WiiWare Games don't run on USB Loader GX and emuNAND (Black Screen)

GhostofSparta

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 20, 2023
Messages
5
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
49
Country
Germany
Hello,

I opened this Topic because I hacked my Wii last week via Letterbomb and currently have a (hopefully) small problem with WiiWare titles.


I have done / installed:
- Homebrew Channel installed
- Hackmii Installer
- Priiloader installed
- NAND backup created with BootMii
- Custom IOS's created (d2x-V10-beta52, base 57, slot 249, revision 65535 / d2x-V10-beta52, base 56, slot 250, revision 65535 / d2x-V10-beta52, base 38, slot 251, revision 65535)
- USB Loader GX installed
- YAWMM installed and show the USB Loader GX as channel


All data is on a 128GB SD card, formatted as FAT32. Everything works without problems, games (wbfs) can be started via the USB Loader, also WiiWare titles can be started from SD card without problems.


Then I created an emuNAND (via ModMii), this is on a 128GB USB stick, also formatted as FAT32. Since the real NAND of the Wii has only 512MB memory, I wanted to display and start the WiiWare as WADs via the USB Loader. The WADs are in a separate folder "/wad" on the stick (and also on the SD Card). I used the emuNAND WAD Manager of the USB Loader to display the single WiiWare titles as channels in the USB Loader. Up to this point everything worked without problems.


Now comes the problem: as soon as I want to start a WiiWare title via the USB Loader and click on it, I still get into the Start menu of the title and when I then press Start the screen goes black for a few seconds and then I get back into the USB Loader menu. The game does not seem to start. I Have about 40 WiiWare titles and it's the same problem with all of them! If I put the WADs on the SD card and start them from there, then everything works.
Does anyone have an idea what I have to set/change so that the titles start from the USB loader? Could not really find anything helpful on the net, there seems to be this problem and probably has something to do with the cIOS's, but I'm not really clever!

Just checked back my IOSs on USB Loader GX, I am currently using IOS249, but changing the IOS to 250 or 251 within the USB Loader GX Options won't make the WiiWare Games start. After pushing Start, there's just a black screen for a few seconds and after that it pulls me back into the USB Loader GX.

I then run a Syschek, which you could see here:

SysCheck ME v2.5.0 von blackb0x, JoostinOnline, Double_A, R2-D2199 und Nano
...laeuft auf dem IOS58 (rev 6176).
Region: PAL
Systemmenue 4.3E (v514)
Priiloader installiert
Laufwerksdatum: 26.05.2006
Homebrewkanal 1.1.2 benutzt IOS58
Konsolen-ID: 7020****
Konsolentyp: Wii
Shop-Kanal-Land: Germany (78)
Boot2 v4
Es wurden 71 Titel gefunden.
Es wurden 46 IOS gefunden, von denen 15 funktionslos (Stub) sind.
IOS4 (rev 65280): Funktionslos (Stub)
IOS9 (rev 1034): Keine Patches
IOS10 (rev 768): Funktionslos (Stub)
IOS11 (rev 256): Funktionslos (Stub)
IOS12 (rev 526): Keine Patches
IOS13 (rev 1032): Keine Patches
IOS14 (rev 1032): Keine Patches
IOS15 (rev 1032): Keine Patches
IOS16 (rev 512): Funktionslos (Stub)
IOS17 (rev 1032): Keine Patches
IOS20 (rev 256): Funktionslos (Stub)
IOS21 (rev 1039): Keine Patches
IOS22 (rev 1294): Keine Patches
IOS28 (rev 1807): Keine Patches
IOS30 (rev 2816): Funktionslos (Stub)
IOS31 (rev 3608): Keine Patches
IOS33 (rev 3608): Keine Patches
IOS34 (rev 3608): Keine Patches
IOS35 (rev 3608): Keine Patches
IOS36 (rev 3608): Keine Patches
IOS37 (rev 5663): Keine Patches
IOS38 (rev 4124): Keine Patches
IOS40 (rev 3072): Funktionslos (Stub)
IOS41 (rev 3607): Keine Patches
IOS43 (rev 3607): Keine Patches
IOS45 (rev 3607): Keine Patches
IOS46 (rev 3607): Keine Patches
IOS48 (rev 4124): Keine Patches
IOS50 (rev 5120): Funktionslos (Stub)
IOS51 (rev 4864): Funktionslos (Stub)
IOS52 (rev 5888): Funktionslos (Stub)
IOS53 (rev 5663): Keine Patches
IOS55 (rev 5663): Keine Patches
IOS56 (rev 5662): Keine Patches
IOS57 (rev 5919): Keine Patches
IOS58 (rev 6176): USB 2.0
IOS60 (rev 6400): Funktionslos (Stub)
IOS61 (rev 5662): Keine Patches
IOS70 (rev 6912): Funktionslos (Stub)
IOS80 (rev 6944): Keine Patches
IOS222 (rev 65280): Funktionslos (Stub)
IOS223 (rev 65280): Funktionslos (Stub)
IOS249[57] (rev 65535, Info: d2x-v10beta52): Trucha Bug, NAND Zugriff, USB 2.0
IOS250[56] (rev 65535, Info: d2x-v10beta52): Trucha Bug, NAND Zugriff, USB 2.0
IOS251[38] (rev 65535, Info: d2x-v10beta52): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Zugriff
IOS254 (rev 65280): Funktionslos (Stub)
BC v6
MIOS v10
Bericht wurde am 20.03.2023 generiert.

I am grateful for any help!

Thanks a lot in advance!
 

guitarburger

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 31, 2023
Messages
27
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
63
Country
Australia
Hello,
I opened this Topic because I hacked my Wii last week via Letterbomb and currently have a (hopefully) small problem with WiiWare titles.
I have done / installed:
- Homebrew Channel installed
- Hackmii Installer
- Priiloader installed
- NAND backup created with BootMii
- Custom IOS's created (d2x-V10-beta52, base 57, slot 249, revision 65535 / d2x-V10-beta52, base 56, slot 250, revision 65535 / d2x-V10-beta52, base 38, slot 251, revision 65535)
- USB Loader GX installed
- YAWMM installed and show the USB Loader GX as channel

All data is on a 128GB SD card, formatted as FAT32. Everything works without problems, games (wbfs) can be started via the USB Loader, also WiiWare titles can be started from SD card without problems.

Then I created an emuNAND (via ModMii), this is on a 128GB USB stick, also formatted as FAT32. Since the real NAND of the Wii has only 512MB memory, I wanted to display and start the WiiWare as WADs via the USB Loader. The WADs are in a separate folder "/wad" on the stick (and also on the SD Card). I used the emuNAND WAD Manager of the USB Loader to display the single WiiWare titles as channels in the USB Loader. Up to this point everything worked without problems.
Now comes the problem: as soon as I want to start a WiiWare title via the USB Loader and click on it, I still get into the Start menu of the title and when I then press Start the screen goes black for a few seconds and then I get back into the USB Loader menu. The game does not seem to start. I Have about 40 WiiWare titles and it's the same problem with all of them! If I put the WADs on the SD card and start them from there, then everything works.
Does anyone have an idea what I have to set/change so that the titles start from the USB loader? Could not really find anything helpful on the net, there seems to be this problem and probably has something to do with the cIOS's, but I'm not really clever!
Just checked back my IOSs on USB Loader GX, I am currently using IOS249, but changing the IOS to 250 or 251 within the USB Loader GX Options won't make the WiiWare Games start. After pushing Start, there's just a black screen for a few seconds and after that it pulls me back into the USB Loader GX.
I then run a Syschek, which you could see here:
SysCheck ME v2.5.0 von blackb0x, JoostinOnline, Double_A, R2-D2199 und Nano
...laeuft auf dem IOS58 (rev 6176).
Region: PAL
Systemmenue 4.3E (v514)
Priiloader installiert
Laufwerksdatum: 26.05.2006
Homebrewkanal 1.1.2 benutzt IOS58
Konsolen-ID: 7020****
Konsolentyp: Wii
Shop-Kanal-Land: Germany (78)
Boot2 v4
Es wurden 71 Titel gefunden.
Es wurden 46 IOS gefunden, von denen 15 funktionslos (Stub) sind.
IOS4 (rev 65280): Funktionslos (Stub)
IOS9 (rev 1034): Keine Patches
IOS10 (rev 768): Funktionslos (Stub)
IOS11 (rev 256): Funktionslos (Stub)
IOS12 (rev 526): Keine Patches
IOS13 (rev 1032): Keine Patches
IOS14 (rev 1032): Keine Patches
IOS15 (rev 1032): Keine Patches
IOS16 (rev 512): Funktionslos (Stub)
IOS17 (rev 1032): Keine Patches
IOS20 (rev 256): Funktionslos (Stub)
IOS21 (rev 1039): Keine Patches
IOS22 (rev 1294): Keine Patches
IOS28 (rev 1807): Keine Patches
IOS30 (rev 2816): Funktionslos (Stub)
IOS31 (rev 3608): Keine Patches
IOS33 (rev 3608): Keine Patches
IOS34 (rev 3608): Keine Patches
IOS35 (rev 3608): Keine Patches
IOS36 (rev 3608): Keine Patches
IOS37 (rev 5663): Keine Patches
IOS38 (rev 4124): Keine Patches
IOS40 (rev 3072): Funktionslos (Stub)
IOS41 (rev 3607): Keine Patches
IOS43 (rev 3607): Keine Patches
IOS45 (rev 3607): Keine Patches
IOS46 (rev 3607): Keine Patches
IOS48 (rev 4124): Keine Patches
IOS50 (rev 5120): Funktionslos (Stub)
IOS51 (rev 4864): Funktionslos (Stub)
IOS52 (rev 5888): Funktionslos (Stub)
IOS53 (rev 5663): Keine Patches
IOS55 (rev 5663): Keine Patches
IOS56 (rev 5662): Keine Patches
IOS57 (rev 5919): Keine Patches
IOS58 (rev 6176): USB 2.0
IOS60 (rev 6400): Funktionslos (Stub)
IOS61 (rev 5662): Keine Patches
IOS70 (rev 6912): Funktionslos (Stub)
IOS80 (rev 6944): Keine Patches
IOS222 (rev 65280): Funktionslos (Stub)
IOS223 (rev 65280): Funktionslos (Stub)
IOS249[57] (rev 65535, Info: d2x-v10beta52): Trucha Bug, NAND Zugriff, USB 2.0
IOS250[56] (rev 65535, Info: d2x-v10beta52): Trucha Bug, NAND Zugriff, USB 2.0
IOS251[38] (rev 65535, Info: d2x-v10beta52): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Zugriff
IOS254 (rev 65280): Funktionslos (Stub)
BC v6
MIOS v10
Bericht wurde am 20.03.2023 generiert.
I am grateful for any help!
Thanks a lot in advance!

Following this guide fixes your problem:

https://ccabz.wordpress.com/2013/01/16/neek2o-emunand-setup-for-noobs/
 
Last edited by guitarburger,

aidn0828

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 2, 2022
Messages
46
Trophies
0
Age
23
Location
Mclean, VA
XP
122
Country
United States
Yeah I have the same issue accept everything is on my sd card instead of a usb. However, when I install some wads through yawmm to me wii menu then it works so I think I have like wrong settings or smth but I use the correct cios and region settings. It’s really pissing me off. @Cyan it would be greatly appreciated if you could help me out here. I dumped my nand to emunand and I have them showing up with cover arts and when I load it up it says start and settings. When I press start it shows a black screen and disconnected my controller. This might be helpful as bomberman blast boots up just fine but that’s one out of like 500. I have tried scouring the internet and many YouTube videos and still no luck.
 
Last edited by aidn0828,

aidn0828

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 2, 2022
Messages
46
Trophies
0
Age
23
Location
Mclean, VA
XP
122
Country
United States
Yeah I followed all the steps for Emunand but the wads just don’t load up it’s so dumb
Post automatically merged:

Ok, so I have an update. The WADS load up and the controller stays connected. However, after a few seconds, it kicks me back to the USB loader gx page. Are there any settings that need to be changed in the in-game settings? What I mean by this is when you click the game, you get settings and start. When you click the settings on the left of the start button, Are there any specific options that need to be changed? I also found through my research that @Cyan is really knowledgeable in this field so if you could come down and take a look that would be great.
 
Last edited by aidn0828,

blackb0x

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2019
Messages
788
Trophies
1
XP
3,547
Country
United Kingdom
Ok, so I have an update. The WADS load up and the controller stays connected. However, after a few seconds, it kicks me back to the USB loader gx page. Are there any settings that need to be changed in the in-game settings? What I mean by this is when you click the game, you get settings and start. When you click the settings on the left of the start button, Are there any specific options that need to be changed? I also found through my research that @Cyan is really knowledgeable in this field so if you could come down and take a look that would be great.
I recently fixed a bug that's existed for over a decade that can cause channels to get stuck at a black screen.

Assuming you're using USB Loader GX r1281 you can try the following.
  1. Go to settings, select features and then reset all game settings and cached titles
  2. Try disabling the 480p fix
  3. Try setting the video mode to Force NTSC480p or Region Patch
  4. Reset the loader to it's default settings
 
Last edited by blackb0x,
  • Like
Reactions: Sypherone

aidn0828

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 2, 2022
Messages
46
Trophies
0
Age
23
Location
Mclean, VA
XP
122
Country
United States
ok ill try that later today thanks
Post automatically merged:

I recently fixed a bug that's existed for over a decade that can cause channels to get stuck at a black screen.

Assuming you're using USB Loader GX r1281 you can try the following.
  1. Go to settings, select features and then reset all game settings and cached titles
  2. Try disabling the 480p fix
  3. Try setting the video mode to Force NTSC480p or Region Patch
  4. Reset the loader to it's default settings
Wait I’m assuming you are talking about the settings at the menu not the individual game settings itself correct?
Post automatically merged:

I recently fixed a bug that's existed for over a decade that can cause channels to get stuck at a black screen.

Assuming you're using USB Loader GX r1281 you can try the following.
  1. Go to settings, select features and then reset all game settings and cached titles
  2. Try disabling the 480p fix
  3. Try setting the video mode to Force NTSC480p or Region Patch
  4. Reset the loader to it's default settings
Wait what’s the 480p fix on step 2?
 
Last edited by aidn0828,

blackb0x

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2019
Messages
788
Trophies
1
XP
3,547
Country
United Kingdom
Wait I’m assuming you are talking about the settings at the menu not the individual game settings itself correct?
Either way works, but to quickly test settings against a bunch of games it's quicker to adjust global settings.

Wait what’s the 480p fix on step 2?
It'll be called 480p Pixel Fix Patch.
 

aidn0828

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 2, 2022
Messages
46
Trophies
0
Age
23
Location
Mclean, VA
XP
122
Country
United States
I recently fixed a bug that's existed for over a decade that can cause channels to get stuck at a black screen.

Assuming you're using USB Loader GX r1281 you can try the following.
  1. Go to settings, select features and then reset all game settings and cached titles
  2. Try disabling the 480p fix
  3. Try setting the video mode to Force NTSC480p or Region Patch
  4. Reset the loader to it's default settings
Wait wdym by reset the loader to default settings? Is it like before I dot he steps? Because why would I want to reset the setttings I just made?
 

Sypherone

Gaming Ninja
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
1,669
Trophies
2
Age
45
XP
2,984
Country
Germany
Because if still dont work, there is maybe somewhere one or more wrong settings and will be reset. In worst case there is wrong value written in the config file. So you can set your own settings and can be sure they are correct.

Try resesting or deleting all settings and try again
Soft: USB Loader GX > Settings > Reset
Hard: Delete everything in the /apps/USBLoader_gx/ folder and reinstall only boot.dol, icon.png and meta.xml files.
 

blackb0x

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2019
Messages
788
Trophies
1
XP
3,547
Country
United Kingdom
Wait wdym by reset the loader to default settings? Is it like before I dot he steps? Because why would I want to reset the setttings I just made?
I'm saying you'd try each step separately to see if a specific change fixes the issue for you. Otherwise it'd be hard to know what fixed the problem.

I can tell you that the main cause of black screens is the video mode not matching the games region.
 

aidn0828

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 2, 2022
Messages
46
Trophies
0
Age
23
Location
Mclean, VA
XP
122
Country
United States
Ok sounds good
Post automatically merged:

I'm saying you'd try each step separately to see if a specific change fixes the issue for you. Otherwise it'd be hard to know what fixed the problem.

I can tell you that the main cause of black screens is the video mode not matching the games region.
But I have an American wii and all of my wads are ntsc
Post automatically merged:

I'm saying you'd try each step separately to see if a specific change fixes the issue for you. Otherwise it'd be hard to know what fixed the problem.

I can tell you that the main cause of black screens is the video mode not matching the games region.
Yeah I tried all the settings I could think of from your description and still no luck. Rip
Post automatically merged:

Nvm a lot more wads work but all the bit trip games don’t work. Is that normal without using neek?
Post automatically merged:

I also have wads on n64 and super Nintendo kirby that says connect the classic controller. When I connect it and press buttons nothing happens it just stays on that screen or sometimes goes black. Pretty stupid tbh.
Post automatically merged:

I’m dumb they work I just have to wait a while
Post automatically merged:

but are bit trip games not supposed to work without using neek? And like Tetris party because those are pretty important wii ware games. Ik that castlevaina and contra rebirth don’t work but should Tetris, mega man 9/10 and bit trip work?
 
Last edited by aidn0828,
  • Like
Reactions: Sypherone

aidn0828

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 2, 2022
Messages
46
Trophies
0
Age
23
Location
Mclean, VA
XP
122
Country
United States
Ok so I have good news all of the virtual console games work great accept for pal wads. Any fixes on that? And the wii ware games are a different story. Only a couple of them work like bomberman and dr Mario but that’s it. Everything else doesn’t even being ntsc. Any fixes for that too? So my main problems are region issues with wads like 25th anniversary super Mario for the nes and wii ware wads just not working.
Post automatically merged:

For the wii ware wads the controller shows the player one connected but it’s a black screen and no disk blinking blue
 

guitarburger

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 31, 2023
Messages
27
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
63
Country
Australia
Ok so I have good news all of the virtual console games work great accept for pal wads. Any fixes on that? And the wii ware games are a different story. Only a couple of them work like bomberman and dr Mario but that’s it. Everything else doesn’t even being ntsc. Any fixes for that too? So my main problems are region issues with wads like 25th anniversary super Mario for the nes and wii ware wads just not working.
Post automatically merged:

For the wii ware wads the controller shows the player one connected but it’s a black screen and no disk blinking blue
Following this guide fixes your problem:

https://ccabz.wordpress.com/2013/01/16/neek2o-emunand-setup-for-noobs/
 
  • Like
Reactions: Sypherone

aidn0828

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 2, 2022
Messages
46
Trophies
0
Age
23
Location
Mclean, VA
XP
122
Country
United States
Is it ok is I am using just an sd card? Because I don’t use a usb. So do I just copy over the sd card files to the sd card and leave the usb files alone?
Post automatically merged:

I don't really care if I use neek because all I want are some games to work like Mega man and bit trip. But neither of those work and they are supposed to work with just USB loader gx emunand. So I am wondering if I can resolve that issue.
 
Last edited by aidn0828,

guitarburger

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 31, 2023
Messages
27
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
63
Country
Australia
Is it ok is I am using just an sd card? Because I don’t use a usb. So do I just copy over the sd card files to the sd card and leave the usb files alone?
Post automatically merged:

I don't really care if I use neek because all I want are some games to work like Mega man and bit trip. But neither of those work and they are supposed to work with just USB loader gx emunand. So I am wondering if I can resolve that issue.
Anytime it says to put something on the USB, put it on your SD Card, and make sure no USB is inserted at all.

To resolve that issue, you can set up a neek2o emunand as that guide describes, and leave Neek2o "Off", it will still resolve your issue either way.

If that guide (followed correctly) does not resolve your issue, you either have a corrupted file or you have no other choice but to change your physical hardware (ie. a USB Stick or an External Harddrive).
 

aidn0828

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 2, 2022
Messages
46
Trophies
0
Age
23
Location
Mclean, VA
XP
122
Country
United States
Anytime it says to put something on the USB, put it on your SD Card, and make sure no USB is inserted at all.

To resolve that issue, you can set up a neek2o emunand as that guide describes, and leave Neek2o "Off", it will still resolve your issue either way.

If that guide (followed correctly) does not resolve your issue, you either have a corrupted file or you have no other choice but to change your physical hardware (ie. a USB Stick or an External Harddrive).
Wait but how do I enable neek in usb loader gx?
Post automatically merged:

Or do I not have to do anything?
 

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 27, 2002
Messages
23,746
Trophies
4
Age
46
Location
Engine room, learning
XP
15,665
Country
France
you can enable neek in global seeting (not recommended), or in individual game settings :
Game > option > game settings > emunand : change from "use global" to "neek".

But first, be sure you already launched neek successfully without autobooting a game, and set the region free in the hidden menu.


If your neek NAND path is different than your usual emuNAND WAD Channel, you can also choose a different folder here.
This is useful when you have too many WAD on your normal emuNAND folder, and only want to use neek for problematic games, it will speed up neek loading time.
Install the WAD on both normal and neek emuNAND folder, so it lists the game without switching the default settings, but choose an individual path to launch it when using neek.


Bit trip games don't require neek.

For most games (not bit trip, just any games, disc and wiiware), I used to keep video mode to "disc default" (or game default), to set the video mode to the game's region. You'll rarely need to force a video mode, though some games will need it.
If it doesn't help, try to install the correct region for that game, matching your console's region. don't install EUR on USA Wii.
If your console is USA, try dumping your own NAND (so it's an USA NAND for USA game), instead of using ModMii to create one. (I know you did, it's just common information for other people looking for help and reading this message)
 
Last edited by Cyan,

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: @Xdqwerty, if you cleaned the folders of those games probably give you like 4GBs of space up on...