Concept][Experimental] 3DS Audio Recording made smartly

Discussion in '3DS - Tutorials' started by Trylk248, Mar 2, 2017.

?

Did this concept worked for you?

  1. Yes it did!

    50.0%
  2. Nope.

    50.0%
  1. Trylk248
    OP

    Member Trylk248 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey there guys! Today I'll be building with you a tutorial on how to record your audio on the 3DS.

    But before, we are going to make the setup pretty simple.


    So the way this guide will be splitted will be with different concepts. By concepts, I mean "Schemes".

     
  2. Majickhat55

    Member Majickhat55 Jabberwocky Slayer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Messages:
    2,359
    Location:
    Underland
    Country:
    United States
    I think this is going to help a lot of people that want audio with their 3DS streaming but didn't know how before. Thanks!
     
  3. Trylk248
    OP

    Member Trylk248 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    Canada
    No problems.
     
  4. migles

    Member migles i'm a dude, i just enjoy pretty girls and money...

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,801
    Location:
    my dad works for nintendo.
    Country:
    Korea, North
    Why 2 connections?
    Why not just a 3.5 jack connected from the 3ds to pc?
     
  5. Trylk248
    OP

    Member Trylk248 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    Canada
    @migles : Gotta agree. I tested the 2wire and it's louder.

    The best option for you guys is to buy a "Y" Audio Wire Jack and a good high quality audio wire 3.5mm
     
  6. Majickhat55

    Member Majickhat55 Jabberwocky Slayer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Messages:
    2,359
    Location:
    Underland
    Country:
    United States
    Also if you're just doing recording without commentary you only need one M2M 3.5mm cable.
     
  7. Alex658

    Member Alex658 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Venezuela
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Where do you connect it to? Microphone port or Headphone port?
    How do you make the PC recognize it? I couldn't make it work at all.
     
  8. Majickhat55

    Member Majickhat55 Jabberwocky Slayer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Messages:
    2,359
    Location:
    Underland
    Country:
    United States
    If you're on a laptop use the mic jack, most have a 2-in-1 headphone/mic jack anyway. If you're on a desktop or have a "line-in" then connect it there. Then you need to point your listening device to the recording device so your computer listens to the console, and plays through your speakers/headphones.
     
  9. proflayton123

    Member proflayton123 just another user

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    5,280
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can test this
     
  10. Alex658

    Member Alex658 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Venezuela
    Country:
    Venezuela
    It's a laptop that seems to have two headphones jacks and one mic-in jack. To which one should i connect it/configure it?
     
  11. Trylk248
    OP

    Member Trylk248 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    Canada
    On the Microphone plug.
    _---> Wire 1 (microphone)
    Microphone > Audio Y Wire splitter |
    ¯---> Wire 2 (3DS)

    To be able to hear your 3DS, you must set the 3DS on "Listen to this device" to your headphones". :)
     
  12. migles

    Member migles i'm a dude, i just enjoy pretty girls and money...

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,801
    Location:
    my dad works for nintendo.
    Country:
    Korea, North
    Hey op @Trylk248 I still don't understand why you need the y splitter?
    It's only purpose is to make the audio louder?
     
  13. RosaliinaDaHacker64

    Member RosaliinaDaHacker64 Don't click on me pls -- it hurts :c

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Messages:
    432
    Location:
    World -1
    Country:
    Ireland
    Could not get it working. I plugged an AUX into my laptop's dual headphones/microphone port and into my New 3DS XL, then I toggled "Listen to this device" for Line 1. I also tried setting Line 1 as default recording device and disabling built-in microphone...
     
  14. Trylk248
    OP

    Member Trylk248 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    Canada
    @migles : The Y wire is to take one microphone plug instead of two (that could cause noises) and is used to have your main microphone in there and your 3ds sound.
     
  15. MRJPGames

    Member MRJPGames Pretty great guy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,076
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You could also connect the 3DS with an aux cable to the line-in on your computer, and select pass-through in the settings of you computer. Then you can use your PC speakers or connected headphones to listen to the audio while streaming. And you wouldn't need any splitter cables, which reduce the output as it has to be shared, which could decrease audio quality, and will decrease volume if nothing else.
     
  16. elBenyo

    Member elBenyo Wad of meat.

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    327
    Country:
    United States
    Headphone jacks split voltage with splitters so this would actually murder your output gain, and the 3DS already has a ridiculously low output gain and distorts easily at any volume higher than 50% (when recorded). My advice, since I record with an O3DS with a Capture cards, is to use a gold plated 3.5mm aux cable from monoprice.com and volume at %50. They cost 2 bucks and I can record at 96khz at 192kbs with perfect clarity every time.
     

Share This Page