Hacking Check/Verify installed version of Boot9strap?

AndrewH

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 6, 2017
Messages
93
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
481
Country
Canada
I was wondering if there is any means at all, to check which version of boot9strap is currently installed on my system? I checked all the usual places and don't see it listed anywhere and searching around online, only brings me to a dead link and something about using Godmode9 to do this?

Anyways, just curious if there is a way to check which version of b9s is installed on my system, please and thank you.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Mudwaster

AndrewH

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 6, 2017
Messages
93
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
481
Country
Canada
I figured as much, was hoping there was a way though.

I actually just installed it tonight, what should be 1.3. I had a bit it trouble screwing around however, since my Godmode9, among other things were really outdated. So in all the fooling about, things weren't as streamlined as I would have liked, in order to keep track of things and in my curiosity getting the best of me, I thought I would check and verify that everything went as planned, by comparing version numbers. Of course, I could check my Luma, Godmode9, FBI, etc, for version numbers, but no where was Boot9strap listed and that had me puzzled.

My system is working just fine, so it likely took as expected, but I guess the nerd in me, would have liked to have seen with my own eyes, you know?

Thanks for writing back though, I do appreciate it.

If anyone else knows a way, please do share!
 

Majickhat55

The Red Woman
Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2016
Messages
4,936
Trophies
1
Age
34
Location
Asshai
XP
2,937
Country
United States
There is no way to check, just like there wasn't for A9LH. However, you HAVE to download the boot.firm from the repo itself, and the link in the guide directs you to the newest release. Basically you just have to pay attention to what you're downloading. Not to mention once you've downloaded the ZIP it will be titled with the release (i.e boot9strap-1.3.zip) so literally just check your downloads folder and that's the one you installed.......

The newer versions of Luma actually tell you if you're loading B9S from your SD card or from CTRNAND. Depending on the differences in B9S releases perhaps it could be updated to display the B9S version as well.
 
Last edited by Majickhat55,

Majickhat55

The Red Woman
Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2016
Messages
4,936
Trophies
1
Age
34
Location
Asshai
XP
2,937
Country
United States
I just tested that, as I was curious (I suggested this on the issues page a while ago). But it doesn't (at least not on 8.1.1, I didn't try a nightly).
I meant newer as in, the one not out yet Lol. But it's been committed so it's in the nightlies. it will be in the next release for a fact. Sorry for the confusion.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Quantumcat

zoogie

playing around in the dsiware
Developer
Joined
Nov 30, 2014
Messages
8,400
Trophies
2
XP
13,680
Country
Micronesia, Federated States of
There's a way to check with godmode9
Sysnand virtual -> firm0.bin -> FIRM image options -> Mount image to drive -> header.bin -> calculate sha256

The boot9strap versions will have header sha256's based on this chart:

1.0: 5C3B0CD4FE0C4987AF764B9FEFAD8B8ED39929E6EA9A8F6D782C2409BB16930A
1.1: 893A8A5B9B87FD1869AAA0BAE9BCAA3C9102DFEC1FFACB2561321F53B6091884
1.2: 9DDE2F7258FD1EE88EDE335ED781053F8925269D8720FE87BE4E2BD35B5990D3
1.3: 7C2E1DC860858BF9C7285915957FE64AF3B1B812C57FCB2C417881D31EE4246C

Please note that you don't have to compare the entire number to this. The first 3-4 chars is probably enough.
A gm9 script could probably be made to do this easy enough.

edit:
Ah screw it, just made a little app to do the check. Attached. Should work chainloaded or as boot/ntrboot.firm.
 
Last edited by zoogie,

AndrewH

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 6, 2017
Messages
93
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
481
Country
Canada
Awesome! Thanks so much for this! I do remember reading there was a way via gm9, but in google searching, the main thread was gone and I couldn't read anything up on it. Thanks so much for posting this here, as it seems most of us weren't aware that you actually could do this, after all!

I checked via the long method you posted above and mine shows 7C2E, so I am definitely on 1.3. I am going to keep this in mind for the future too, just because I like to see these things in person.

I am a little confused on using your file though, with all the crossed out wording and the fact that you stated Luma hard codes the b9s version, has me believe I likely don't know what I am doing to get an accurate result.

Do I run your file from the home/scripts menu of gm9, or no?

If you can please tell me exactly where to put this file and how to run it, that would be really appreciated. Sorry for coming off like a pest, but I have no problem admitting I am ignorant on this and would like to learn from it. I would like to keep your file for future use.

Thanks so much.
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
There's a way to check with godmode9
Sysnand virtual -> firm0.bin -> FIRM image options -> Mount image to drive -> header.bin -> calculate sha256

The boot9strap versions will have header sha256's based on this chart:

1.0: 5C3B0CD4FE0C4987AF764B9FEFAD8B8ED39929E6EA9A8F6D782C2409BB16930A
1.1: 893A8A5B9B87FD1869AAA0BAE9BCAA3C9102DFEC1FFACB2561321F53B6091884
1.2: 9DDE2F7258FD1EE88EDE335ED781053F8925269D8720FE87BE4E2BD35B5990D3
1.3: 7C2E1DC860858BF9C7285915957FE64AF3B1B812C57FCB2C417881D31EE4246C

Please note that you don't have to compare the entire number to this. The first 3-4 chars is probably enough.
A gm9 script could probably be made to do this easy enough.

edit:
Ah screw it, just made a little app to do the check. Attached. Should work chainloaded or as boot/ntrboot.firm.
edit2:
Try to use the latest version of luma if you chainload this app. Luma hardcodes the b9s version for whatever insane reason.
Run this app as boot.firm for most accurate version response.
Mine says 1.2, even I updated to 1.3 (SHA-256 started with 7C2E for me). Same goes to my friend as he showed me a pic on Discord. :/

IMAG1219.jpg
 

CrimsonMaple

Developer • She/Her
Member
Joined
May 2, 2016
Messages
450
Trophies
0
Location
the deepest depths of hell.
Website
crimson.ninja
XP
1,443
Country
United States
Luma hardcodes the b9s version for whatever insane reason.
Run this app as boot.firm for most accurate version response.
Luma hardcodes the boot9strap version so that other payloads know if they are loaded under b9s, and not something like oldLoader, which doesn't pass a magic value for safety reasons.
 

zoogie

playing around in the dsiware
Developer
Joined
Nov 30, 2014
Messages
8,400
Trophies
2
XP
13,680
Country
Micronesia, Federated States of
Mine says 1.2, even I updated to 1.3 (SHA-256 started with 7C2E for me). Same goes to my friend as he showed me a pic on Discord. :/

IMAG1219.jpg
Try the one attached here. This one just reads the FIRM header instead of the r2 lie.

If you run a non-release version of b9s, it will say "Boot9strap Nightly".
Also, should a new version of b9s be released, it will also show as "Boot9strap Nightly". Someone tag me when > 1.3 releases so the app can be updated (if I forget to do it).

EDIT:
https://github.com/zoogie/b9s_check/releases
(this is the latest as of May/2022, use it instead of the attachment pls)
 

Attachments

  • b9s_check.zip
    43.1 KB · Views: 2,447
Last edited by zoogie,

AndrewH

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 6, 2017
Messages
93
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
481
Country
Canada
Thanks so much for this. Mine was reading 1.2 as well, despite the checksum saying differently. This new version is now showing 1.3, when run as a payload.

Much respects and big up yourself for a job well done! Very grateful for this and will keep it on hand to verify future installs of b9s!
 
  • Like
Reactions: zoogie

democracy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2009
Messages
910
Trophies
0
XP
730
Country
United States
I was wondering if there is any means at all, to check which version of boot9strap is currently installed on my system? I checked all the usual places and don't see it listed anywhere and searching around online, only brings me to a dead link and something about using Godmode9 to do this?

Anyways, just curious if there is a way to check which version of b9s is installed on my system, please and thank you.


Restore a nand backup of your a9lh install and test from there
 

AndrewH

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 6, 2017
Messages
93
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
481
Country
Canada
Restore a nand backup of your a9lh install and test from there

I never had a9lh installed, as I went straight into b9s when I modded my 3DS earlier this summer. Regardless, the very informative posts above, have me and others sorted with means to check their installed versions, now.

Thanks for chiming in though.
 
  • Like
Reactions: tbb043

piratesephiroth

I wish I could read
Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2013
Messages
3,447
Trophies
1
Age
101
XP
3,131
Country
Brazil
Try the one attached here. This one just reads the FIRM header instead of the r2 lie.

If you run a non-release version of b9s, it will say "Boot9strap Nightly".
Also, should a new version of b9s be released, it will also show as "Boot9strap Nightly". Someone tag me when > 1.3 releases so the app can be updated (if I forget to do it).
this should be added to SafeB9SInstaller
 

Wisheh1992

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 20, 2019
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
31
XP
125
Country
Belgium
I have B9s installed. But there is a newer version it seems since November. My system still works perfect and i have the latest update for my 3ds do i still need to update B9s even if my system already is hacked months ago?
 
Last edited by Wisheh1992,

lone_wolf323

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 27, 2011
Messages
4,823
Trophies
1
XP
3,861
Country
Canada
I have B9s installed. But there is a newer version it seems since November. My system still works perfect and i have the latest update for my 3ds do i still need to update B9s even if my system already is hacked months ago?
Did you not read the post litterally above yours? You will more likely get a answer there and the fact this thread is from over 2 years ago means not a lot are going to check this for newbies asking things.
 
  • Like
Reactions: TurdPooCharger
General chit-chat
Help Users
    KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName: Zzzquil