Cboot2_v16

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by uspolo, Oct 22, 2009.

Oct 22, 2009

Cboot2_v16 by uspolo at 7:17 AM (2,185 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. uspolo
    OP

    Newcomer uspolo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    Hey,

    I was searching online and came across something I didn't understand. cBoot2 (v16) will that make my lu 71 Wii to have boot 2 as an option for bootmii. I wasn't sure and don't want to brick so I was thinking maybe some one can drop by some tips.

    Thanks,
     
  2. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    if u cant install bootmii as boot2, there is nothing u can do to change that
     
  3. uspolo
    OP

    Newcomer uspolo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    what advantage would a cboot2 (16) have on a lu 71 wii?

    Unfortunately bootmii will not let me install it as boot2. Still just curious on what cboot2 can do.
     
  4. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    none, cboot2 is a way to load particular apps with a trucha bug using RAM. Before TBR1.1 was released it was the only way to hack a 4.2 wii. If nintendo ever patches TBR in a new update, cboot2 should still work to hack the wii. But for now it's been replaced by TBR 1.1 or TBR 1.0 MOD
     
  5. uspolo
    OP

    Newcomer uspolo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    This is my way of learning about the wii also I appreciative your help. In another words cboot2 is kind of been replaced with tbr.
     
  6. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    no prob, and i think those were almost my exact words [​IMG]

    keep learning and spread the word

    ~xflak
     
  7. uspolo
    OP

    Newcomer uspolo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    I assume there is no wii region free hack for the 4.2U (preloder hack.ini) at the moment.
     
  8. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    Not ATM but it is still in development, so we have to wait.
     
  9. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    I think you can still run cboot2 of the IOS for bootmii but trust me, even though its a great brick tool, if you cant get it as a boot2 replacement, theres no point. Just use TBR.
     
  10. nIxx

    Member nIxx GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,459
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    Well every programm uses RAM. cBoot2 can just use a trucha signed IOS from the SD Card itself. So if you delete an important IOS or updated to fixed versions with cBoot2 you can still use a truch signed IOS from SD Card
     
  11. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Exactly but you still need to be able to load to it, so you need the startup.elf I think to do so to load cboot2. So its just not very useful without a boot2 replacement.
     

Share This Page