Changing notification bars

Discussion in 'Android' started by ProtoKun7, Apr 11, 2011.

Apr 11, 2011

Changing notification bars by ProtoKun7 at 9:50 PM (1,166 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. ProtoKun7
    OP

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm considering asking this on XDA Developers too, but does anyone here have either any experience or knowledge on what to do to try and replace the stock 2.1 notification bar with the thin bar that was present on the Xperia X10 when it was still running 1.6? I quite like the thin one present on 1.6 (I quite like the way the app drawer opens on it too), but I'd rather have the functionality of 2.1 while if it's possible, keeping that notification bar.

    EDIT: I've got a screenshot which shows the notification bar here:
    [​IMG]
    The app also caught the tail of itself on the left, so you can ignore that little bit.
     
  2. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
  3. ProtoKun7
    OP

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, I was planning to go ask over there, actually; was worth a try here anyway.
     
  4. skystealer

    Member skystealer Muah~

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Agniratha, Mechonis
    Country:
    United States

    Changing the notification bar involves first having to have your device rooted, and then installing a custom recovery, like ClockworkMod, depends on your device.

    It's done by downloading the update.zip file that contains the theme, and performed in recovery, and then you will have the theme of your choice with all your apps, and same Android version. This IS HIGHLY dangerous so if you don't have a good experience about recovery, then don't do it.

    (My recommendation is to download ROM Manager from the Market to install ClockworkMod from that app. (IF IT'LL WORK) But I'm not responsible for damages, you should look it up if it works on the XPERIA before trying.)

    Chao~.
     
  5. mercluke

    Member mercluke ‮҉

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    nice tardis wallpaper ;p
     
  6. ProtoKun7
    OP

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom

Share This Page