Complete new install for xp, how to get drivers?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by da_head, Nov 20, 2008.

Nov 20, 2008
  1. da_head
    OP

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    ok so my stupid brother effed up the desktop, so i had to do a complete reformat (with a xp i arred of course). this is my first time doing a complete reformat. the comp has like NOTHING on it now. no drivers or anything. i can't even log on to the internet because it can't detect a network card. fortunately, i have a laptop that works fine (the one i'm on now), so i can dl files from here. how do i find out what driver i need to get for the internet? cuz i'm pretty sure there are programs that dl drivers for u, but i need to be able to connect to the internet first. thx in advance
     
  2. Lee79

    Member Lee79 Hyper...Active...Team Fortress 2 Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    920
    Location:
    ctf_2fort
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you need to know the make and model number of you motherboard.
    you could try the LAN driver pack from http://driverpacks.net/DriverPacks/ for the network and any of the other packs as needed.
     
  3. da_head
    OP

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    how do u find that out?
     
  4. Wabsta

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Get PC Wizard 2008 (google it)
     
  5. da_head
    OP

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    k i got it. my two network cards are:
    realtek semiconductor rt8139 (A/B/C/810x/813x/C+) Fast Ethernet Adapter

    VT82C570 MV IDE Controller VT6102 Rhine II Fast Ethernet Adapter

    yeah my desktop is pretty old. i tried lookin for the drivers, but to no avail. any help? it doesn't matter which one, either one will work i think. thx
     
  6. DarkRey

    Member DarkRey still transfoooorming.... with sum lags!

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    Rotating around Toni
    Country:
    Croatia
  7. da_head
    OP

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    k i'll check the site out. as for the driver updating softwares, i got uniblue driver scanner 2009. but i need to get a network driver first, otherwise it's useless

    EDIT: ok i got a driver, let's c if it works...
     
  8. DarkRey

    Member DarkRey still transfoooorming.... with sum lags!

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    Rotating around Toni
    Country:
    Croatia
  9. da_head
    OP

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
  10. DarkRey

    Member DarkRey still transfoooorming.... with sum lags!

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    Rotating around Toni
    Country:
    Croatia
  11. da_head
    OP

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
  12. DarkRey

    Member DarkRey still transfoooorming.... with sum lags!

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    Rotating around Toni
    Country:
    Croatia
    no problem
    u are welcome
    now i can sleep in peace
    [​IMG]
     
  13. da_head
    OP

    Member da_head A dying dream..

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Toronto, Canader!
    Country:
    Canada
    i'm keepin all these programs somewhere safe so i don't have to go thru this shit again loool
     
  14. Lodis

    Member Lodis GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    281
    Country:
    United States
    You should also look up drive imaging programs such as Drive Snapshot, Acronis or the freeware Drive Backup 9.0 Express. This will allow you to avoid ever having to do time consuming reformat and installs although you should definitely know how to do these.

    These imaging programs are essential and I have not had to do a reformat and install in years. Once you have a clean freshly installed system you do a base image and then incremental images after any significant changes.
     
  15. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    all you had to do was go to the PC's website... say Dell, or HP/Compaq, search for your make/model, and all the drivers are right there...

    I've done hundreds of XP reinstalls, and all the drivers are sitting safe and secure on the manufactures websites... just go to the support tab/link, and downloads, then it's a simple search for the make/model, and poof! all the crap you need!
     

Share This Page