Choosing A Laptop

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by nexus1556, Aug 7, 2011.

Aug 7, 2011

Choosing A Laptop by nexus1556 at 4:45 AM (1,269 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. nexus1556
    OP

    Newcomer nexus1556 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    A Nice Island In The Ocean
    Country:
    Canada
    Hello i am nexus,

    I Was given a netbook for christmas and it does not fit any of my needs and limits me so i am looking for a new laptop to replace it with. The new laptop has to have the specs below

    The Graphics Card Must Be 1 gig or more and cant be intergrated

    I would like it to have either 1.5 or 1.6 inch screen

    Quad core prosser

    MUST HAVE 6 gigs of ram or better

    hdmi port

    wireless

    Things i want it to have but dosent have to have

    3 or more usb ports

    Vga port XD

    I Would be playing these games

    Minecraft

    terraria

    halo

    halo 2

    and it has to have windows 7 on it cant be starter either

    Thankz
     
  2. kevan

    Member kevan Imagination rules the world

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
    Your specs seem a little too high for what you want to play.....

    you could go with dual core

    4gb ram and 1gb gpu and still handle what you want..... (aslong as you dont get an intel gpu)

    but if you want slightly better specs

    get

    quadcore 2.3ghz AMD or Intel
    4GB ram (hopefully DDR3 or something not too slow)
    1GB GPU (that means graphics card if you dont know)
    decent hardrive size

    from experience the above (2nd optionn) can easily handle what you want too play.
     
  3. nexus1556
    OP

    Newcomer nexus1556 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    A Nice Island In The Ocean
    Country:
    Canada
    those are game i would have to be able to play i would be using alot of other games 2 like fps and stuff the specs r fine and r what i need
     
  4. Justin121994

    Member Justin121994 Bitcoin. coinbase.com/andrew

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    808
    Location:
    Ontario, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Are there any like that for 800/900 lol? I need one too.
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    As far as I know none of those games benefit from more than 2 cores. Shit just can't magically use more cores, it has to be coded from the ground up to do it properly, and even then it has to be a task that can benefit from concurrency. None of those games fit the bill.

    In addition, VRAM is NOT an indicator of graphical power.

    http://www.gpureview.com/show_cards.php?ca...7&card2=187
    Both those cards can come with 256 megs of video ram on them.
    But the second one is over twice as fast as the first.

    More ram on the videocard allows you to run the game at a higher resolution, with larger textures.

    Games used to recommend a certain amount of ram on the card because it's an indicator of the card's AGE, not always the power, and most games won't work with cards older than a certain limit, which depends on the game.

    This is made worse by the fact that most modern graphics cards in laptops can leech from system RAM, making them able to use a lot more RAM than they actually have, but it's access time is a lot slower than onboard RAM... and these cards are often listed with the max RAM they can leech, not the amount they actually contain. This can be spotted easily with cards the claim "up to" a certain amount of RAM, but for many models it's hard to tell if it's actually got the RAM or will just leech it until you get it.

    That said, what's your budget?
     
  6. tommzy2

    Newcomer tommzy2 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    Australia
    dont get an i7 laptop, trust me, i got i7 quadcore 2.93ghz with 1 gb gfx and 6 gb ram, and i cant run gta iv on the lowest settings, its retarted
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Which graphics?
     
  8. doyama

    Member doyama GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    If you want to run terraria or minecraft the Intel chipsets are ok. Anything beyond those and you really need to consider a separate GPU. On a laptop that's easily pushing your laptop above $1000.
     
  9. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I wouldn't say that much. Chip prices drop all the time, you can get an entry-level dedicated card in a $750 laptop... but yeah if he wants to play recent games on high quality it'll cost him.
     
  10. DeviousTom

    Member DeviousTom GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    132
    Location:
    Markham, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Why not just get a laptop with AMD's new Fusion line-up, pretty much a CPU and GPU put together and from what I heard they run pretty damn well. Look for any of the A8's, they're decent quad cores with low-mid level GPU processing. And they come pretty cheap [​IMG].

    http://www.bestbuy.ca/en-CA/product/hewlet...d1cb4306ee2en02

    Comes with a free Xbox 360 8=D

    I think this one is actually paired with 2 low-mid GPU's, as they do say dual graphics, makes the deal seem pretty good.

    EDIT: By "low-mid" I'm referring more to mobile GPU's, not the desktop level, but I'm 100% sure this will run all those games you requested no problem. Oh and free xbox is student only ;(
     
  11. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    [trol]Anyway, might I suggest you either A. learn stuff about computers instead of typing crappy and not knowing what you are actually asking or typing
    B. go to a store tell them your needs and pay them that 30 bucks more than it will cost you at newegg?
    C. I dont want to live on this planet anymore!

    Oh yea and Tommy, a cliff will do your machine fine. Just toss it down there, maybe use portals or something nice to give it a proper burial. The i7 is one of the major CPUs currently out and they run like a liter of awesomesause through a drain the size of arkansas. Your problem is looking at the box thinking OMG i7 expensive + GRAFICS CARD OF 1 GB TROLOLOLO, where you failed to realise that that grafics was probably intergrated and thus meant not for playing games but watching video's and doing office work. That's retarded, though not so much, your claim that i7 is therefor retarded however, is quite retarded.[/trol]

    The games you are suggesting will not require anything special as they are old or low requirement games.
    Suggested laptop (possibly also for you @Justin):
    HP Pavilion dv6-6170sd
    Which would be overpowered for your needs but is nice nonetheless and will give you love for a long time to come.
    Possible alternatives a Dell XPS 15 or Asus N53. Feel free to use those laptops as guidelines for your other options.
     
  12. krzym1

    Newcomer krzym1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Poland
    Dont ever buy a HP laptop.. they're overpriced (well not as much as apple's shit but still) and they tend to overheat much. Out of 4 HP laptops I had contact with 3 were overheating during simple tasks (I lol'd so hard when my rommate's laptop almost burned inside out while watching youtube, and it wasnt even year old).


    And I dont think you're gonna find a "1.5 or 1.6 inch screen" anywhere but old cellphones.
     
  13. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Normally I have no preference for HP however that is also because they used a lot of AMD turions, which got hot, which used crappy thermal pads and thus overheated like crazy. Regardless that is personal experience together with turions being notorious. The suggested machine uses an intel proc.
     
  14. krzym1

    Newcomer krzym1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    Poland

    Well, my rommate's PC has intel inside [​IMG] and still gets hot as phok.

    I myself have turion in my Toshiba laptop and it didnt ever overheat even when playing some new games.
     
  15. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    HP haven't made the best choices for many of their laptop models, and that's what has given them such a bad reputation. That doesn't mean that all HP laptops are bad, just that they have a lot of bad laptops. Other than that, saying they're overpriced is just ignorant B$. For that matter, every laptop brand has a fairly high 3year failure rate... Even 18% of all Apple laptops fail in 3 years.

    When picking out a laptop, the first 2 things you need to know are your needs (in this case, halo 2 is the most I tense game required) and your budget. Halo 2 requires at least a 2.0Ghz Pentium M and a GeForce 6100 or ATI X700. In other words, Intel GMA HD and HD 3000 (integrated into the 2generations of Intel Core i CPUs) is all you need graphics wise, although going for discreet graphics would probably offer better frame rates.

    For the matter of overheating, there are a few things you can do to help that. First replace the thermal paste with one that doesn't suck, then adjust BIOS and Windows to prevent useless things running in the background taking up all your resources. You can also down clock your CPU by 5% and get the CPU up to 10C cooler. Intel CPUs are better in that respect, as I've not been able to down clock an AMD CPU (in laptops at least) so far.
     
  16. nexus1556
    OP

    Newcomer nexus1556 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    A Nice Island In The Ocean
    Country:
    Canada
  17. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    [​IMG]
    Like a g6
     
  18. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That site is weird. It says they have the same CPU, yet they have different clock speeds. The Acer one has an LED screen and 4 hour battery life, and the HP doesn't but has a 7 hour battery life.

    I prefer the Acer one, but only because I'm partial to blue.
     
  19. nexus1556
    OP

    Newcomer nexus1556 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    A Nice Island In The Ocean
    Country:
    Canada
    /topic closed
     
  20. Lodis

    Member Lodis GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    281
    Country:
    United States

    Maybe your GPU is not strong enough. I also have an i7 laptop and I can play GTA IV on high settings with the sliders at 100%.
     

Share This Page