Change IOS a Channel/WAD Uses

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by MWisBest, Nov 6, 2010.

Nov 6, 2010

Change IOS a Channel/WAD Uses by MWisBest at 4:41 AM (1,283 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. MWisBest
    OP

    Newcomer MWisBest Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    United States
    So basically those 'DevCerts' on the Wii Backup Disc (aka PInk Fish Disc) can be repacked to a normal WAD for retail Wiis if you decrypt them using the dev-key and then encrypt the decrypted stuff with the common-key, and I did just so and then replaced the WAD files on the Wii Backup Disc with the repacked ones. I ran the disc and it installed the DevCerts just fine! But here is the thing, ShowMiiWads reports that these WADs use IOS3, of which we only have a stub version. I wonder why Nintendo released an IOS3 stub? Well now we know! If these WADs could be changed to use IOS9 or something they would probably do something different.

    We can change what IOS a game uses, why not a WAD? [​IMG]
     
  2. scooby74029

    Member scooby74029 "fake coder"

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,174
    Location:
    oklahoma, USA
    Country:
    United States
    hey you can do this with wwpacker i can send it to you if you need it
     
  3. MWisBest
    OP

    Newcomer MWisBest Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    United States
    Looks like it is a Windows app. I need something that works in Linux.

    EDIT: http://wiibrew.org/wiki/TMD

    Looks like I can manually edit the TMD of it to change the IOS is uses. I'll try it.
     
  4. scooby74029

    Member scooby74029 "fake coder"

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,174
    Location:
    oklahoma, USA
    Country:
    United States
    ahhh sorry

    cant showmewads change the ios slot it installs a wad to

    yes it can i just changed some

    or is it only windows too
     
  5. scooby74029

    Member scooby74029 "fake coder"

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,174
    Location:
    oklahoma, USA
    Country:
    United States
    if you get it to work may i have copies of them

    hell if not let me have them ill change them to what ever ios you want them to be and send them back to you

    i would like them so ican mess around in sneek
     
  6. MWisBest
    OP

    Newcomer MWisBest Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    United States
    Well I'm going to try just installing IOS9 into the IOS3 slot using DOP-Mii, and if that doesn't work then I'll switch the TMD.
     
  7. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,174
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    I'd like to know if the DevCerts will allow us to real-sign games so hacked games can look like the real ones.
    (AKA no Trucha signing, but how Ninty does it.)
     
  8. MWisBest
    OP

    Newcomer MWisBest Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    United States
    I doubt it. DOP-Mii wouldn't let me install IOS9 to the IOS3 slot, but it supported IOS4 and up. -.- . I used ShowMiiWads Mono to patch IOS9 v520 to install to IOS3 slot and installed that wad with WAD Manager. I still have yet to notice any difference, but I haven't done much digging around.
     

Share This Page