Computer cores?

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by chris888222, Jul 7, 2011.

Jul 7, 2011

Computer cores? by chris888222 at 1:42 PM (1,530 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

1. chris888222
    OP

Member chris888222 GBAtemp's Flygon Fan

Singapore
    I'm a DARN noob in computers, so please don't flare me for this one.

My last post was about my dad wanting to buy a laptop.

Well, he (and I) are confused over the cores and whether it will effect the laptop computer's speed/performance.

E.g.
    Laptop A
    2.3GHz Dual Core

Laptop B
    2.0GHz Quad Core

Are these laptops equally fast? I went to a store and they said these numbers contribute to the speed. I'm really lost now. [​IMG]

Thanks.

2. FAST6191

Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

pip
    United Kingdom
    Afraid performance is a combination of many things.

Trying to keep it simple though

Cores- effectively another processor inside the computer (they often share things so that can lead to bottlenecks if trying to use them to the fullest all at once) however you have to have a program designed to use them. Two cores are nice as it allows one core for the OS and the other for a program but after this there are few programs that can make use of them properly- some games (although I rarely see one doing it properly), some video encoders and a select few other programs (usually related to the big 3 machine killers of video, CAD and games) will benefit.

Processor speed- straight Hz is often a misleading measurement but under the assumption that both those machines use the same class of processor and that more cores is not necessarily all that useful the higher clocked dual core will have the edge although only just.