1. Hakamdeebad

    OP Hakamdeebad Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    Hi guys! I've been having a lot of problems regarding cheats lately and I have a couple of questions. I have a O3DS with Luma on 11.1, and I was trying to play KH3D on it and use an NTR cheat plugin and try to use some of the ARCodes on Fort42, but the problem is that every time I try to use NTR and try to use the browser to use cheats, the browser freezes and I have to turn off my 3DS. I'm using NTR 3.4 and the newest version of BootNTR. My questions are:

    1. Is there a workaround that doesn't freeze my 3DS when I want to use both NTR and ARCodes? I've looked up why this happens, but some people say it's because NTR disables WiFi, but I've also read that it is not actually NTR, it is the cheat plugin itself, and I've tried to go to the "Enable Online Functionality when using NTR Cheat Plugins" thread, but I can't figure out what to do whatsoever.
    2. What do most people use nowadays for cheats? Save editors? NTR Cheats? Spider/ARCodes?
    3. What websites are recommended for cheats? I know there is a couple of Asian ones, but what do the people of GBATemp recommend?

    Any reply/response would be appreciated! THANKS!

    Edit: Also, another thing I noticed is that even if I do start NTR and just go to the 3DS browser right afterwards and exit, NTR is gone and I can't open up the menu. I've tried different versions of NTR such as 3.2, 3.3, and 3.4 and the same still happens. Is this normal?
     
    Last edited by Hakamdeebad, Jan 27, 2017
  2. Kotomine Kirei

    Kotomine Kirei GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    315
    Country:
    United States
    Not sure about "1." as I never used Action Replay codes.

    As for "2.", I use NTR cheat plugins, the modified NTR client (for just inputting GateShark codes), GateShark2NTR (to convert codes to plugins), the NTR debugger (for finding codes), and save editors (not very often)

    About "3.", there is that one site that you mentioned, but there is a thread on this site for cheat plugins as well.
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/ntr-cheats-plugin-ported-from-gateshark.427187/
    There are also several other threads here with plugins for specific games.

    For the last part, I do not think that the browser should affect NTR, but I have not tried opening the browser on an old 3DS with it running, so it might affect it.
     
  3. Hakamdeebad

    OP Hakamdeebad Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    1. ARCodes as in like the Spider Exploit, using the QR codes on Fort42 and the 3DS QR Scanner to do cheats, not like ARCodes as in Action Replay Codes, if that makes a difference.

    2. What's the modified NTR Client?

    3. Yeah, I've been lurking in the forums trying to look into the kinds of cheat plugins on here.

    4. So it is not the browser affecting it? What could it possibly be if you were to guess?
     
    Last edited by Hakamdeebad, Jan 27, 2017
  4. Kotomine Kirei

    Kotomine Kirei GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    315
    Country:
    United States
    1. Well, either way, I never used ARCodes/Spider unfortunately.

    2. It is a computer program that connects to NTR on the 3DS.
    With it, you can input GateShark codes.
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/modified-ntr-client-with-gateshark-support.418294/
    The debugger is similar, but it is more for finding codes than inputting known codes.
    https://github.com/valarnin/NTRRemoteDebugger

    3. To my knowledge, there are not many sites for cheat plugins.
    There are around 3-5 of them that I know of.

    4. I am not very tech-savvy, but since you said that it closes when you open the browser, it might be that, because the old 3DS has less power, it cannot run the game, browser and NTR at the same time.
    Of course, it could be something else.
    Have you installed anything to do with the browser other than ARCodes/Spider?

    Also, why are you trying to use ARCodes when you have NTR?
     
    Last edited by Kotomine Kirei, Jan 27, 2017
  5. Hakamdeebad

    OP Hakamdeebad Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    1. Got it.

    2. Do you recommend using those?

    3. It's like a treasure hunt trying to find these websites, I swear.

    4. That's what I was thinking, based on the fact that on O3DS, when playing a game that requires extended memory like Smash, it doesn't even let you do things like open up the browser, I assume that the same logic falls in this situation, because NTR uses that extended memory, launching apps like the browser deactivates it. No, I have not installed anything to do with the browser other than downgrading it to the version that actually works with the Spider Exploit. So my only option is to upgrade to an N3DS?

    For a game like KH3D, there are codes in AR that are not available in NTR, that's why I want to use both.
     
  6. Kotomine Kirei

    Kotomine Kirei GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    315
    Country:
    United States
    2. Well, the client makes things easier when you do not feel like finding/making a plugin, and the debugger can help you to find codes when there are none if you know how to find them, so I personally find a good amount of use out of them.
    If you do not mind going through some extra steps and know how to find codes, I would recommend them.

    3. It really is.
    I wish that there was a forum for cheats on this site.
    It would make things a lot easier.

    4. Do you really need to use the ARCodes with NTR?
    If so, then you might want to think about upgrading, but, from what I read in the ARCodes/Spider thread, it might be more difficult to get that running on the New 3DS.

    Some games and features are limited on the old 3DS though (no cheats in certain games, and, if I am correct, some games might run better on the New 3DS), and the New 3DS does not have those horrible (in my opinion) positions for the volume slider and Start/Select buttons.
    So, if you can get one, I do not see much of a reason not to other than the ARCodes possibly not working.

    As I said earlier though, I am not really tech-savvy, so someone more knowledgeable about the browser/NTR problem might be able to help you fix it.
     
    Last edited by Kotomine Kirei, Jan 27, 2017
  7. Kotomine Kirei

    Kotomine Kirei GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    315
    Country:
    United States
    ...
     
    Last edited by Kotomine Kirei, Jan 27, 2017 - Reason: Posted twice for some reason...
  8. Hakamdeebad

    OP Hakamdeebad Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    2. I'm going to look into the client and all that debugger stuff. If you have anything that you can share, it would be much appreciated (any tutorials or anything like that).

    3. It's all scattered.

    4. I don't need to. I mean, I can just run the ARCode cheats through the Spider Exploit on KH3D, get those cheats, close the game, start NTR, and use NTR cheats on the game, but as you can see, that is a long process, and if I have to reapply a cheat from ARCodes, I have to restart the 3DS, and do the whole process again. I thought to simplify everything, I can just use both NTR and ARCodes at the same time, but that is not the case. At least, not on O3DS. What kind of issues are there in terms of N3DS and ARCodes/Spider? I mean, essentially, all you have to do is just downgrade the browser of the N3DS and it would work. I'll look into it though.

    I will look into upgrading though. I believe any 3DS is hackable right now, whether old or new. I'm planning to wait until the Pikachu N3DS releases next month.
     
  9. Kotomine Kirei

    Kotomine Kirei GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    315
    Country:
    United States
    2. Well, the two are not that difficult to use.
    The most difficult part for me was probably finding out how to enter the IP address to connect to the 3DS (...again, I am not that knowledgeable with that kind of thing)
    There might be things that you have to install before using them (things like the Microsoft .NET Framework), but...I cannot remember what they were if there were any.
    For the client:
    1. - Connect to the 3DS while in a game with NTR running.
    2. - Choose the game's process from the process list (it normally has a pretty obvious name, but sometimes they use different names from the game; it is still kind of obvious which one it is)
    3. - Go to the GateShark tab and follow the directions on the right side, and it should apply whatever code you entered (certain codes do not work with the client like codes that need button combos to activate/those can be modified to work though I think, and codes that need to remain constant/e.g. infinite health)

    For the debugger:
    1. - Connect to the 3DS while in a game with NTR running (it can take a while to connect and get the processes, unlike the client)
    2. - Choose the game's process from the process list and click "Open" (again obvious names for the game processes/the same as what would appear in the client, I think)
    3. - Choose the memory range (or search through all of them/takes a long time if you do that as some memory ranges might be large)
    4. - Choose the value type. Exact (for when you know the value/e.g. EXP or HP numbers in a role-playing game), Range (for when the value is somewhat known/kind of like unknown, I guess), Unknown (for when you do not know the exact value/e.g. a health bar without numbers)
    5. - Choose the data type (1 Byte/2 Byte/4 Byte/8 Byte/Float/Double/Raw/Text)

    1 Byte stores 256 values (0-255)...but I cannot remember what the others stored.
    I also cannot find the list that I just looked at yesterday with the other values...
    In any case, you will be like to find the addresses for values that are limited to 255 by searching with 1 Byte set (gets bigger as you go through to 8 Bytes), the others have their value limits and functions as well (Float and Double are for values like 1.5, I think)

    6. - Enter the value/s (or no value if you go with Unknown)
    7. - Search and wait for results.
    8. - If there are too many results, you can narrow them down by using the other value types or the new ones (Decreased/Increased/Different/Same) after you change the value (or not in the case of Same)
    Eventually you should end up with around 1-3 codes depending on what you searched for.
    If not, you might be using the wrong data type or searching the wrong memory range.
    Sometimes though codes seem to be impossible to find (for me anyway) because of how the game works.
    9. - When you do find the right codes, you right-click on them in the list and add them to the list on the right.
    After that, you edit the value in the middle (keeping the address and data type written somewhere is also probably a good idea as you can make a plugin with GateShark2NTR or use it through the client later/make sure to add the second part of the code, the value)
    Values in the codes (not in the debugger) use hex, so you can use the Windows calculator (set to "programmer") to convert the value you want into hex.
    e.g. you want 99 of something, so you open the calculator, input "99" into "Dec", then press "Hex".
    In this example it would show "63".
    So then you take your address and add that onto it.
    e.g. XXXXXXXX 00000063 (the XXXXXXXX being the address that you found)

    This thread also has more information on codes if you want to learn more about GateShark codes (it gave me a headache to be honest...so I am only able to find simple codes, like known values):
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/guide-how-to-create-gateway-cheat-codes.410926/

    I am sorry for the walls of text.
    I did not think that this would need so much text to explain...
    Trying to read through it myself is actually becoming somewhat difficult for me to do.

    4. I can see how that would be difficult.
    As for Spider and the New 3DS:
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/spider-arcode.383937/page-170#post-7043827
    It sounds like it is actually not possible to get Spider/ARCodes working on a New 3DS because it has a different browser (I think)

    As for the New 3DS, I am not sure, but I do recall hearing about a new 3DS exploit somewhat recently.
    Is the Pikachu New 3DS going to have a firmware that can use it?
     
    Last edited by Kotomine Kirei, Jan 27, 2017
  10. noX1609

    noX1609 B9S freak ;)
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2016
    Messages:
    474
    Country:
    Germany
    With the new exploits the a9lh install works with the latest firmware (11.2)

    Just follow this guide step by step to get a9lh and luma: http://3ds.guide
     
  11. Hakamdeebad

    OP Hakamdeebad Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I researched that. Spider is not compatible with N3DS. Is there any way to be able to use ARCodes on N3DS then? Is there a ARCode to NTR converter or something?

    Oh yeah, every 3DS is hackable at this point, so I'm sure the Pikachu one will be as I assume it will have the latest system software version, which is hackable.
     
  12. Kotomine Kirei

    Kotomine Kirei GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    Messages:
    315
    Country:
    United States
    This way may or may not work:
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/release...time-save-feature.385142/page-26#post-5476380
    Steps from that link (using NTR client to input the codes):
    Now how to use ARCode:

    Example ARCode
    -=[Paper Mario Sticker Star]=-
    $9999
    02CBCE9C 0000270F

    NTR will be 14000000 + ARCode Offset = OFFSET:
    write(0x16CBCE9C, (0x0F, 0x27 ,0x00 ,0x00), pid=0x28)

    If the resulting value beyond valid memory range,
    you will have to calculate it like explained here: >CLICK<

    Depending on what you cheated, it might be necessary to
    buy/sell,enter/exit map/house or gain exp to take affect.

    Also, valarnin's debugger has some sort of ARCode feature, but I have never used it, so I am not sure how helpful it would be.
    https://www.reddit.com/r/3dshacks/comments/4d45i3/ntr_cheat_tool_updated_to_v0810/
    Steps to use it from that link (may need modifying as they were talking about a specific code for a game):
    1. Connect to your 3DS
    2. Select game process
    3. Right click in bottom-right grid, add new code
    4. Paste in first line's address
    5. Change type to 2 byte
    6. Right click address and select Convert Code
    7. Right click value and select refresh
     
    Last edited by Kotomine Kirei, Feb 2, 2017
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Cheating, methods,