Clone firmware?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by spinal_cord, Jun 24, 2010.

Jun 24, 2010

Clone firmware? by spinal_cord at 8:01 PM (1,317 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. spinal_cord
    OP

    Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Here's a wired question that just popped into my head...

    Which, if any, of the firmwares for the million and one R4 clones will run on an original R4DS? Either as firmware, or as a regular .nds file.
     
  2. CrimzonEyed

    Member CrimzonEyed GBAtemp's Assassin

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,486
    Location:
    The Shadows
    Country:
    Japan
  3. spinal_cord
    OP

    Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I already know about r4wood. My question was about the clone firmwares.
    I am interested in seeing how they look/behave.
     
  4. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    Lol, this looks like a lack of reading xD.
    Anyways, I think I once heard that all (or most) clones could support the original firmware, but I've only heard of R4li that actually does anything with the original R4 in mind...then again, I've never attempted putting the other clone firmwares on my R4 (they always seem to be outdated anyways)
     
  5. TrolleyDave

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, same as jurassicplayer the only one I've heard of that works on the original R4 is the R4li version. It's slow and buggy though from what I remember reading about it.
     

Share This Page