Completely New.

Discussion in '3DS - Homebrew Development and Emulators' started by Juju86, Jun 12, 2016.

1. Juju86
    OP

Juju86 Member

Newcomer
    Jun 12, 2016
    United States
    So yeah as the title says I am completely new to the scene here and figured I should learn some things before just diving in. I just ordered a new 3ds from gamestop that should be here monday so I have no idea what firmware is on it atm. I have the sd card for it already if that helps/enables me to get a head start on things. The only real plans I have, mod wise, for my n3ds are that I wish to enable the cpu upgrade to improve gameplay and reduce framedrops. Other than that though the only other thing I may add is a custom theme later on down the road or something.

So what i'm asking for basically is what is the simplest, safest way to achieve my goal? I also assume that running any program that enables the clock speeds isn't going to affect any of the 3ds' native apps like eshop or mii stuff, correct? Thanks in advance everyone.

2. MsMidnight

MsMidnight part time fe modder

Oct 12, 2015
    kys
    You're wanting CFW. Wait until you get your n3ds so we can see the fw

3. Purge

Purge GBAtemp Regular

Feb 24, 2016
    United States
    Your n3ds will most likely be on 10.x

You're gonna need to use browserhax or some other entrypoint to gain access to HBL, which you can use to downgrade to 9.2. But MsMidnight is right; you should wait and see what your firmware version is first

4. Sonic Angel Knight

Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Legend

May 27, 2016
    United States
    New York
    https://github.com/Plailect/Guide/wiki/Part-1-(Homebrew)

follow this well written guide to run homebrew, depending on your firmware version, you may need to use a game and a way to inject save data hax into it. It is explained in the guide. Once you are able to access homebrew, there should be a app called hans that allows the cpu mod you could be looking for.

5. Juju86
    OP

Juju86 Member